Capacitive Micromachined Ultrasonic Transducer (CMUT)

Capacitive Micromachined Ultrasonic Transducer (CMUT)

© Fraunhofer IPMS

Ultrasonic sensors are established for low-interference monitoring and analysis of static and dynamic processes in industrial testing and automation technology. Another field of application is medical diagnostics, where ultrasonic sensors are used.

Capacitive micromachined ultrasonic transducers (CMUT) are miniaturised sensor structures whose electrostatic operating principle enables the transmission and detection of ultrasonic waves. This new generation of ultrasonic transducers is manufactured using semiconductor technology processes and thus enables great flexibility in sensor design with high precision and reproducibility in the manufacturing process for single and multi-channel systems.

Features of the CMUTs at Fraunhofer IPMS:

  • wide range of elements with different frequencies (> 400 kHz)
  • high acoustic bandwidth (> 100% in immersion; > 20% in air)
  • high spatial resolution (submillimetre scale)
  • low acoustic losses
  • extreme miniaturisation (≤ 1 mm³). 

In addition, toxic substances (including lead) are not used in the  manufacturing process; the capacitive transducers of Fraunhofer IPMS are therefore RoHS-compliant.

The CMOS-compatible manufacturing process enables a new evolutionary stage in sensor miniaturisation due to the high integration potential with electrical control and evaluation electronics in CMOS technology. In addition, the natural acoustic matching to liquid and gaseous media ensures more efficient sound coupling. The extremely low mechanical coupling between individual sensor channels, in conjunction with the increased acoustic bandwidth, makes greater temporal and spatial resolution accessible. RoHS compliance ensures long-term usability.

Mikromechanische Ultraschallwandler (CMUT)

Kapazitive mikromechanische Ultraschallwandler (CMUT)

© Fraunhofer IPMS

Ultraschallsensoren sind für störungsarme Überwachung und Analyse statischer und dynamischer Prozesse in der industriellen Prüfung und der Automatisierungstechnik etabliert. Ein weiteres Einsatzgebiet ist die medizinische Diagnostik in den Ultraschallsensoren genutzt werden.

Kapazitive mikromechanische Ultraschallwandler (CMUT) sind miniaturisierte Sensorstrukturen, deren elektrostatisches Wirkprinzip das Senden und die Detektion von Ultraschallwellen ermöglicht. Diese neue Generation von Ultraschallwandlern wird mit Verfahren der Halbleitertechnologie gefertigt und ermöglicht dadurch eine große Flexibilität im Sensordesign bei einer hohen Präzision und Reproduzierbarkeit im Fertigungsprozess für ein- und mehrkanalige Systeme.

Eigenschaften der CMUTs am Fraunhofer IPMS:

  • eine breite Auswahl an Elementen mit unterschiedlichen Frequenzen (> 400 kHz)
  • eine hohe akustische Bandbreite (> 100% in Immersion; > 20% in Luft)
  • eine hohe räumliche Auflösung (Submillimeter-Skala)
  • geringe akustische Verluste
  • extreme Miniaturisierung (≤ 1 mm³). 

Darüber hinaus wird bei der Herstellung auf toxische Stoffe (u.a.  Blei) verzichtet, die kapazitiven Wandler des Fraunhofer IPMS sind daher RoHS konform

Das CMOS-kompatible Herstellungsverfahren ermöglicht aufgrund des hohen Integrationspotentials mit elektrischer Steuer- und Auswerteelektronik in CMOS-Technologie eine neue Evolutionsstufe in der Sensorminiaturisierung. Zudem sorgt die natürliche akustische Anpassung an flüssige und gasförmige Medien für eine effizientere Schalleinkopplung. Die extrem niedrige mechanische Kopplung zwischen individuellen Sensorkanälen gepaart mit der erhöhten akustischen Bandbreite, macht eine größere zeitliche und räumliche Auflösung zugänglich. Die RoHS-Konformität gewährleistet eine langfristige Einsatzfähigkeit.