Branch »Integrated Silicon Systems« (ISS)

Fraunhofer IPMS »Integrated Silicon Systems« (ISS)

The Fraunhofer Institute for Photonic Microsystems IPMS has been successfully conducting research and development in Lusatia since 2012 in a variety of collaborations with regional partners. In accordance with the self-image of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, the institute with its Cottbus-based branch "Integrated Silicon Systems ISS" focuses on the transfer of developments and innovations of application-oriented research to industry as well as a strong networking of the stakeholders. In close cooperation with industry and science, in particular with the Brandenburg University of Technology Cottbus-Senftenberg (BTU C-S), the institute provides decisive impulses for Lusatia with the aim of contributing to sustainable, regional value creation and an efficient economic region.

Fraunhofer in Lusatia

The close relationship between Fraunhofer IPMS and the Brandenburg University of Technology Cottbus-Senftenberg (BTU C-S) has grown over the years. Institute director Harald Schenk holds the professorship "Micro and Nano Systems" at the BTU C-S and conducts research and teaching there in the field of silicon-based MEMS devices and systems based on them. In 2012, the Fraunhofer project group MESYS was founded in close cooperation. Building on its successes, among others, the institute branch of the Fraunhofer IPMS was founded in Cottbus in 2018. In the spin-off Arioso Systems GmbH with operating sites in Dresden and Cottbus, the technology developed by MESYS is used for the product development of miniaturized loudspeakers.

Another activity of the Fraunhofer IPMS in Lusatia is the "Innovation Campus Electronics and Microsensors Cottbus" (iCampµs), a research cooperation together with the four partners BTU Cottbus-Senftenberg, IHP - Leibniz Institute for Innovative Microelectronics, Ferdinand-Braun-Institut- Leibniz-Institut für Höchstfrequenztechnik (FBH) and Fraunhofer Institute for Reliability and Microintegration (IZM). The aim of iCampµs is to jointly develop existing, exploitable results further in the direction of potential products, in particular sensory systems for applications in the fields of Industry 4.0, Agriculture 4.0 and Smart Health. By accelerating the transfer of R&D results, the campus aims to contribute to increasing the innovation and competitiveness of regional companies, research institutions and the Lausitz region as a whole, and to creating jobs in the high-tech sector.

Other joint activities include Fraunhofer project groups for the pre-development of technologies, processes, components and systems for which there will be a need on the part of industry in the next 6-10 years and the Innovation Hub 13 with a focus on networking the players and creating structures that favor the transfer of knowledge and technologies.

Services

At the Integrated Silicon Systems ISS in Cottbus we offer state-of-the-art research in the field of mechanical and electrical characterization including dynamic testing of micro devices, electrostatic actuators, especially for microfluid applications, and terahertz micromodules.

The institute section has several laboratories at the Brandenburg University of Technology Cottbus-Senftenberg (BTU C-S), which are equipped with state-of-the-art measurement equipment for the characterization of devices and subsystems. For this purpose, parts of the laboratory infrastructure will be relocated to a clean room environment. The measurement equipment is used to characterize optical, electrical and microfluidic properties of devices. For this purpose, a digital holographic microscope, an infrared microscope, a terahertz system as well as a wide range of electrical measuring equipment and soon a scanning electron microscope will be available. With a "two-photon lithography system" with up to 300nm voxel size, adjustments can be made in the form of rapid prototyping on microsensors and microactuators.

We are able to perform the following measurements and services both at wafer level and on the individual component:

Digital Holographic Microscope (DHM)

The Digital Holographic Microscope (DHM) captures the entire topographic information of a microscopic sample within a single image acquisition with a height resolution down to 0.2 nm (approx. two atomic layers). This allows fast vibrations to be captured with nanometer accuracy and imaged in 3D. Typical materials are: Metals, silicon, glasses (e.g. optical lenses), silicon, deposited layers on substrates etc. Individual chips as well as entire wafers are measured.

