Nanopatterning#

Nanopatterning

Nanopatterning / E-Beam Lithography#

Example of different LS and CH nanostructures after lihtography and after etching steps.
Nanostructure as designed (left) and after e-beam nanopatterning and etching (right). Smallest pitch 80 nm, trench width 28 nm (in cooperation with Infineon Dresden, RWTH Aachen, and FZ Jülich).
Example of the Mix & Match Variations. As designed (left), SEM images after exposure of the second lithography layer (middle), and after etching step (right). The work is done in the frames of SAB Project FOKUS (Advanced Concepts for Patterning and Metallization in MOL and BEOL) in the joint project FD-REX (MOL and BEOL Process Development for Roadmap Extension of FD-SOI Technology- Fully Depleted SOI Roadmap Extension).

Creating nano-scale structures is necessary for a wide range of applications in the semiconductor business. Key challenges are creating precisely controlled patterns with small dimensions, flexible and adaptable layout generation and processes as well as uniform and reproducible wafer-scale integration.

Fraunhofer IPMS offers state-of-the-art nanopatterning capabilities using electron beam direct write lithography and reactive ion etching. Thus, customized structures with sizes below 40 nm can be created on a variety of wafer sizes and substrate types. Starting from the customer’s design the whole package involving layout generation and modification, data preparation, e-beam lithography, pattern transfer using etch processes together with the needed in-line metrology and analytics up to separation into single chips is offered.

 

Application examples

  • Fabrication of test structures for technology development
  • Structuring of Application Specific Integrated Circuits (ASICS)
  • Design tests of innovative devices and cell concepts and their variation on a wafer (Chip Shuttle)
  • Calibration pattern for metrology development
  • MEMS and NEMS patterning with productive quality
  • “Mix & Match” with optical exposure techniques

Nanopatterning

Nanopatterning

Nanopatterning / E-Beam Lithographie

Beispiel für verschiedene LS- und CH-Nanostrukturen nach Lihtographie und nach Ätzschritten.
Nanostruktur wie entworfen (links) und nach E-Beam-Nanostrukturierung und Ätzen (rechts). Kleinster Abstand 80 nm, Grabenbreite 28 nm (in Zusammenarbeit mit Infineon Dresden, RWTH Aachen und FZ Jülich).
Beispiel für die Mix & Match-Varianten. Wie entworfen (links), REM-Aufnahmen nach Belichtung der zweiten Lithografieschicht (Mitte) und nach dem Ätzschritt (rechts). Die Arbeiten werden im Rahmen des SAB-Projekts FOKUS (Fortgeschrittene Konzepte zur Strukturierung und Metallisierung im MOL und BEOL) im Verbundprojekt FD-REX (MOL und BEOL Prozessentwicklung zur Roadmap Erweiterung der FD-SOI Technologie- Fully Depleted SOI Roadmap Extension) durchgeführt.

Die Herstellung von Strukturen im Nanometerbereich ist für eine Vielzahl von Anwendungen in der Halbleiterindustrie notwendig. Zentrale Herausforderungen sind die Erzeugung von präzise kontrollierten Mustern mit kleinen Abmessungen, die flexible und anpassungsfähige Layouterstellung und Prozesse sowie die einheitliche und reproduzierbare Integration auf Waferebene.

Das Fraunhofer IPMS bietet modernste Möglichkeiten der Nanostrukturierung mittels Elektronenstrahl-Direktschreiblithographie und reaktivem Ionenätzen. So können kundenspezifische Strukturen mit Größen unter 40 nm auf einer Vielzahl von Wafergrößen und Substrattypen erzeugt werden. Ausgehend vom Kundendesign wird das gesamte Paket von der Layouterstellung und -modifikation, der Datenaufbereitung, der Elektronenstrahllithographie, dem Mustertransfer mittels Ätzprozessen zusammen mit der benötigten Inline-Messtechnik und Analytik bis hin zur Separation in einzelne Chips angeboten.

 

Anwendungsbeispiele

  • Nanostrukturierung auf verschiedenen Oxiden und Metallen
  • Multi-Level-Prozessierung
  • Mix und Match Nanopatterning
  • kundenspezifische Ätztiefen und Aspektverhältnisse auf Anfrage
  • Resist Evaluierung