SURPRISE – Spatial Light Modulators for Space Applications

Project logo

Earth observation data is becoming increasingly important for our understanding of the planet and for addressing socio-ecological challenges – for example, in environmental monitoring. Methods for data acquisition and processing from space are currently limited by long acquisition times (up to several days per measurement), low spatial resolution (about 1 km), and the usable spectral range (primarily in the visible). Novel camera systems based on spatial light modulators can provide a remedy here. These are being realized and tested for the first time within the EU project SURPRISE. Fraunhofer IPMS contributes with its long-standing expertise with spatial light modulators and plans to develop a spatial light modulator suitable for space applications.

The main goal of the project is to develop a demonstrator. Core parameters include spectrally broadband operating range – in the visible (VIS), near-infrared (NIR), and mid-infrared (MIR) – improved performance in terms of ground resolution, and innovative on-board data processing and encryption functionality. Innovative Compressive Sensing (CS) technology is used for this purpose. It allows a two-dimensional image to be captured using a single-pixel detector. This is particularly interesting for the mid-infrared because no suitable 2D detectors are available in this spectral range. Compressive Sensing also offers advantages in processing large amounts of data as well as native data encryption. 

The special CS imaging technology used in the project for Earth observation requires special components. Spatial light modulators are the most suitable solution for this task because variable image patterns can be generated at high speed. These patterns are overlaid with the observation scene and recorded by single pixel detectors. The spatial light modulators developed by Fraunhofer IPMS consist of thousands – or even millions – of individual movable mirrors, each only a few micrometers in size. Fraunhofer IPMS uses its extensive experience in the development and manufacture of spatial light modulators in order to find the best solution for the specific requirements in the project. The biggest challenges here are the space capability of all components and the coverage of a broad spectral range from visible to mid-infrared. 

Fraunhofer IPMS leads the activities in the project regarding the spatial light modulators. The main tasks are to contribute to demonstrator development and to prepare a feasibility study and development road map for a first space-qualified spatial light modulator (SLM) developed entirely in Europe.

Privacy warning

With the click on the play button an external video from www.youtube.com is loaded and started. Your data is possible transferred and stored to third party. Do not start the video if you disagree. Find more about the youtube privacy statement under the following link: https://policies.google.com/privacy

The SURPRISE research into action

Holography enabled by spatial light modulators

© Fraunhofer IPMS

The spatial light modulators developed at Fraunhofer IPMS consist of arrays of micromirrors on semiconductor chips, whereby the number of mirrors varies depending on the application, from a few hundred to several millions. In most cases this demands a highly integrated application specific electronic circuit (ASIC) as basis for the component architecture in order to enable an individual analog deflection of each micromirror. In addition, Fraunhofer IPMS develops electronics and software for mirror array control. The individual mirrors can be tilted or vertically deflected depending on the application, so that a surface pattern is created, for example to project defined structures. High resolution tilting mirror arrays with up to 2.2 million individual mirrors are used by our customers as highly dynamic programmable masks for optical micro-lithography in the ultraviolet spectral range. The mirror dimensions are 10 μm or larger. By tilting the micromirrors, structural information is transferred to a high resolution photo resist at high frame rates. Further fields of application are semiconductor inspection and measurement technology, and prospectively laser printing, marking and material processing.

Piston micromirror arrays can for example be used for wavefront control in adaptive optical systems. These systems can correct wavefront disturbances in broad spectrum ranges and thereby improve image quality. In comparison to alternative liquid crystal based technologies micromirrors enable significantly higher modulation frequencies. The component capabilities attract special interest in the fields of holography, astronomy and microscopy, as well as in spatial and temporal laser beam and pulse shaping.

Privacy warning

With the click on the play button an external video from www.youtube.com is loaded and started. Your data is possible transferred and stored to third party. Do not start the video if you disagree. Find more about the youtube privacy statement under the following link: https://policies.google.com/privacy

Structured illumination for microscopy developed by Fraunhofer IPMS.

Further Information:

Project website

SUPRISE

Super resolved instrument

Components & Systems

Spatial Light Modulators

SURPRISE – Flächenlichtmodulatoren für Weltraumanwendungen

Projektlogo

Erdbeobachtungsdaten werden immer wichtiger für unser Verständnis des Planeten und für die Bewältigung sozio-ökologischer Herausforderungen – beispielsweise im Bereich der Umweltüberwachung. Derzeit sind die Methoden für die Datenerfassung und -verarbeitung aus dem Weltall durch lange Aufnahmezeiten (bis zu mehrere Tage pro Messung), eine geringe räumliche Auflösung (ca. 1 km) sowie den nutzbaren Spektralbereich (vor allem im Sichtbaren) begrenzt. Neuartige Kamerasysteme auf Basis von Flächenlichtmodulatoren können hier Abhilfe schaffen, welche innerhalb des EU-Projekts SURPRISE erstmalig realisiert und getestet werden. Das Fraunhofer IPMS trägt mit seiner langjährigen Expertise auf dem Gebiet der Flächenlichtmodulatoren bei und plant die Entwicklung eines weltraumtauglichen Flächenlichtmodulators.

