Tunable Micro-lenses

Non-actuated state.
© Fraunhofer IPMS
Non-actuated state.
Actuated state.
© Fraunhofer IPMS
Actuated state.

Optical imaging systems and cameras with autofocus and zooming functions typically require the physical shifting of lens elements to change the overall magnification of the optical system. This is usually realized by means of a bulky mechanical positioning unit. The large physical dimension of such focusing or zooming systems makes it difficult to place such functions onto miniaturized optical systems and cameras.

The scientists at the Fraunhofer IPMS developed a variable focus micro-lens with a compact and scalable design that could be implemented in a variety of miniaturized optical imaging systems. In the liquid-filled micro-lens, the radius of curvature of a lens membrane – and consequently the focal length of the lens – is adjusted by exerting a hydraulic pressure on the membrane. This pressure originates from the mechanical displacement of a liquid inside a silicon micro-fluidic chamber by means of a voltage-driven electroactive polymer actuator of large deformation. The micro-lens is manufactured using wafer level technology, which provides highly precise processing of structures and accurate alignment of optical elements.

The fluidic variable focus micro-lens features a compact design, optical apertures of a few millimeters and voltage adjustable focus range of up to tens of diopters. It can be integrated in miniaturized autofocus or zoom objectives – for instance for a cell phone camera – or in optoelectronics, photonics or image processing components and systems.

On the left side images of two objects 5 cm apart are presented as seen through a lens system including the tunable micro-lens.

Einstellbare Mikrolinsen

Nicht angesteuerter Zustand.
© Fraunhofer IPMS
Nicht angesteuerter Zustand.
Angesteuerter Zustand.
© Fraunhofer IPMS
Angesteuerter Zustand.

Die optischen Abbildungssysteme und Kameras mit Autofokus und Zoomfunktionen erfordern typischerweise die physische Verschiebung von Linsenelementen, um die Gesamtvergrößerung des optischen Systems zu ändern. Dies wird üblicherweise durch eine große mechanische Positioniereinheit durchgeführt. Die großen physischen Abmessungen solcher Fokus- oder Zoomsysteme machen es schwierig, solche Funktionen in miniaturisierte optischen Systemen und Kameras zu platzieren.

Die Forscher am Fraunhofer IPMS haben eine Mikrolinse mit variabler Brennweite mit einem kompakten und anpassbaren Design entwickelt, welche in zahlreiche verkleinerte optische Abbildungssystemen eingebaut werden kann. In der flüssigkeitsgefüllten Mikrolinse wird der Krümmungsradius der Linse – und damit die Brennweite – angepasst, in dem ein hydraulischer Druck auf die Membran ausgeübt wird. Dieser Druck kommt von der mechanischen Verschiebung einer Flüssigkeit in einer mikrofluidischen Siliziumkammer durch einen spannungsgesteuerten, elektroaktiven Polymeraktor mit großer Verformung. Die Mikrolinse wird unter Verwendung von Wafer-Level-Technologie hergestellt, welche für eine hochpräzise Erzeugung von Strukturen und die korrekte Ausrichtung von optischen Elementen sorgt.

Die fluidische Mikrolinse mit variabler Brennweite verfügt über ein kompaktes Design, Aperturen von wenigen Millimetern und einen über die Spannung anpassbaren Fokusbereich von bis zu dutzenden Dioptrien. Sie kann in minimierten Autofokus- oder Zoom-Objektive – zum Beispiel bei Handykameras – oder in der Optoelektronik, Photonik oder bei bildverarbeitenden Komponenten und Systemen integriert werden.

Links: Bilder von zwei Objekten mit 5 cm Abstand, wie sie durch ein Linsensystem mit der einstellbaren Mikrolinse gesehen werden.