Wireless data links for automated guided vehicles

Li-Fi Use Cases

Innovative solutions for optical data transfer to automated guided vehicles

Mobile robots handling logistics in a warehouse could, in the future, communicate with each other via Li-Fi hotspots
© Shutterstock

Mobile robots handling logistics in a warehouse could, in the future, communicate with each other via Li-Fi hotspots.

In order to ensure an permanently available and more flexible flows of goods, intralogistics industry increasingly employs automated solutions. Automated guided vehicles (AGV) are usually connected via WLAN or other radio-based communication technologies with the vehicle or route administration or any other control systems. However, many parallel participants in a radio-based network can cause interference and affect the reliability of data links.

With the use of Li-Fi as optical data transmission technology, stable interference-free data links can be set up, thus ensuring secure data transmission at all times. With Li-Fi, the parallel operation of many vehicles all using the same stable bandwidth can be realized.

Status/Maturity Level: in production

Li-Fi development services:

  • Optics and transceiver development
  • Module integration
  • System Setup
  • Characterization & Test
  • Manufacturing support
  • Customer support

Solutions for optical data communication to network telephones

© Shutterstock

Data link for IP telephones.

IP phones, telephones working over internet protocol, have almost completely replaced analog and ISDN devices. These devices are usually connected through CAT5 cables to a router or switch to data network and often receive operating power via Ethernet (Power over Ethernet). However, in some areas it is not possible to use cables or radio-based wireless technologies. Therefore, optical data links can replace cables and other data links. Using Li-Fi as an optical data transmission technology interference-free and secure data links can be established.

Li-Fi development services:

  • Technology consulting
  • Feasibility studies and proof of concepts
  • Concept design
  • Module and system development: 
  •     - Optics and transceiver development
  •     - Module integration
  •     - System Setup
  •     - Characterization & Test
  • Prototype and demonstrator construction
  • Characterization and test
  • Pilot & small scale production
  • Technology transfer

Li-Fi Vehicular Communication Systems

Optical data transmission Li-Fi as a redundant channel for vehicle-to-vehicle communication.

© Shutterstock

Vehicle-to-vehicle communication (V2V) is fundamental to innovations like autonomous driving and platooning concepts. So far, radio-based methods such as WLAN (IEEE 802.11p) are used. This technology is well-proven and allows high data rates. However, these standard also have its weaknesses such as a limited frequency range, easily manipulable signals and electromagnetic compatibility. Alternative communication channels to supplement the systems are therefore in demand. Instead of radio waves, Li-Fi uses light sources like LEDs and modulates them. The emitted signals are picked up by a photodiode.
The real-time capable technology Li-Fi, with latencies in microsecond range, could be a  redundant channel to WLAN. Also conceivable is a distribution of tasks. In addition to Wireless Fidelity (Wi-Fi) there would then be Light Fidelity (Li-Fi) as a communication channel for connected vehicles.

Our services

  • Li-Fi Workshop
  • Technology Consulting
  • Concept Development
  • Hardware and Module Design
  • Pilot Production

Industrial Wireless Li-Fi Access Points

The real-time capable optical transmission technology Li-Fi is suitable for use in industrial applications.

© Shutterstock

Modern flexible production lines with mobile robots and tools, each production cell and machine connected to the cloud and linked to each other. These are Industry 4.0 and M2M scenarios, which all require one thing: secure and wireless communication. Li-Fi HotSpots using the spectrum of light instead of radio to transmit data. Compared to radio frequency, this optical technology is fundamentally protected from electromagnetic interference, tap-proof, real-time capable in a microsecond range and provides data rates up to 1 Gbit / s. These factors predestine optical communication for industrial wireless communication. Li-Fi can be used in areas where even industry's Wi-Fi access points reach their limits. The local diversity also simplifies network planning, complex antenna planning and alignment is no longer necessary.

Our Services

  • Optics and transceiver development
  • Module integration
  • System Setup
  • Characterization & Test
  • Pilot fabrication
  • Customer support

Li-Fi Rotary Joint

Contactless data transmission with Li-Fi enables wear-free communication at rotary joints.

© Shutterstock

.

Data interfaces between rotating and static components are one of the biggest challenges in industrial data transmission. Usually slip rings are used for such use cases. Typical application of such rotary transmitters can be found in wind turbines, helicopters and industrial robots. Contact-based slip rings often reach their limits due to material restrictions while contactless solutions are either very cost-intensive or prone to interferences. Li-Fi GigaDock® transceivers can transfer data rates up to 12.5 Gbps contactless and in 360 degrees rotation and are therefore well suited to use it as a rotary joint. Since they transmit data optically, they are also almost interference-free, as well as wear-free.

Li-Fi development services

  • Optics and transceiver development
  • Module Integration
  • System Setup
  • Characterization & Test
  • Pilot production
  • Customer Support

Li-Fi contactless connectivity

Wear-free contactless data transmission through Gigabit Li-Fi optical transmission technology.

