Project Hub »Microelectronic and Optical Systems for Biomedicine«

Use and further development of key technologies such as life sciences, microelectronics as well as optics and photonics for biomedical applications.

Use and further development of key technologies such as life sciences, microelectronics as well as optics and photonics for biomedical applications.

The project hub “Microelectronic and  Optical Systems for Biomedicine” located in Erfurt will incorporate the interdisciplinary work of three Fraunhofer Institutes. These include the Fraunhofer Institute for Photonic Microsystems IPMS, a leading research service provider in the field of microelectronics and microsystem technology, the Institute for Applied Optics and Precision Engineering IOF, a recognized competence center for optics and photonics, and the Institute for Cell Therapy and Immunology IZI, a leader in the life sciences.

Work conducted in Erfurt will center around the implementation and development of key technologies in areas such as microelectronics, optics and photonics, and life sciences as well as the close collaboration with industry on new biomedical applications.

The project hub will initially focus on three specific technology platforms including microscopy modules for structured illumination in biophotonics, modules for acquiring  and processing images for biomedical applications based on the combination of MEMS and micro-optics, and biofunctional surfaces and biosensors for the optical and chemical analysis of liquids and gases particular to biomarker analysis.

Due to political projects such as the EU growth program, the high-tech strategy of the German federal government and the innovation project of the Free State of Thuringia as well as current trends in biomedicine, the expansion of our activities to other fields of application is tangible. Application-ready systems for medical technology, analytics, diagnostics, biotechnology, biophotonics, pharmaceuticals, as well as nutrition, health and aging must be developed and transferred to industry.

The ramp-up of the new project hub “Microelectronic and Optical Systems for Biomedicine” is scheduled to be completed by the end of 2022. Start-up financing of 20 million euro over a period of five years will be equally shared between the Fraunhofer and the Free State of Thuringia. In addition, Fraunhofer and Thuringia will invest around 15 million euros in constructing and equipping the new facility. The Project Hub will thereafter be included in the federal and state funding of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft.

Projektzentrum »Mikroelektronische und Optische Systeme für die Biomedizin«

Einsatz und Weiterentwicklung von Schlüsseltechnologien wie Biowissenschaften, Mikroelektronik sowie Optik und Photonik für biomedizinische Anwendungen.

Einsatz und Weiterentwicklung von Schlüsseltechnologien wie Biowissenschaften, Mikroelektronik sowie Optik und Photonik für biomedizinische Anwendungen.

Das Projektzentrum »Mikroelektronische/Optische Systeme für die Biomedizin« am Standort Erfurt umfasst die interdisziplinäre Arbeit der drei Fraunhofer-Institute für Photonische Mikrosysteme IPMS, als führender Forschungsdienstleister im Bereich Mikroelektronik und Mikrosystemtechnik, für Angewandte Optik und Feinmechanik IOF, als anerkanntes Kompetenzzentrum für die Optik und Photonik, sowie für Zelltherapie und Immunologie IZI, führend im Bereich der Biowissenschaften.

Ziel der Arbeit sind der Einsatz und die Weiterentwicklung von Schlüsseltechnologien in Bereichen wie Biowissenschaften, Mikroelektronik sowie Optik und Photonik sowie die enge Zusammenarbeit mit der Wirtschaft an neuen biomedizinischen Anwendungen.

Das Projektzentrum wird sich zunächst auf drei Technologieplattformen konzentrieren: Mikroskopie-Module zur Strukturierten Beleuchtung in der Biophotonik, innovative Module sowohl zur Bildaufnahme als auch zur Bildverarbeitung für biomedizinische Anwendungen basierend auf der Kombination von MEMS und Mikrooptiken sowie Biofunktionale Oberflächen und Biosensorik zur optischen und chemischen Analyse von Flüssigkeiten und Gasen speziell zur Biomarker-Analyse.

Perspektivisch ist die Ausweitung der Aktivitäten auf andere Anwendungsfelder denkbar. Unter Berücksichtigung von zum einen politischen Strategien wie der EU-Wachstumsstrategie, der Hightech-Strategie der Bundesregierung sowie der Thüringer Innovationsstrategie und zum anderen aktueller Trends der Biomedizin sollen anwendungsreife Systeme für Medizintechnik, Analytik, Diagnostik, Biotechnologie, Biophotonik, Pharma, Gesundheit und Altern sowie Ernährungswirtschaft entwickelt und in die Industrie transferiert werden.

Die ersten fünf Jahre bis Ende 2022 sind als Aufbauphase vorgesehen. Die Anschubfinanzierung von 20 Millionen Euro verteilt auf fünf Jahre übernehmen die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft und der Freistaat Thüringen gemeinsam zu gleichen Teilen. Ebenfalls zu gleichen Teilen übernehmen die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft und der Freistaat Thüringen die Investitionen von rund 15 Millionen Euro für Bau und Ausstattung des neuen Projektzentrums. Danach soll das Projektzentrum in die Bund-Länder-Finanzierung der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft aufgenommen werden.