Das Hauptziel des Projekts ist die Entwicklung eines Demonstrators. Kernparameter sind der spektral breitbandige Arbeitsbereich – im sichtbaren (VIS), im nahen Infrarot (NIR) und im mittleren Infrarot (MIR) – verbesserte Leistung in Bezug auf die Auflösung am Boden sowie eine innovative Datenverarbeitungs- und Verschlüsselungsfunktionalität an Bord. Dafür wird die innovative Compressive Sensing (CS)-Technologie genutzt. Sie erlaubt es, ein flächiges Bild mithilfe eines Einpixeldetektors aufzunehmen. Das ist für das mittlere Infrarot besonders interessant, weil in diesem Spektralbereich keine passenden 2D-Detektoren zur Verfügung stehen. Gleichzeitig bietet CS Vorteile bei der Verarbeitung großer Datenmengen sowie eine native Datenverschlüsselung. 

Die im Projekt genutzte spezielle CS-Bildaufnahmetechnik für die Erdbeobachtung erfordert besondere Komponenten. Flächenlichtmodulatoren stellen die geeignetste Lösung für diese Aufgabe dar, da variable Bildmuster mit hoher Geschwindigkeit erzeugt werden können. Diese Muster werden mit der Beobachtungsszene überlagert und von Einzelpixeldetektoren aufgenommen. Die verwendeten Flächenlichtmodulatoren des Fraunhofer IPMS bestehen aus Tausenden oder sogar Millionen von einzelnen beweglichen Spiegeln mit einer Größe von jeweils nur wenigen Mikrometern. Das Fraunhofer IPMS nutzt seine umfangreiche Erfahrung in der Entwicklung und Herstellung von Lichtmodulatoren, um die beste Lösung für die speziellen Anforderungen im Projekt zu finden. Dabei sind die größten Herausforderungen die Weltraumtauglichkeit aller Komponenten sowie die Abdeckung eines breiten Spektralbereichs vom sichtbaren bis zum mittleren Infrarot. 

Das Fraunhofer IPMS leitet die Aktivitäten im Projekt bezüglich der Flächenlichtmodulatoren. Hauptaufgaben sind die Mitarbeit an der Demonstratorentwicklung sowie die Erstellung einer Machbarkeitsstudie und Entwicklungs-Roadmap für einen ersten weltraumtauglichen Flächenmodulator (SLM), der vollständig in Europa entwickelt wurde.

Datenschutz und Datenverarbeitung

Wir setzen zum Einbinden von Videos den Anbieter YouTube ein. Wie die meisten Websites verwendet YouTube Cookies, um Informationen über die Besucher ihrer Internetseite zu sammeln. Wenn Sie das Video starten, könnte dies Datenverarbeitungsvorgänge auslösen. Darauf haben wir keinen Einfluss. Weitere Informationen über Datenschutz bei YouTube finden Sie in deren Datenschutzerklärung unter: https://policies.google.com/privacy

The SURPRISE research into action

Holographie durch Flächenlichtmodulatoren

© Fraunhofer IPMS

Die am Fraunhofer IPMS entwickelten Flächenlichtmodulatoren bestehen aus Arrays von Mikrospiegeln auf Halbleiterchips, wobei die Anzahl der Spiegel je nach Anwendung von einigen hundert bis zu mehreren Millionen variiert. Dies erfordert in den meisten Fällen eine hochintegrierte anwendungsspezifische elektronische Schaltung (ASIC) als Basis für die Bauteilarchitektur, um eine individuelle analoge Auslenkung jedes Mikrospiegels zu ermöglichen. Darüber hinaus entwickelt das Fraunhofer IPMS die Elektronik und Software zur Steuerung des Spiegelarrays. Die einzelnen Spiegel können je nach Anwendung gekippt oder vertikal ausgelenkt werden, so dass ein Oberflächenmuster entsteht, um zum Beispiel definierte Strukturen abzubilden. Hochauflösende Kippspiegelarrays mit bis zu 2,2 Millionen Einzelspiegeln werden von unseren Kunden als hochdynamische programmierbare Masken für die optische Mikrolithographie im ultravioletten Spektralbereich eingesetzt. Die Spiegelabmessungen sind 10 μm oder größer. Durch Kippen der Mikrospiegel wird die Strukturinformation mit hoher Bildrate auf einen hochauflösenden Fotoresist übertragen. Weitere Einsatzgebiete sind die Halbleiterinspektion und Messtechnik sowie perspektivisch Laserdruck, Markierung und Materialbearbeitung.

Senkspiegel-Arrays können zum Beispiel zur Wellenfrontkontrolle in adaptiven optischen Systemen eingesetzt werden. Diese Systeme können Wellenfrontstörungen in weiten Spektralbereichen korrigieren und dadurch die Bildqualität verbessern. Im Vergleich zu alternativen flüssigkristallbasierten Technologien ermöglichen Mikrospiegel deutlich höhere Modulationsfrequenzen. Die Fähigkeiten der Bauteile finden besonderes Interesse in den Bereichen Holografie, Astronomie und Mikroskopie sowie in der räumlichen und zeitlichen Laserstrahl- und Pulsformung.

Datenschutz und Datenverarbeitung

Wir setzen zum Einbinden von Videos den Anbieter YouTube ein. Wie die meisten Websites verwendet YouTube Cookies, um Informationen über die Besucher ihrer Internetseite zu sammeln. Wenn Sie das Video starten, könnte dies Datenverarbeitungsvorgänge auslösen. Darauf haben wir keinen Einfluss. Weitere Informationen über Datenschutz bei YouTube finden Sie in deren Datenschutzerklärung unter: https://policies.google.com/privacy

Vom Fraunhofer IPMS entwickelte strukturierte Beleuchtung für die Mikroskopie.

Weitere Informationen:

Projektwebseite

SUPRISE

Super resolved instrument

Komponenten & Systeme

Flächenlichtmodulatoren