Silhouette - Silicon Photonics for trusted electronic components

Silhouette - Silicon Photonics for trusted electronic components#

Project duration: 2021-2024

There is much research worldwide on how to enhance the security of IoT devices to protect sensitive data from misuse by third parties. Building on this, the Silhouette project is looking at trusted electronic devices and their manufacturing. The aim of the consortium is to make silicon-based photonic technologies for security solutions accessible to open processor systems as a standardized, modular platform solution. This is done by converting safety-critical electrical signals into optical signals, to further process or validate them and finally to convert them back. Photonic transmission channels alone offer the advantage of being virtually tamper- and tap-proof.

The project covers the entire value chain: from the design of the electrical and optical components, through manufacturing, assembly and interconnection technology, to testing and inspection. The intended electro-optical (E/O) platform solution will be a European one in order to ensure technological sovereignty and trustworthiness in the design and manufacturing process.

In the project, the developed technology packages and the expertise of all partners are presented via demonstrators in a relevant integration density on the basis of concrete use cases. Thus, the functionality of the electro-optical platform is demonstrated in a fully comprehensive and already reusable way.

Fraunhofer IPMS contributes its experience in the field of integration of especially energy-saving components for IoT applications. Furthermore, three different concepts of a quantum cryptographically secure key generator based on cryptographic multimode interferometers (k-MMI) will be evaluated with respect to their performance, security and risks. With the most suitable concept, a k-MMI component will be fabricated and its functional proof will be provided by cryptographic analysis methods. In addition, the development of open RISC-V peripheral components on the electronic side will be implemented at the institute. The focus is on digital as well as analog control and evaluation of the photonic extensions.

In collaboration with:#

Silhouette - Silicon Photonics für vertrauenswürdige Elektronik-Bauelemente

Silhouette - Silicon Photonics für vertrauenswürdige Elektronik-Bauelemente

Projektlaufzeit: 2021-2024

Weltweit wird am Ausbau der Sicherheit von IoT-Geräten gearbeitet, um sensible Daten vor einer missbräuchlichen Nutzung durch Dritte zu schützen. Darauf aufbauen befasst sich das Projekt Silhouette mit vertrauenswürdigen elektronischen Bauelementen und ihrer Herstellung. Ziel des Konsortiums ist es, siliziumbasierte photonische Technologien für Sicherheitslösungen für offene Prozessorsysteme als standardisierte, modulare Plattformlösung zugänglich zu machen. Wesentlicher Kernpunkt ist es, sicherheitskritische elektrische Signale konsequent in optische Signale zu wandeln, weiter zu verarbeiten bzw. zu validieren und schließlich zurück zu wandeln. Allein die photonischen Übertragungskanäle bieten hier den Vorteil, kaum manipulierbar als auch abhörsicher zu sein.

Das Projekt umfasst die komplette Wertschöpfungskette: Vom Design der elektrischen und optischen Komponenten über die Fertigung, Aufbau- und Verbindungstechnik bis hin zur Test- und Prüfmethodik. Dabei wird die angestrebte elektro-optischen (E/O) Plattformlösung im europäischen Wirtschaftsraum verortet, um eine Technologiesouveränität und Vertrauenswürdigkeit auch im Design- und Herstellungsprozess gewährleisten zu können.

Im Projekt werden anhand konkreter Use Cases die entwickelten Technologiepakete und die Expertise aller Partner über Demonstratoren in einer relevanten Integrationsdichte dargestellt. Damit wird die Funktionalität der elektro-optischen Plattform vollumfänglich und bereits nachnutzbar gezeigt.

Das Fraunhofer IPMS bringt seine Erfahrung im Bereich der Integration besonders Energiesparender Komponenten für IoT-Anwendungen ein. Weiterhin werden drei unterschiedliche Konzepte eines quantenkryptografisch sicheren Schlüsselgenerators auf Basis kryptografischer Multimodeinterferometer (k-MMI) hinsichtlich ihrer Performance, Sicherheit und Risiken bewerten. Mit dem bestgeeignetsten Konzept wird eine k-MMI-Komponente gefertigt und dessen Funktionsnachweis durch kryptografische Analysemethoden erbracht. Außerdem wird am Institut die Entwicklung der offenen RISC-V Peripheriekomponenten auf elektronischer Seite umgesetzt. Dabei stehen sowohl die Digitale-, als auch die Analoge Ansteuerung und Auswertung der photonischen Erweiterungen im Fokus.

In Zusammenarbeit mit: