Neuromorphic Computing

A strategic research area of Fraunhofer IPMS.

Neuromorphic Computing

Neuromorphic Computing

Increasing digitization is constantly driving the demands on electronic hardware. Speed, performance, miniaturization and energy efficiency are becoming increasingly important when it comes to enabling Big Data and Artificial Intelligence (AI) applications.

A promising solution approach is offered by so-called neuromorphic computing, which aims to emulate the self-organizing and self-learning nature of the brain. Fraunhofer IPMS develops materials, technologies and complete hardware solutions with high energy efficiency, especially for edge applications.

The technological developments are pursued in different stages of expansion. The so-called "deep neural networks" (DNN) have already arrived in the application with the help of classical technologies (e.g. SRAM or flash-based) and initially emulate the parallelism and efficiency of the brain. Further miniaturization and reduction of power consumption for edge applications is possible using new, innovative technologies. The subsequent generation of so-called "Spiking Neural Networks" (SNN) attempts to additionally physically replicate the temporal component of the functionality of neurons and synapses, which enables even higher energy efficiency and plasticity. Again, innovative technology concepts show promise over classical technologies.

For both generations of neuromorphic hardware, Fraunhofer IPMS is exploring crossbar architectures based on non-volatile memories, the ferroelectric field effect transistors. This is done within various European (TEMPO, ANDANTE, STORAIGE) and Fraunhofer internally funded projects. Particularly innovative materials research for future SNNs using Li-based systems is being conducted within the Saxon project MEMION.

Weitere Informationen:

Research project

TEMPO

Improved energy efficiency of neuromorphic hardware

Research project

ANDANTE

Innovative storage concepts for neuromorphic computing

Research project

MEMION

Memristive redox transistors for energy-efficient neuromorphic computing

Press release

Thinking Chips

New materials and hardware for next generation computing

Neuromorphic Computing

Ein strategisches Forschungsfeld des Fraunhofer IPMS.

Neuromorphic Computing

Neuromorphic Computing

Die zunehmende Digitalisierung treibt die Anforderungen an elektronische Hardware stetig an. Geschwindigkeit, Leistungsfähigkeit, Miniaturisierung und Energieeffizienz werden zunehmend wichtiger, wenn es darum geht, Anwendungen im Bereich Big Data und Künstlicher Intelligenz (KI) zu ermöglichen.

Einen vielversprechenden Lösungsansatz bietet das sogenannte Neuromorphic Computing, bei dem die selbstorganisierende und selbstlernende Natur des Gehirns nachgebildet werden soll. Das Fraunhofer IPMS entwickelt vor allem für Anwendungen im Edge-Bereich Materialien, Technologien und komplette Hardware-Lösungen mit hoher Energieeffizienz.

Die technologischen Entwicklungen werden in verschiedenen Ausbaustufen verfolgt. Die sogenannten „tiefen neuronalen Netze“ (deep neural networks, DNN) sind mit Hilfe klassischer Technologien (z.B. SRAM oder Flash-basiert) schon in der Anwendung angekommen und bilden zunächst die Parallelität und Effizienz des Gehirns nach. Eine weitere Miniaturisierung und Reduzierung des Energieverbrauchs für Edge-Anwendungen ist unter Verwendung neuer, innovativer Technologien möglich. Die darauffolgende Generation der sogenannten „Spiking Neural Networks“ (SNN) versucht, zusätzlich die zeitliche Komponente der Funktionalität von Neuronen und Synapsen physikalisch nachzubilden, was eine noch höhere Energieeffizienz und Plastizität ermöglicht. Auch hier sind innovative Technologiekonzepte gegenüber klassischen Technologien vielversprechend.

Für beide Generationen neuromorpher Hardware erforscht das Fraunhofer IPMS Crossbar-Architekturen, die auf nichtflüchtigen Speichern, den ferroelektrischen Feldeffekttransistoren beruhen. Dies geschieht innerhalb verschiedener europäischer (TEMPO, ANDANTE, STORAIGE) und Fraunhofer-intern geförderter Projekte. Besonders innovative Materialforschung für zukünftige SNNs mittels Li-basierter Systeme wird innerhalb des sächsischen Projektes MEMION betrieben.

Weitere Informationen:

Forschungsprojekt

TEMPO

Verbesserte Energieeffizienz neuromorpher Hardware

Forschungsprojekt

ANDANTE

Innovative Speicherkonzepte für Neuromorphic Computing

Forschungsprojekt

MEMION

Memristive Redox-Transistoren für energieeffizientes Neuromorphic Computing

Pressemitteilung

Denkende Chips

Neue Materialien und Hardware für Next Generation Computing