QSolid - Quantum computer in the solid state

QSolid - Quantum computer in the solid state

Duration: 2021 - 2026

© FZ Jülich
Cryogenic setup and control of a superconducting quantum computer at Forschungszentrum Jülich.

Building a complete quantum computer based on cutting-edge technology from Germany is the goal of the joint project QSolid. Together with 24 German research institutions and companies and under the coordination of the Research Center (FZ) Jülich, Fraunhofer IPMS is working on a quantum computer with improved error rates. The aim is to make Germany a world leader in quantum technology and to open up numerous new applications for science and industry. The first demonstrator will go into operation in mid-2024 and make it possible to test applications as well as benchmarks for industry standards.

 

The project focuses on quantum bits - qubits for short - of very high quality, i.e. with a low error rate. Envisioned is a system containing various quantum processors based on superconducting circuits with reduced error rates. The approach is considered a world leader and is also being pursued by Google, IBM and Intel, among others. The multiprocessor machine at FZ Jülich will run at least three different quantum chips in parallel: a "moonshot system" whose computing power exceeds that of classical supercomputers, an application-specific designed system that is already suitable for industrially useful quantum computations, and a benchmarking platform that is primarily focused on the development of digital twins and industrial standards.

 

Fraunhofer IPMS contributes its expertise in state-of-the-art, industry-compatible CMOS semiconductor fabrication in 300 mm wafer standard. This will enable scalable quantum processors that build on the achievements and advantages of silicon-based semiconductor manufacturing. This concerns, for example, manufacturing processes such as deposition and nanostructuring or electrical characterization at wafer scale. Together with GLOBALFOUNDRIES and Fraunhofer IZM-ASSID, an interposer technology is being developed that focuses on high-density superconducting interconnects and thermal decoupling through advanced packaging. In addition, cryogenic characterization of GLOBALFOUNDRIES' CMOS technology for scalable control will be performed.

Funded by the German Federal Ministry for Education and Research

QSolid - Quantum computer in the solid state

QSolid - Quantum computer in the solid state

Projektlaufzeit: 2021 - 2026

© FZ Jülich
Kryogener Aufbau und Ansteuerung eines supraleitenden Quantencomputers am Forschungszentrum Jülich.

Der Bau eines kompletten Quantenrechners basierend auf Spitzentechnologie aus Deutschland, das ist das Ziel des Verbundprojekts QSolid. Gemeinsam mit 24 deutschen Forschungseinrichtungen und Unternehmen und unter Koordination des Forschungszentrums (FZ) Jülich arbeitet das Fraunhofer IPMS an einem Quantencomputer mit verbesserten Fehlerraten. Ziel ist es, Deutschland auf dem Gebiet der Quantentechnologie an die Weltspitze zu bringen und zahlreiche neue Anwendungen für Wissenschaft und Industrie zu erschließen. Der erste Demonstrator wird Mitte 2024 in Betrieb gehen und es ermöglichen, Anwendungen sowie Benchmarks für Industriestandards zu testen.

Im Mittelpunkt des Projekts stehen Quantenbits – kurz Qubits – von sehr hoher Qualität, d.h. mit einer geringen Fehlerrate. Vorgesehen ist ein System, das verschiedene Quantenprozessoren enthält, die auf supraleitenden Schaltkreisen mit reduzierter Fehlerrate beruhen. Der Ansatz gilt als weltweit führend und wird u. a. auch von Google, IBM und Intel verfolgt. Die Multiprozessor-Maschine des FZ Jülich soll mindestens drei unterschiedliche Quantenchips parallel betreiben: ein „Moonshot-System“, dessen Rechenleistung die klassischer Superrechner übertrifft, ein anwendungsspezifisch designtes System, das bereits für industriell nützliche Quantenberechnungen geeignet ist, sowie eine Benchmarking-Plattform, die vorrangig auf die Entwicklung digitaler Zwillinge und industrieller Standards ausgerichtet ist.

Das Fraunhofer IPMS steuert seine Expertise in der hochmodernen, industriekompatiblen CMOS-Halbleiterfertigung im 300-mm-Waferstandard bei. Damit werden skalierbare Quantenprozessoren ermöglicht, die auf den Errungenschaften und Vorteilen der  siliziumbasierten Halbleiterfertigung aufbauen. Dies betrifft zum Beispiel Herstellungsprozesse wie Abscheidung und Nanostrukturierung oder die elektrische Charakterisierung im Wafermaßstab. Gemeinsam mit GLOBALFOUNDRIES und dem Fraunhofer IZM-ASSID wird eine Interposer-Technologie entwickelt, die sich auf hochdichte supraleitende Verbindungen und thermische Entkopplung durch fortschrittliches Packaging konzentriert. Zusätzlich soll die kryogene Charakterisierung der CMOS-Technologie von GLOBALFOUNDRIES für eine skalierbare Steuerung erfolgen.

Gefördert durch das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung BMBF.