Infrared microscope with lock-in thermography

The infrared microscope with lock-in thermography can register local hotspots down to 0.001°C, which is used for thermal analysis of the encapsulated MEMS chips. Typical samples are: Semiconductor devices, printed circuit boards (PCB), electronic circuits, MEMS elements, individual chips as well as whole wafers.

3D printing using two-photon lithography / two-photon polymerization (TPP)

© Fraunhofer IPMS-ISS
Information, Communication and Media Center (IKMZ) of the BTU Cottbus-Senftenberg printed by means of two-photon lithography at a scale of 1:6400 compared to the original (left).

Our "Photonic Professional GT2" two-photon lithography system from Nanoscribe GmbH allows three-dimensional additive manufacturing of micro- and nanostructures in a photosensitive polymer.  This process is based on the nonlinear optical effect of two-photon absorption, whereby laser pulses from the near-infrared spectral range are focused in such a way that two photons are simultaneously absorbed within a photoresist. The process is thus equivalent to the absorption of a UV photon, which is capable of initiating a polymerization process. This occurs in the transparent photoresist only at the highest radiation intensities and therefore exclusively in a volume (voxel) at the focus of the laser beam. Thus, the movement of the laser focus along a trajectory in all three dimensions enables the generation of almost arbitrary structures and this at resolutions in the submicrometer range.

To enable diverse development tasks, we have an infrastructure at the "Integrated Silicon Systems" (ISS) branch of the institute at the Cottbus site that covers the entire process chain from the design of the component concept, production in the clean room and final examination using optical and scanning electron microscopes. In addition, printed structures can be metallized in our laboratories by means of sputtering.

As a research and development service provider for electronic and photonic microsystems, Fraunhofer IPMS uses two-photon lithography in numerous projects for the production of prototypes. These include the fabrication of:

  • RF and THz MEMS
  • Masters for nano-bead lithography
  • Electromagnetic and acoustic metamaterials
  • Optical surfaces

as well as direct fabrication on our existing MEMS components.

 

Our services

  • Prototyping
  • Metallization
  • Optical characterization
  • SEM characterization

Sensors and actuators

For more information on the technologies at the ISS institute section, please click on the respective tiles.

Components & Systems

Ultrasonic Sensors

Components & Systems

Chemical Sensors

Components & Systems

Optical Sensors

Components & Systems

Electrical Sensors

Components & Systems

Nanoscopic Electrostatic Drives (NED)

Components & Systems

Micromachined Ultrasound Transducers (CMUT)

Innovation Campus Electronics and Microsensorics Cottbus (iCampus)

The Innovation Campus Electronics and Microsensors Cottbus is a research cooperation of the five partners BTU Cottbus-Senftenberg, IHP - Leibniz Institute for Innovative Microelectronics, Ferdinand-Braun-Institut- Leibniz-Institut für Höchstfrequenztechnik (FBH), Fraunhofer Institute for Reliability and Microintegration (IZM) and Fraunhofer Institute for Photonic Microsystems(IPMS) in Cottbus. The four institutes, which have been leaders in microsystems technology for years, will each work on sensory systems for applications in the fields of Industry 4.0, Agriculture 4.0 and Smart Health at their Cottbus branch.On the part of the BTU, ten professors from Faculties 1 and 3 are involved. 

The German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) is funding the second phase of the project "Innovation Campus Electronics and Microsensors (iCampµs Cottbus)" from 2022 to 2026 with 20 million euros. In the first phase from 2019 to 2021, the BMBF supported the five consortium partners with 7.5 million euros from the emergency program for implementing the recommendations of the "Growth, Structural Change and Employment" Commission. The second phase is now building on the research results achieved here, in which the results will be further developed for commercial exploitation.

The transfer of R&D results and, in particular, technology-oriented spin-offs are to be accelerated in this way. The campus is intended to contribute to increasing the innovation and competitiveness of regional companies, research institutions and the Lausitz region as a whole, and to creating jobs in the high-tech sector.

