MEMS loud speaker

Miniaturized loud speakers for use in hearing aids, hearables and in-ear headphones.

more info

MEMS pump

Miniaturized pumps, valves and dosage systems for liquids and gases used in microfluidics.

MEMS actuation

Out-of-plane electrostatic bending actuators (NED).

Digital micro actuation

Binary coded electrostatic bending actuators.

Monolithically Integrated Actuator and Sensor Systems

Micromechanical systems as nanoscopic electrostatic drives

© Fraunhofer IPMS
MEMS based inchworm drive
© Fraunhofer IPMS

Micromechanical systems are the key to the miniaturization of components and devices without which no fast-growing technical sector can manage. Whether it is acoustic transducers for the audio sector, transducers for the ultrasonic sector, drives for microscopically small pumps or valves, micro mirrors and optics for beam guidance, as well as beam shaping of light of various wavelengths or miniaturized varactors for signal amplification and adaptation of electrical antenna networks.

The micromechanical systems make it possible to produce components that have a much smaller footprint than is currently known. At the same time, the requirements for the lowest possible energy consumption of such components have increased. In the future, these components will be integrated into web-enabled and ultra-mobile devices characterized by a long battery life. In this context, wireless interfaces and processors play a decisive role in determining the energy requirements of such systems. Since the amount of space available for energy supply in such devices is very limited, all components have to make do with a very small energy budget.

This also means that actuating principles are required for micro- and nanomechanical systems that require minimal space and energy. The business unit "Monolithically Integrated Actuator and Sensor Systems" (MAS) develops electrostatic bending actuators for this purpose, which operate according to the bimorph principle. The Nanoscopic Electrosatic Drives, NED for short, are implemented in MEMS technologies and are suitable for a wide range of applications.

How nanoscopic electrostatic drives (NED) works

NED is a novel MEMS actuator principle. A beam-shaped actuator consists of at least two spaced electrodes, which are electrically separated from each other by gaps as thin as a few 10 nm. By applying a control voltage, an electrostatic field is generated between these electrodes, resulting in large attraction forces between the electrodes. These forces are transformed into lateral forces by appropriate geometries and topographies of the beam-shaped electrodes. From a technological point of view, there are two basic types of NED actuators. Vertical NED (V-NED) actuators operate out of the chip plane and lateral NED (L-NED) actuators move within the chip plane. A unique feature of these actuators is that their displacement is significantly greater than the electrode gap. This makes it possible to achieve large deflections with low control voltages and thus an extremely low energy requirement.

Advantages of nanoscopic electrostatic drives (NED)

  • Low energy consumption → Low capacitance, small reactive currents and low control voltages allow the use of energy-efficient driver circuits and thus lead to low power consumption of the overall system
  • CMOS compatibility → Integration of the actuators with CMOS circuits and
  • RoHS compatibility → the NED bending actuators are an alternative to ceramics such as PZT, which are currently excluded from the RoHS directive
  • High number of degrees of freedom →
  • [1] Instead of a beam shape, the NED actuator can be designed as a rotationally symmetrical plate. This results in an actuator plate that bends spherically.
  • [2] The actuators can be deflected in a positive or negative direction by means of suitable electrode topographies or geometries. A combination of topographies or geometries or an arrangement of the actuator cells on both surfaces of the bending actuator allows movements in both directions (bidirectional).
  • [3] A tilting motion can be generated by two mechanically coupled NED actuators. If several NED actuator pairs are suitably connected, linear movements are possible.
  • [4] The NED actuators can be cascaded to further increase the deflection (Rainbow configuration) or force (Parallel configuration).

Pumps and valves for microfluidics

MEMS ultrasound transducers

MEMS based headphones

Micropositioning platforms

MEMS-Lautsprecher

Miniaturisierte Lautsprecher für Hörgeräte, Hearables und Im-Ohr-Kopfhörer.

mehr Info

MEMS-Pumpe

Miniaturisierte Pumpen, Ventile und Mikrodosiersysteme für Flüssigkeiten und Gase zur Verwendung in Mikrofluidiksystemen.

MEMS Aktorik

Elektrostatisch vertikal auslenkbare Biegeaktoren (NED).

Digitale Mikroaktorik

Binär codierbare, elektrostatisch auslenkbare Biegeaktoren.

