Silicon Capacitors

Ultra Thin High Density Silicon Capacitors#

© Fraunhofer IPMS
Sensor demonstrator with MCU and capacitor.
© Fraunhofer IPMS
Thin passives for embedding in a PCB.
© Fraunhofer IPMS
Representation of the package integration.

The growing demand for miniaturised system solutions requires more and more different functional blocks to be compacted into single chip packages or on small substrates. Intelligent solutions for the integration of passive components are required to avoid space-intensive external wiring and to achieve mitigation of parasitic effects.

In addition, more and more sensor circuits require local energy buffering to ensure a stable power supply for the system. Such local energy buffering is preferably implemented using capacitors with high capacitance values.

For this purpose, Fraunhofer IPMS is developing ultra-compact silicon capacitors with high capacitance density that can be inserted directly into the circuits (IC packaging). In addition to the available standard types, the design and electrical properties can be adapted as required. By using innovative high-k dielectrics and special structuring processes, a wide range of capacitance values can be covered.

This technology platform for silicon capacitors is suitable for system-in-package (SiP) integration as well as for embedding in high-quality PCBs and interposer integration. The capacitor production is based on standard semiconductor manufacturing processes. This offers the advantage of very precise, high-quality production with small dimensions.

Siliziumkondensatoren

Ultrakompakte Siliziumkondensatoren#

© Fraunhofer IPMS
Sensor-Demonstrator mit MCU und Kondensator.
© Fraunhofer IPMS
Thin passives für die Einbettung in ein PCB.
© Fraunhofer IPMS
Darstellung der Package-Integration.

Die wachsende Nachfrage nach miniaturisierten Systemlösungen erfordert immer mehr unterschiedliche Funktionsblöcke, die in Einzelchip-Gehäuse oder auf kleinen Substraten verdichtet werden müssen. Intelligente Lösungen für die Integration passiver Komponenten sind erforderlich, um eine platzintensive externe Verdrahtung zu vermeiden und eine Abschwächung parasitärer Effekte zu erzielen.

Darüber hinaus erfordern immer mehr Sensorschaltungen eine lokale Energiepufferung, um eine stabile Stromversorgung für das System zu gewährleisten. Eine solche lokale Energiepufferung wird vorzugsweise mittels Kondensatoren mit hohen Kapazitätswerten umgesetzt.

Das Fraunhofer IPMS entwickelt dafür ultrakompakte Siliziumkondensatoren mit hoher Kapazitätsdichte, die direkt in die Schaltkreise eingesetzt werden können (IC Packaging). Neben den verfügbaren Standardtypen können das Design und die elektrischen Eigenschaften je nach Bedarf angepasst werden. Durch den Einsatz innovativer High-k-Dielektrika und spezielle Strukturierungsverfahren kann ein großer Bereich an Kapazitätswerten abdeckt werden.

ð  Diese Technologieplattform für Siliziumkondensatoren ist geeignet für die System in Package (SiP)-Integration sowie für das Einbetten in hochwertigen Leiterplatten sowie die Interposer-Integration. Die Kondensatorherstellung basiert auf Standardverfahren zur Halbleiterfertigung. Dies bietet den Vorteil einer sehr präzisen, qualitativ hochwertigen Fertigung mit kleinen Abmessungen.