 

Project periods:

Phase 1: 2019 - 2022

Phase 2: 2022 - 2026

Website: https://www.icampus-cottbus.de/

Project goals

  • Transfer to business and society
  • Supporting connectivity, especially for SMEs, in the development of high technology and, in particular, digitization
  • Contribution to increasing the competitiveness of regional companies
  • Contribution to meeting the shortage of skilled workers
  • Creating jobs (directly and indirectly) in the high-tech sector
  • Initiation and realization of spin-offs
  •  Contribution to increasing the attractiveness of the Lusatia region for research cooperations
  •  Contribution to increasing the attractiveness of the BTU Cottbus-Senftenberg for students and teachers and the attractiveness of the non-university research institutions
  • Use the know-how of the partners to generate synergies in the region

Privacy warning

With the click on the play button an external video from www.youtube.com is loaded and started. Your data is possible transferred and stored to third party. Do not start the video if you disagree. Find more about the youtube privacy statement under the following link: https://policies.google.com/privacy

iCampus Cottbus - Innovation Campus Electronics and Microsensorics

Contact

 

Fraunhofer IPMS

Integrated Silicon Systems

Konrad-Zuse-Straße 1
03046 Cottbus

Fraunhofer IPMS

Networks & Collaborations

Institutsteil »Integrated Silicon Systems« (ISS)

Fraunhofer IPMS - Institutsteil »Integrated Silicon Systems« (ISS)

Das Fraunhofer-Institut für Photonische Mikrosysteme IPMS betreibt in der Lausitz seit 2012 erfolgreich in vielfältigen Kooperationen mit regionalen Partnern Forschung und Entwicklung. Dabei setzt das Institut mit dem in Cottbus ansässigen Institutsteil „Integrierte Siliziumsysteme ISS“ gemäß dem Selbstverständnis der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft auf den Transfer von Entwicklungen und Innovationen anwendungsorientierter Forschung in die Wirtschaft sowie eine starke Vernetzung der Akteure. Dabei liefert das Institut in enger Kooperation mit Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft, insbesondere mit der Brandenburgischen Technischen Universität Cottbus-Senftenberg (BTU C-S), entscheidende Impulse für die Lausitz mit dem Ziel, zur nachhaltigen, regionalen Wertschöpfung und einer leistungsfähigen Wirtschaftsregion beizutragen.

Fraunhofer in der Lausitz

Die enge Verbindung des Fraunhofer IPMS mit der Brandenburgischen Technischen Universität Cottbus-Senftenberg (BTU C-S) ist über Jahre gewachsen. Institutsleiter Harald Schenk hat die Professur „Mikro- und Nanosysteme“ an der BTU C-S inne und betreibt dort Forschung und Lehre auf dem Gebiet siliziumbasierter MEMS-Bauelemente und darauf aufbauender Systeme. In einem engen Schulterschluss entstand so 2012 die Fraunhofer-Projektgruppe MESYS. Unter anderem auf deren Erfolgen aufbauend wurde 2018 der Institutsteil des Fraunhofer IPMS in Cottbus gegründet. In der Ausgründung Arioso Systems GmbH mit Betriebsstätten in Dresden und Cottbus wird die von MESYS entwickelte Technologie für die Produktentwicklung miniaturisierter Lautsprecher genutzt.

Eine weitere Aktivität des Fraunhofer IPMS in der Lausitz ist der „Innovationscampus Elektronik und Mikrosensorik Cottbus“ (iCampµs), eine Forschungskooperation gemeinsam mit den vier Partnern BTU Cottbus-Senftenberg, IHP – Leibniz-Institut für innovative Mikroelektronik, Ferdinand-Braun-Institut- Leibniz-Institut für Höchstfrequenztechnik (FBH) und Fraunhofer-Institut für Zuverlässigkeit und Mikrointegration (IZM). Ziel von iCampµs ist es, vorhandene, verwertungsnahe Ergebnisse gemeinsam in Richtung potentieller Produkte weiterzuentwickeln, insbesondere sensorische Systeme für Anwendungen aus den Bereichen Industrie 4.0, Landwirtschaft 4.0 und Smart Health. Durch die Forcierung des Transfers von F&E-Ergebnissen will der Campus einen Beitrag leisten, die Innovations- und Wettbewerbsfähigkeit regionaler Unternehmen, der Forschungseinrichtungen und der Region Lausitz insgesamt zu steigern und Arbeitsplätze im Hochtechnologiesektor zu schaffen.

