RF Characterization

At Fraunhofer IPMS the RF/mm-wave characterization can be done either in coaxial/waveguide measurement environment or at the wafer level. In either case, special measurement equipment as well as application-oriented setups are required. In particular, an advanced semi-automatic probe station allows automated on-wafer S-parameter characterization of 2-port devices up to 170 GHz and 4-port devices up to 67 GHz. On the other hand, the vector load-pull measurement setup up to 65 GHz and scalar load-pull measurement setup up to 110 GHz are available for nonlinear characterization of active devices. Furthermore, extraction of the noise parameters up to 170 GHz is performed by using the source-pull technique.

Equipment#

  • Half-automated RF/mmWave probe station (300 mm, 12“)
  • Vector Netzwerk Analysator (9kHz … 110GHz) with extension up to 170 GHz
  • RF-Probes (GS/SG, GSG, GSGSG, 50 µm-100 µm pitch)
  • Calibration standards

Radio frequency trade show expertise for 5G base stations of the future#

RF characterization in the IPCEI project EMMA

RF characterization of a 300 mm wafer at Fraunhofer IPMS

The research project, called EMMA, includes seven work packages as well as a doctoral program to qualify young scientists in order to build long-term talent and promote the region's competitiveness. With a budget of more than 15 million euros, EMMA is the largest industrial project contract ever awarded to a Fraunhofer Institute by a company nationwide. Researchers at Fraunhofer IPMS are primarily working on new process developments for Globalfoundries' particularly power-saving FDX technology in the project. Other project parts focus on the development of non-volatile embedded memories as well as the characterization and modeling of high-frequency (RF) transistors.

In the RF project part, the Fraunhofer IPMS-CNT is responsible for evaluating new RF transistor concepts in FDX technology. This will identify particularly high performance RF chip designs that are critical for future 5G cellular deployment. Various test designs will be investigated for their functional performance and reliability over extended periods of time. In addition to extensive expertise and know-how, this requires highly sensitive measurement equipment. The most important measurement instrument here is an electrical prober, which can be used to contact and measure RF transistors directly on the wafer. In combination with Globalfoundries' FDX technology, the transistors achieve very good performance values with only extremely low parasitic influences. This allows higher output powers to be achieved in future 5G base stations without having to use more expensive compound semiconductor devices or integrate different devices on one chip. This enables more efficient, high-performance 5G chips that are easier to miniaturize compared to the alternatives.

Project EMMA#

In 2018, the EU Commission approved a cooperation project for the microelectronics and user industries that is unique in Europe to date, an "Important Project of Common European Interest", or IPCEI for short. The project is being funded by the four participating countries Germany, France, Great Britain and Italy with a total of 1.75 billion euros. In the IPCEI, around 30 European industrial partners are working together in five technology fields during the project period 2017 - 2022. The largest partner among the 18 German companies involved is Globalfoundries Dresden. Fraunhofer IPMS is proud to be involved in this IPCEI as by far the largest research partner on behalf of Globalfoundries.

RF-Charakterisierung

Am Fraunhofer IPMS kann die HF/mm-Wellen-Charakterisierung entweder in Koaxial-/Hohlleitermessumgebung oder auf Waferebene erfolgen. In beiden Fällen sind spezielle Messgeräte sowie anwendungsorientierte Aufbauten erforderlich. Insbesondere ermöglicht eine fortschrittliche halbautomatische Probe-Station die automatisierte On-Wafer-S-Parameter-Charakterisierung von 2-Tor-Bauteilen bis 170 GHz und 4-Tor-Bauteilen bis 67 GHz. Andererseits stehen für die nichtlineare Charakterisierung aktiver Bauelemente der vektorielle Load-Pull-Messaufbau bis 65 GHz und der skalare Load-Pull-Messaufbau bis 110 GHz zur Verfügung. Darüber hinaus wird die Extraktion der Rauschparameter bis 170 GHz mit Hilfe der Source-Pull-Technik durchgeführt.

Equipment#

  • Halbautomatische RF/mmWave-Taststation (300 mm, 12 Zoll)
  • Vector-Netzwerk-Analysator (9kHz ... 110GHz) mit Erweiterung bis 170 GHz
  • RF-Prober (GS/SG, GSG, GSGSG, 50 µm-100 µm Abstand)
  • Kalibrierstandards

Hochfrequenz-Messexpertise für 5G-Basisstationen der Zukunft#

RF-Charaktersierung im IPCEI-Projekt EMMA

RF-Charakterisierung eines 300 mm Wafers am Fraunhofer IPMS

Das Forschungsprojekt mit dem Namen EMMA beinhaltet sieben Arbeitspakete sowie ein Doktorandenprogramm zur Qualifizierung junger Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler, um langfristig Talente aufzubauen und die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der Region zu fördern. Mit mehr als 15 Mio. Euro Budget ist EMMA der größte Industrieprojektauftrag, den jemals ein Fraunhofer-Institut bundesweit von einem Unternehmen erhalten hat. Forschende des Fraunhofer IPMS arbeiten im Projekt in erster Linie an neuen Prozessentwicklungen für die besonders stromsparende FDX-Technologie von Globalfoundries. In weiteren Projektteilen steht die Entwicklung nichtflüchtiger eingebetteter Speicher im Vordergrund sowie die Charakterisierung und Modellierung von Hochfrequenz-Transistoren (RF).

Im RF-Projektteil ist das CNT für die Evaluierung neuer RF-Transistor-Konzepte in der FDX-Technologie verantwortlich. Dadurch sollen besonders leistungsstarke RF-Chip-Designs identifiziert werden, die für den zukünftigen 5G-Mobilfunk-Ausbau entscheidend sind. Es werden verschiedene Test-Designs auf ihre Funktionstüchtigkeit und Zuverlässigkeit über längere Zeiträume untersucht. Neben umfangreicher Expertise und Know-how sind dazu hochempfindliche Messgeräte erforderlich. Das wichtigste Messinstrument ist dabei ein elektrische Prober, mit dessen Hilfe RF-Transistoren direkt auf dem Wafer kontaktiert und gemessen werden können. In Kombination mit der FDX-Technologie von Globalfoundries erreichen die Transistoren sehr gute Leistungswerte bei nur extrem geringen parasitären Einflüssen. So können höhere Ausgangsleistungen in zukünftigen 5G-Basisstationen erreicht werden, ohne teurere Verbindungshalbleiter-Bauelemente einzusetzen oder unterschiedliche Bauelemente auf einem Chip integrieren zu müssen. Dadurch werden effizientere, leistungsstarke und im Vergleich zu den Alternativen besser miniaturisierbare 5G-Chips ermöglicht. 

Projekt EMMA#

2018 wurde ein bisher in Europa einzigartiges Kooperationsprojekt für die Mikroelektronik- und deren Anwenderindustrien durch die EU-Kommission genehmigt, ein sogenanntes „Important Project of Common European Interest“, kurz IPCEI. Das Projekt wird durch die beteiligten vier Länder Deutschland, Frankreich, Großbritannien und Italien mit insgesamt 1,75 Milliarden Euro gefördert. Im IPCEI arbeiten im Projektzeitraum 2017 – 2022 ca. 30 europäische Industriepartner in fünf Technologiefeldern zusammen. Größter Partner unter den 18 beteiligten deutschen Unternehmen ist Globalfoundries Dresden. Das Fraunhofer IPMS ist stolz darauf, als mit Abstand größter Forschungspartner im Auftrag von Globalfoundries an diesem IPCEI mitwirken zu können.