Green ICT / Green IT

Green ICT

Electronics for energy-saving information and communication technology.

© shutterstock (wk1003mike)

Despite all technical efforts, the total energy consumption of information and communications technology has risen continuously in the past. Against the socio-political backdrop of the worldwide reduction of CO2 emissions, this creates the challenge for the development of electronic systems to achieve resource minimization. This includes the consideration of the entire value chain of electronic products including the manufacturing processes and the supply chains. The Fraunhofer IPMS has set itself the goal of actively promoting this resource minimization together with the Forschungsfabrik Mikroelektronik Deutschland (FMD).

In addition to energy-saving sensor edge cloud systems and energy-saving communication infrastructures, the Fraunhofer IPMS focuses in particular on resource-optimized microelectronics production. In doing so, the institute can draw on extensive experience gained within the institute's two cleanrooms (200 mm MST line and 300 mm microelectronics line). Through its expertise, Fraunhofer IPMS thus offers a broad spectrum with comprehensive services for equipment, IC and material manufacturers to realize resource-optimized and environmentally friendly electronics production. In the field of processing, the institute supports its customers by providing resource-optimized consulting and development services, especially in the area of lithography and wet processes. This includes both the investigation of alternative materials (e.g. the investigation of cerium oxide free slurries for CMP processes) and their consumption reduction as well as the optimization of energy consumption to reduce the CO2 impact.

Further Information:

Research project

Green microelectronics production

 

Project GreenICT

The German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) focuses on sustainable, climate-friendly electronics. Fraunhofer IPMS is committed to Green ICT as part of the BMBF's Microelectronics Framework Program.

Green ICT

Ein strategisches Forschungsfeld des Fraunhofer IPMS.

Green ICT / Green IT

Green ICT

Elektronik für energiesparsame Informations- und Kommunikationstechnik

© shutterstock (wk1003mike)

Trotz aller technischen Anstrengungen ist der Gesamtenergieverbrauch der Informations- und Kommunikationstechnik in der Vergangenheit kontinuierlich gestiegen. Vor dem gesellschaftspolitischen Hintergrund der weltweiten Reduktion der CO2-Emissionen entsteht damit für die Entwicklung von elektronischen Systemen die Herausforderung, eine Ressourcenminimierung zu erreichen. Das schließt die Betrachtung der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette von Elektronikprodukten inklusive der Herstellungsprozesse und der Lieferketten ein.

Das Fraunhofer IPMS hat sich dabei das Ziel gesetzt, zusammen mit der Forschungsfabrik Mikroelektronik Deutschland (FMD) diese Ressourcenminimierung aktiv voranzutreiben.

Das Fraunhofer IPMS konzentriert sich neben energiesparender Sensor-Edge-Cloud-Systeme und energiesparender Kommunikationsinfrastrukturen insbesondere auf eine ressourcenoptimierte Mikroelektronik-Produktion. Dabei kann sich das Institut auf umfangreiche Erfahrungen stützen, die innerhalb der zwei Reinräume des Instituts (200 mm MST-Linie und 300 mm Mikroelektronik-Linie) gewonnen wurden. Durch seine Expertise bietet das Fraunhofer IPMS so ein breites Spektrum mit umfassenden Angeboten für Anlagen-, IC- und Materialhersteller, um eine ressourcenoptimierte und umweltfreundliche Elektronik-Produktion zu realisieren. Im Bereich der Prozessierung unterstützt das Institut seine Kunden durch ressourcenoptimierte Beratungs- und Entwicklungsleistungen insbesondere im Bereich der Lithographie und der Nassprozesse. Dies beinhaltet sowohl die Untersuchung von alternativen Materialien (z. B. der Untersuchung von ceroxidfreien Slurries für CMP-Prozesse) und deren Verbrauchsreduktion als auch die Optimierung des Energieverbrauchs zur Reduktion des CO2-Impacts.

 

Projekt GreenICT

Das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) setzt einen Schwerpunkt auf nachhaltige, klimafreundliche Elektronik. Das Fraunhofer IPMS engagiert sich für Green ICT im Rahmen des Rahmenprogramms Mikroelektronik des BMBF.