Zu den weiteren gemeinsamen Aktivitäten gehören u. a. Fraunhofer-Projektgruppen zur Vorentwicklungen für Technologien, Verfahren, Bauelemente und Systeme, für die in den nächsten 6-10 Jahren ein Bedarf seitens der Industrie entstehen wird und der Innovation Hub 13 mit einem Fokus auf der Vernetzung der Akteure und der Schaffung von Strukturen, die den Transfer von Wissen und Technologien begünstigen.

Am Institutsteil Integrated Silicon Systems ISS in Cottbus bieten wir neueste Forschung auf dem aktuellsten Stand der Technik im Bereich mechanische und elektrische Charakterisierung einschließlich dynamischer Tests von Mikrobauteilen, der elektrostatischen Aktoren, insbesondere für Mikrofluidanwendungen, und Terahertz-Mikromodule an.

Der Institutsteil verfügt über mehre Labore an der Brandenburgischen Technischen Universität Cottbus-Senftenberg (BTU C-S), die zur Charakterisierung von Bauelementen und Subsystemen mit modernstem Messequipment ausgerüstet sind. Dazu werden Teile der Laborinfrastruktur in Reinraumumgebung versetzt. Das Messequipment dient der Charakterisierung optischer, elektrischer und mikrofluidischer Eigenschaften von Bauelementen. Dazu stehen u.a. ein digital-holografisches Mikroskop, ein Infrarotmikroskop, ein Terahertzsystem sowie vielfältige elektrische Messtechnik und in Kürze ein Rasterelektronenmikroskop bereit. Mit einem „Zwei-Photonen-Lithographiesystem“ mit bis zu 300nm Voxelgröße können Anpassungen in Form eines Rapid Prototyping an Mikrosensoren und Mikroaktoren vorgenommen werden.

Wir sind in der Lage, folgende Messungen und Dienstleistungen sowohl auf Wafer-Level sowie am einzelnen Bauteil durchzuführen: 

Digitales Holografisches Mikroskop (DHM)

Das Digitale Holografische Mikroskop (DHM) erfasst die gesamte Topografieinformation einer mikroskopischen Probe innerhalb einer Einzelbildaufnahme mit einer Höhenauflösung bis zu 0.2 nm (ca. zwei Atomlagen). So können schnelle Schwingungen nanometergenau erfasst und in 3D abgebildet werden. Typische Materialien sind: Metalle, Silizium, Gläser (z.B. optische Linsen), Silizium, abgeschiedene Schichten auf Substraten etc. Vermessen werden einzelne Chips sowie ganze Wafer.

Infrarot-Mikroskop mit Lock-In Thermografie

Mit dem Infrarot-Mikroskop mit Lock-InThermografie können lokale Hotspots bis zu 0,001°C registriert werden, was für die Thermoanalyse der verkapselten MEMS-Chips genutzt wird. Typische Proben sind: Halbleiterbauelemente, Leiterplatten (PCB), elektronische Schaltungen, MEMS-Elemente, einzelne Chips sowie ganze Wafer.

Zwei-Photonen-Lithographie

Unser hochauflösender 3D-Drucker für schnelle Mikrofabrikation verwendet eine Zwei-Photonen-Polymerisation, um Strukturen nahezu jeder dreidimensionalen Form mit glatten Oberflächen zu erzeugen, die für optische Anwendungen geeignet sind.

Sensoren und Aktoren

Für weitere Informationen zu den Technologien am Institutsteil ISS klicken Sie bitte die jeweiligen Kacheln an.