Monolithisch Integrierte Aktor- und Sensorsysteme

Nanoscopic Electrostatic Drives (NED) - Mikromechanische Systeme als neuartige elektrostatische Antriebe

© Fraunhofer IPMS
NED-basierter Inchworm Drive
NED basierter RF Switch

Mikromechanische Systeme sind der Schlüssel für die Miniaturisierung von Bauelementen und Geräten ohne die keine wachstumsstarke technische Branche mehr auskommt. Seien es Schallwandler für den Audiobereich, Wandler für den Ultraschallbereich, Antriebe für mikroskopisch kleine Pumpen oder Ventile, Mikrospiegel und Optiken zur Strahlführung, sowie Strahlformung von Licht verschiedenster Wellenlängen oder miniaturisierte Varaktoren zur Signalverstärkung und Anpassung von elektrischen Antennennetzwerken.

Die mikromechanischen Systeme ermöglichen Komponenten, die einen deutlich geringeren Bauraum, als bisher bekannt ist, aufweisen. Gleichzeitig sind die Anforderungen an eine möglichst geringe Energieaufnahme derartiger Komponenten gestiegen. Zukünftig sind diese Komponenten in internetfähigen und ultramobilen Geräten verbaut, die durch eine lange Akkulaufzeit gekennzeichnet sind. Funkschnittstellen und Prozessoren bestimmen dabei maßgeblich den Energiebedarf solcher Systeme. Da der Platz für die Energieversorgung in derartigen Geräten sehr begrenzt ist, müssen alle Komponenten mit einem sehr geringen Energiebudget auskommen.

Das bedeutet auch, dass aktorische Prinzipien für mikro- und nanomechanische Systeme notwendig werden, die sich durch geringen Platz- und Energiebedarf auszeichnen. Das Geschäftsfeld »Monolithisch Integrierte Aktor- und Sensorsysteme« (MAS) entwickelt hierfür elektrostatische Biegeaktoren, welche nach dem Bimorph-Prinzip arbeiten. Die Nanoscopic Electrostatic Drives, kurz NED, sind in MEMS Technologien realisiert und für verschiedenste Anwendungsfelder geeignet.

Funktionsweise von Nanoscopic Electrostatic Drives (NED)

NED ist ein neuartiges MEMS- Aktor-Prinzip. Ein balkenförmiger Aktor besteht aus mindestens zwei zueinander beabstandeten Elektroden, die durch bis zu wenige 10 nm dünne Spalte voneinander elektrisch getrennt sind. Durch Anlegen einer Steuerspannung wird ein elektrostatisches Feld zwischen diesen Elektroden erzeugt, woraus große Anziehungskräfte zwischen den Elektroden resultieren. Durch geeignete Geometrien und Topografien der balkenförmigen Elektroden werden diese Kräfte wiederum in laterale Kräfte transformiert. Aus technologischer Sicht gibt es zwei Grundarten von NED Aktoren. Vertikale NED (V-NED) Aktoren bewegen sich aus der Chipebene heraus und laterale NED (L-NED) Aktoren bewegen sich innerhalb der Chipebene. Ein Herausstellungsmerkmal ist, dass die Auslenkung eines Aktors deutlich größer ist als der Elektrodenspalt. Dadurch sind große Auslenkungen mit geringen Steuerspannungen realisierbar und somit ein äußerst geringer Energiebedarf möglich.

Vorteile von NED

  • Geringer Energiebedarf → geringe Kapazität, kleine Blindströme und niedrige Steuerspannungen ermöglichen den Einsatz von energieeffizienten Treiberschaltungen und führen somit zu einer geringen Leistungsaufnahme des Gesamtsystems
  • CMOS Kompatibilität → Integration der Aktoren mit CMOS-Schaltkreisen, RoHS Kompatibilität
  • Alternative zu Funktionskeramiken → NED Biegeaktoren ersetzen Funktionskeramiken wie beispielsweise PZT, die von der RoHS- Richtlinie derzeit ausgenommen sind
  • Hohe Anzahl an Freiheitsgraden → 
  • [1] Anstatt einer Balkenform kann der NED-Aktor als rotationssymmetrische Platte gestaltet werden. Dadurch erhält man eine Aktorplatte, die sich sphärisch verkrümmt.
  • [2] Durch geeignete Elektrodentopographien bzw. -geometrien können die Aktoren in eine positive oder eine negative Richtung ausgelenkt werden. Eine Kombination von Topographien bzw. Geometrien oder eine Anordnung der Aktorzellen auf beiden Oberflächen des Biegeaktors ermöglicht Bewegungen in beide Richtungen (bidirektional).
  • [3] Durch zwei mechanisch gekoppelte NED-Aktoren kann eine Kippbewegung erzeugt werden. Werden mehrere NED-Aktorpaare geeignet miteinander verbunden, so sind Linearbewegungen möglich.
  • [4] Die NED Aktoren können kaskadiert werden um beispielsweise die Auslenkung (Rainbow-Konfiguration) oder Kraft (Parallele Konfiguration) weiter zu steigern.