CMUT Evaluation Kit

Evaluation Kit for CMUT#

Customer Evaluation Kit for CMUT

The evaluation kit "CEK CMUT" offers interested developers of ultrasonic sensors and users the possibility to build up a fully functional test setup for the evaluation of miniaturized capacitive micromechanical ultrasonic transducers (CMUT). It consists of either one or two CMUT sensor modules, customized control electronics, and software as a web application that controls the CMUT via plug-and-play.

In the specific working range, the system is able to send or receive ultrasonic signals with high sensitivity and resolution. The system transmits the data to the web application via Ethernet or Wifi and visualizes it simultaneously.

Users can thus convince themselves of the technical advantages of CMUT technology with little effort or evaluate the sensor technology for various application scenarios - such as close-range monitoring, acoustic spectroscopy, flow measurement - in which there is a need for miniaturization with increased sensitivity at the same time.

CMUT Evaluation-Kit

Evaluation-Kit für CMUT#

© Fraunhofer IPMS
Customer Evaluation Kit für CMUT

Das Evaluation-Kit „CEK CMUT“ bietet interessierten Entwicklern von Ultraschall-Sensoren und -Anwendern die Möglichkeit ein voll funktionsfähiges Versuchssetup zur Evaluation von miniaturisierten kapazitiven mikromechanischen Ultraschallwandler (CMUT) aufzubauen. Es besteht aus wahlweise ein oder zwei CMUT-Sensormodulen, einer angepassten Steuerelektronik sowie einer Software als Web-Applikation, die über Plug-and-Play den CMUT kontrolliert.

Im spezifischen Arbeitsbereich ist das System in der Lage Ultraschallsignale mit hoher Sensitivität und Auflösung zu senden oder zu empfangen. Die Daten überträgt das System über Ethernet oder Wifi an die Web-Applikation und visualisiert sie gleichzeitig.

Anwender können sich dadurch mit geringem Aufwand von den technischen Vorteilen der CMUT-Technologie überzeugen bzw. die Sensorik für verschiedene Einsatzszenarien –  wie der Nahdistanzüberwachung, der akustischen Spektroskopie, der Durchflussmessung –  bewerten, in denen ein Bedarf zur Miniaturisierung bei gleichzeitig gesteigerter Sensitivität besteht.