Currently, classic connection technologies such as connectors and trailing cables are mainly used to connect machines and robots to data communication. In addition to the lack of flexibility, the continuous mechanical contact causes wear on the components. Compared to hardwiring connectors, plug-in connctors allow links to be disconnected - a major benefit for repair, maintenance and modernization. However, the connectors are often limited in their plugging cycles, also frequent plugging can lead to altered transmission characteristics. The optical data transmission technology Li-Fi can serve as a contactless connector or as a cable replacement and thereby transmits high data rates in the gigabit range. The contactless connection technology is virtually wear-free and interference-free and is suitable for use in explosion-hazard zones.

Li-Fi R&D services

  • Technology Consulting
  • Concept Development
  • Hardware and Module Design
  • Pilot Production

Li-Fi Anwendungen

Li-Fi Anwendungen

Optische Datenübertragung an fahrerlosen Transportsystemen

Mobile Roboter, die in einem Warenlager die Logistik übernehmen, könnten zukünftig über Li-Fi-Hotspots miteinander kommunizieren
© Shutterstock

Mobile Roboter, die in einem Warenlager die Logistik übernehmen, könnten zukünftig über Li-Fi-Hotspots miteinander kommunizieren.

Um permanent verfügbare und flexiblere Warenflüsse zu gewährleisten werden in der Intralogistik zunehmend automatisierte Lösungen eingesetzt. Fahrerlose Transportsysteme (FTS)  werden im Wesentlichen über WLAN oder andere funkbasierte Übertragungstechnologien mit der übergeordneten Fahrzeug- bzw. Streckenverwaltung oder anderen Leitsystemen verbunden. Viele parallele Teilnehmer in einem funkbasierten Netzwerk  können allerdings zu Interferenzen führen und die Zuverlässigkeit der Datenverbindungen beeinträchtigen.

Mit dem Einsatz von Li-Fi als optische Datenübertragungstechnologie lassen sich stabile interferenzfreie Datenlinks aufbauen und so immer eine sichere Datenübertragung gewährleisten. Mit Li-Fi kann der parallele Betrieb von vielen Fahrzeugen mit Datenlinks bei gleichbleibender Bandbreite realisiert werden.

Status/Maturity Level: in Produktion

Li-Fi Entwicklungdienstleistungen:

  • Optik- und Transceiverentwicklung
  • Modulintegration
  • Systemsetup
  • Charakterisierung & Test
  • Fertigungsunterstützung
  • Kundensupport

Optische Datenkommunikation an Netzwerktelefonen

© Shutterstock

Li-Fi Datenlink für IP-Telefone.

IP-Telefone, also Telefone die über eine Internetverbindung funktionieren, haben mittlerweile analoge und ISDN-Geräte fast vollständig ersetzt. Die Geräte werden üblicherweise über Ethernet an einen Router oder Switch an das Datennetz angeschlossen und beziehen häufig auch die Betriebsenergie über das Ethernetkabel (Power over Ethernet, kurz POE). In manchen Bereichen ist es allerdings nicht möglich Kabel zu verlegen oder funkbasierte Technologien einzusetzen. Daher können optische Datenlinks einen sinnvollen Ersatz für die Ethernetschnittstelle darstellen. Setzt man Li-Fi als optische Datenübertragungstechnologie zwischen Router und Telefon ein, lassen sich interferenzfreie und sichere Datenlinks aufbauen.

Li-Fi Entwicklungdienstleistungen:

  • Technologieberatung
  • Machbarkeitsstudien
  • Modulentwicklung
    • Optikentwicklung
    • Modulintegration
    • System-Setup
    • Charakterisierung und Test
  • Prototypen- und Demonstratorbau
  • Pilotfabrikation
  • Technologietransfer

Li-Fi Car-to-Car Kommunikation

Optische Datenübertragung Li-Fi als redundanter Kanal für die Fahrzeugkommunikation.

© Shutterstock

Vernetzte Fahrzeuge sind für Innovationen wie autonomes Fahren und Platooning, also das automatisierte Fahren in Kolonnen mit geringen Abständen, grundlegend. Bisher werden funkbasierte Verfahren wie beispielsweise WLAN (IEEE 802.11p) eingesetzt. Diese Technologie ist bewährt und erlaubt hohe Datenraten. Solche Standards aber haben auch ihre Schwächen, wie einen eng begrenzten Frequenzbereich, manipulierbare Signale und die elektromagnetische Verträglichkeit. Alternative Übertragungswege zur Ergänzung der Systeme sind also gefragt. Li-Fi nutzt statt Funkwellen, Lichtquellen wie LEDs und moduliert diese. Die emittierten Signale werden dann von einer Fotodiode aufgenommen. Die echtzeitfähige Technologie Li-Fi, mit Latenzen im Mikrosekundenbereich, bietet sich als redundanter Kanal zu WLAN an. Ebenso denkbar ist eine Aufgabenverteilung. Zu Wireless Fidelity (Wi-Fi) käme dann Light Fidelity (Li-Fi), als zusätzlicher Kanal dazu.

