MEMS actuation

Digital micro actuation

Actuator matrix

Electrostatic bending actuators (NED)

The novel MEMS-based bending actuators developed at Frauhofer IPMS features:

Name: »Nanoscopic Electrostatic Drive« | short: NED

  • V-NED: Enables vertical deflection (out-of-plane movement)
  • L-NED: Enables lateral deflection (in-plane movement)

V-NED Actuator

V-NED actuator
© Fraunhofer IPMS

L-NED Actuator

Functionality

Huge electrostatic forces at moderate control voltages are generated by up to 200 nm thin electrode separations. Due to a suitable electrode topography (V-NED) or geometry (L-NED) the electrostatic forces will be transformed into lateral forces that curve the cantilever:

  • NED being: MEMS-based bending actuators, that work like bimorph actuators (piezoelectric or thermomechanical effect). They are made with surface micromachining (V-NED) or bulk micromachining (L-NED) on or within silicon wafer substrates.
  • Novelty: On the basis of the novel actuation principle the NED deflection are larger than the electrode separation. Therefore large cantilever tip deflections are possible at low control voltages. Our vision is to enable the use of huge electrostatic forces at very small electrode separation for electrostatic actuation.
  • NED actuators feature: Quasi-static, resonant and digital deflections.

Actuators' degrees of freedom

  • Curvature: Due to the NED actuators cylindrical bending a free cantilever tip displacement can be a generated. If the NED actuator is designed as a rotationally symmetric plate – instead of a simple cantilever – a spherical deformation profile can be achieved.
  • Bidirectional: NED actuators can deflect to a positive or a negative direction depending on the electrode topography, respectively geometry. A combination of topographies, respectively geometries or attaching the actuator cells on both side of the bending actuator enables bidirectional deflections.
  • Tilt and linear movement: An elementary tilt movement can be achieved by use of two mechanically coupled NED actuators. If several NED actuators are mechanically linked to a rod micro component a linear movement is furthermore possible.

CMOS compatibility

Enables an electronic integration into the bending actuators and the integration of the NED actuators into CMOS integrated circuits as well.

Perspective: Strong integration of actuators, sensors and electronics within a semiconductor device.

RoHS compatibility

Enables bending actuators that are compliant with RoHS directive and demonstrates an alternative solution for functional ceramics.

MEMS Aktorik

Digitale Mikroaktorik

Mikrokippspiegel

Elektrostatische Biegeaktoren (NED)

Die am Fraunhofer IPMS entwickelten, neuartigen MEMS-basierten Biegeaktoren besitzen folgende Merkmale:

Name: »Nanoscopic Electrostatic Drive« | kurz: NED

  • V-NED: Ermöglicht vertikale Auslenkungen (aus der Chip-Ebene heraus)
  • L-NED: Ermöglicht laterale Auslenkungen (innerhalb der Chip-Ebene)

V-NED-Aktor

V-NED Aktor
© Fraunhofer IPMS

L-NED-Aktor

Funktionsweise

Durch bis zu 200 nm dünne Elektrodenspalte werden enorm hohe Kräfte elektrostatischer Felder mithilfe einer Steuerspannung erzeugt. Diese Kräfte werden durch geeignete Topographien (V-NED) oder Geometrien (L-NED) wiederum in laterale Kräfte transformiert und führen zu einer Verkrümmung von Biegebalken:

  • NED sind: MEMS-Biegeaktoren, die eine der bimorphen Aktorik (piezoelektrische oder thermomechanische Effekte) vergleichbare Funktionsweise besitzen. Sie werden in Oberflächenmikromechanik (V-NED) oder Volumenmikromechanik (L-NED) auf oder in Silizium-Substraten gefertigt.
  • Novum: Durch das Antriebsprinzip ist die Auslenkung der NED-Aktoren wesentlich größer als der Elektrodenspalt. Es können daher große Auslenkungen mit geringen Steuerspannungen erzeugt werden. Unsere Vision ist: enorm kleine Elektrodenabstände und die damit verbundenen enorm hohen Kräfte elektrostatischer Felder für elektrostatische Aktoren zugänglich zu machen.
  • NED-Aktoren können: quasistatisch, resonant aber auch digital – d. h. mit diskreten Auslenkungszuständen – betrieben werden.

Freiheitsgrade der Bewegung

  • Krümmung: Durch die zylindrische Verkrümmung der NED-Aktoren kann eine Auslenkung des freien Balkenendes erzeugt werden. Anstatt einer einfachen Balkenform kann der NED-Aktor als rotationssymmetrische Platte gestaltet werden. Dadurch erhält man eine Aktorplatte, die sich sphärisch verkrümmt.
  • Bidirektional: Durch geeignete Elektrodentopographien bzw. -geometrien können die Aktoren in eine positive oder eine negative Richtung ausgelenkt werden. Eine Kombination von Topographien bzw. Geometrien oder eine Anordnung der Aktorzellen auf beiden Oberflächen des Biegeaktors ermöglicht Bewegungen in beide Richtungen (bidirektional).
  • Kippung und Linearbewegung: Durch zwei mechanisch gekoppelte NED-Aktoren kann eine einfache Kippbewegung erzeugt werden. Werden mehrere NED-Aktorpaare geeignet miteinander verbunden, so sind Linearbewegungen möglich.

CMOS-Kompatibilität

Ermöglicht eine Integration von Elektronik in Biegeaktoren und die Integration von Biegeaktoren in CMOS-Schaltkreisen.

Perspektive: Starke Integration von Aktoren, Sensoren und Elektronik innerhalb eines Halbleiterbauelements.

RoHS-Kompatibilität

Ermöglicht RoHS-konforme Biegeaktorik und zeigt eine Alternative zu den gegenwärtig aus RoHS ausgenommenen Funktionskeramiken.