Komponenten & Systeme

Ultraschallsensoren

Komponenten & Systeme

Chemische Sensoren

Komponenten & Systeme

Optische Sensoren

Komponenten & Systeme

Elektrische Sensoren

Komponenten & Systeme

NED-basierter mikromechanischer Ultraschallwandler (NEDMUT)

Komponenten & Systeme

Mikromechanische Ultraschallwandler (CMUT)

Innovationscampus Elektronik und Mikrosensorik Cottbus (iCampus)

Der Innovationscampus Elektronik und Mikrosensorik Cottbus ist eine Forschungskooperation der  fünf Partner BTU Cottbus-Senftenberg, IHP – Leibniz-Institut für innovative Mikroelektronik, Ferdinand-Braun-Institut- Leibniz-Institut für Höchstfrequenztechnik (FBH), Fraunhofer-Institut für Zuverlässigkeit und Mikrointegration (IZM) und Fraunhofer-Institut für Photonische Mikrosysteme(IPMS) in Cottbus. Die vier Institute, die seit Jahren führend in der Mikrosystemtechnik sind, werden jeweils an ihrer Außenstelle in Cottbus an sensorischen Systeme für Anwendungen aus den Bereichen Industrie 4.0, Landwirtschaft 4.0 und Smart Health arbeiten.Seitens der BTU sind zehn Professorinnen und Professoren aus dem Fakultäten 1 und 3 beteiligt. 

Das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) fördert die zweite Phase des Projekts „Innovationscampus Elektronik und Mikrosensorik (iCampµs Cottbus)“ von 2022 bis 2026 mit 20 Millionen Euro. In der ersten Phase von 2019 bis 2021 hat das BMBF die fünf Konsortialpartner mit 7,5 Millionen Euro aus dem Sofortprogramm zur Umsetzung der Empfehlungen der Kommission „Wachstum, Strukturwandel und Beschäftigung“ unterstützt. Auf den hier erreichten Forschungsergebnissen baut nun die zweite Phase auf, in der die Ergebnisse für die wirtschaftliche Verwertung weiterentwickelt werden.

Der Transfer von F&E-Ergebnissen und insbesondere technologieorientierte Ausgründungen soll so forciert werden. Der Campus soll einen Beitrag leisten, die Innovations- und Wettbewerbsfähigkeit regionaler Unternehmen, der Forschungseinrichtungen und der Region Lausitz insgesamt zu steigern und Arbeitsplätze im Hochtechnologiesektor zu schaffen.

 

Projektzeiträume:

  • Phase 1: 2019 - 2022
  • Phase 2: 2022 - 2026

Webseite: https://www.icampus-cottbus.de/

Projektziele

  • Transfer in Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft
  • Unterstützung der Anschlussfähigkeit vor allem für KMUs bei der Entwicklung von Hochtechnologie und insbesondere der Digitalisierung
  • Beitrag zur Erhöhung der Wettbewerbsfähigkeit regionaler Unternehmen
  • Beitrag zur Begegnung des Fachkräftemangels
  • Schaffung von Arbeitsplätzen (direkt und indirekt) im Hochtechnologiesektor
  • Initiierung und Realisierung von Ausgründungen
  •  Beitrag zur Steigerung der Attraktivität der Region Lausitz für Forschungskooperationen
  •  Beitrag zur Steigerung der Attraktivität der BTU Cottbus-Senftenberg für Studierende und Lehrende und der Attraktivität der außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen
  • Know-how der Partner nutzen, um Synergien in der Region zu generieren

Datenschutz und Datenverarbeitung

Wir setzen zum Einbinden von Videos den Anbieter YouTube ein. Wie die meisten Websites verwendet YouTube Cookies, um Informationen über die Besucher ihrer Internetseite zu sammeln. Wenn Sie das Video starten, könnte dies Datenverarbeitungsvorgänge auslösen. Darauf haben wir keinen Einfluss. Weitere Informationen über Datenschutz bei YouTube finden Sie in deren Datenschutzerklärung unter: https://policies.google.com/privacy

iCampus Cottbus - Innovationscampus Elektronik und Mikrosensorik

Kontakt

 

Fraunhofer IPMS

Integrated Silicon Systems

Konrad-Zuse-Straße 1
03046 Cottbus

Fraunhofer IPMS

Netzwerke & Kooperationen