Unsere Leistungen:

  • Li-Fi Workshops
  • Technologie Consulting
  • Konzeptentwicklung
  • Hardware- und Moduldesign
  • Pilotproduktion

Industrielle Li-Fi Access Points

Die echtzeitfähige optische Übertragungstechnologie Li-Fi eignet sich für den Einsatz im industriellen Umfeld.

© Shutterstock

Moderne flexible Fertigungslinien mit mobilen Robotern und Werkzeugen, jede Fertigungszelle und Maschine an die Cloud angebunden und miteinander vernetzt. Das sind Industrie 4.0 beziehungsweise M2M Szenarien, die vor allem eines erfordern: sichere und drahtlose Kommunikation. Li-Fi HotSpots nutzen das Spektrum des Lichts anstatt Funk, um Daten zu übermitteln. Im Vergleich zu Funk ist die optische Technologie grundlegend sicherer vor elektromagnetischen Störungen. Es ist abhörsicher und außerdem im Mikrosekundenbereich echtzeitfähig und das bei Datenraten bis 1 Gbit/s. Diese Faktoren prädestinieren die optische Kommunikation für den industriellen Einsatz. Li-Fi kann in Bereichen eingesetzt werden, in denen selbst Industrie WLAN Access Points an ihre Grenzen stoßen.  Die örtliche Diversität erleichtert außerdem die Netzwerkplanung, die aufwändige Antennenplanung  und -ausrichtung ist so nicht mehr notwendig.

Li-Fi Entwicklungsdienstleistungen:

  • Optik- und Transceiverentwicklung
  • Modulintegration
  • Systemsetup
  • Charakterisierung & Test
  • Pilotfertigung
  • Kundensupport

Li-Fi Drehübertrager

Kontaktloser Datenübertragung mit Li-Fi ermöglicht verschleißfreie Kommunikation von Rotor auf Stator in Echtzeit.

© Shutterstock

.

Datenschnittstellen zwischen rotierenden und statischen Bauteilen sind eine der größten Herausforderungen in der Datenübertragung. Häufig werden Schleifringe genutzt, um dieser Herausforderung zu begegnen. Typische Beispiele für den Einsatz von solchen Drehüberträgern sind in Windenergieanlagen, Hubschraubern und Industrierobotern zu finden. Kontaktbasierte Schleifringe kommen häufig materialbedingt an ihre Grenzen, während kontaktlose Lösungen entweder sehr kostenintensiv, störanfällig für Interferenzen oder gering in der Datenrate sind. Li-Fi GigaDock® Transceiver können Datenraten bis 12,5 Gbit/s kontaktlos und in 360 Grad Rotation übertragen und eignen sich daher gut für den Einsatz als Drehübertrager. Da sie die Daten optisch übertragen, sind sie zudem nahezu interferenz- und verschleißfrei. 

Li-Fi Entwicklungsdienstleistungen:

  • Optik- und Transceiverentwicklung
  • Modulintegration
  • Systemsetup
  • Charakterisierung & Test
  • Pilotfertigung
  • Kundensupport

Li-Fi kontaktlose Verbindung

Verschleißfreie kontaktlose Datenübertragung durch die optische Übertragungstechnologie Li-Fi im Gigabit-Bereich.

Aktuell werden vorwiegend klassische Verbindungstechniken wie Steckverbinder und Kabelschleppen eingesetzt, um Maschinen und Roboter an die Datenkommunikation anzubinden. Neben mangelnder Flexibilität dieser Lösungen führt der stetige mechanische Kontakt zu Verschleißerscheinungen an den Komponenten. Steckverbinder ermöglichen im Vergleich zur Festverdrahtung, dass Verbindungen auch wieder getrennt werden können – ein großer Vorteil für Reparatur, Wartung und Modernisierung. Allerdings sind die Verbinder in ihren Steckzyklen oft begrenzt, zudem kann häufiges Stecken zu veränderten Übertragungseigenschaften führen. Li-Fi – also die optische Datenübertragung kann als kontaktloser Steckverbinder oder auch als Kabelersatz dienen und überträgt dabei hohe Datenraten im Gigabit-Bereich. Die kontaktlose Verbindungstechnologie ist nahezu verschleiß- und interferenzfrei und eignet sich für den Einsatz in Ex-Schutzbereichen.

Li-Fi Entwicklungsdienstleistungen:

  • Technologie Consulting
  • Konzeptentwicklung
  • Hardware- und Moduldesign
  • Pilotproduktion