Pilot Fabrication

Following to development projects Fraunhofer IPMS offers its customers pilot production in the fields of MEMS and MOEMS. Following are some examples:

Barcode scanners

Barcode scanners
© Fraunhofer IPMS
Barcode scanners.

Micro scanning mirrors are distinguished from conventional mirror systems by their low electrical power consumption, compact mechanical design, and high reliability. The development of a stable manufacturing process for micro scanning mirrors enabled Fraunhofer IPMS to create the basis for fabrication of a new generation of bar code readers. Our services for our customers encompass design customization, cost-effective fabrication, fabrication-ready MEMS scanners, process transfer to a suitable Foundry, development of device drivers (hardware and software), assembly and packaging, and the design and execution of reliability investigations.

The proof of the pudding for complex manufacturing processes is device yield. For mechanically oscillating components such as these single-mirror devices, electro-optical methods have been developed which allow 100% inspection at the wafer level. Tests are carried out using an automated test system.

Resonant Microscanners

Micromirror arrays as a programmable lithographic mask

Tilt mirror array with 1 mln individual mirrors
© Fraunhofer IPMS
Tilt mirror array with 1 mln individual mirrors.

The development of micro-mirror arrays as a programmable lithographic mask for mask exposure systems has been carried out at Fraunhofer IPMS in collaboration with Micronic (Sweden). In addition to ongoing product development, the focus is on small-volume fabrication of several specification-compliant components. Among these qualified components is a 1 million mirror array, whose individual mirrors are 16 microns square, can be tilted in an analog fashion, and are refreshed at a rate of 2 kHz. This particular component is used in Micronic's SIGMA series of high-resolution mask writers.

In parallel with fabrication activities, Fraunhofer IPMS is developing mirror technologies for future applications having even more stringent requirements. Wafer bonding technologies have been tested successfully, which make it possible to use single-crystal silicon as the actuator material. The mechanical properties of this material exceed significantly those of the aluminum alloys in current use. First prototypes equipped with Si mirrors also show promising improvements in mirror planarity. One of the biggest challenges of this new technology is to make the required technological processes fabrication-worthy. The large chip size (15 mm x 38 mm), in combination with the complex wafer bonding process, places strict demands on fabrication quality in order to achieve substantial device yield.

Spatial Light Modulators

Automotive pressure sensors

Wafer with pressure sensors
© Fraunhofer IPMS
Wafer with pressure sensors.

Microsystems such as pressure sensors for monitoring the pressure of air and hydraulic systems, as well as accelerometers for airbag deployment, are now an integral part of every automobile. Not only do they reduce the weight, but they also improve vehicle functionality and safety.

In collaboration with the French automotive supplier SAGEM, Fraunhofer IPMS has developed a process for the fabrication of piezoresistive pressure sensors for hydraulic systems, which ensures device high reliability at low cost. The process has been transferred successfully to fabrication, and is used to fabricate quantities in the range of 300-500 thousand units per year. These devices are found in vehicles produced by leading French automobile manufacturers. Fraunhofer IPMS is the single-source manufacturer for these devices. Numerous quality audits have been performed by customers. In every instance, these Fraunhofer IPMS devices have surpassed the quality requirements.

Differential Pressure Sensor Technology

End-of-Line standard substrates for the characterization of organic semiconductor materials

OFET Chips (Inset: Single Transistor)
© Fraunhofer IPMS
OFET Chips (Inset: Single Transistor).

Organic electronics have been seen as key to the development of new applications, based upon organic semiconductors and other simple-to-process materials. Processing these materials typically requires low temperatures, as well as large-area deposition, and patterning using a variety of coating and printing processes. The semiconductor materials determine substantially the overall system performance. So, simple and reliable electronic characterization of these semiconductors is essential, not only for material development by organic chemists, but also for process development by process engineers, and circuit design by circuit designers.

For material analysis in the area of organic semiconductors, Fraunhofer IPMS has developed standardized single-transistor structures utilizing a bottom-gate architecture, fabricated on a silicon substrate. These substrates for organic field-effect transistors (OFETs) are encapsulated using silicon dioxide (SiO2). Electrical contacts are made using gold electrodes created using lift-off a technique.

End-of-Line standard substrates for the characterization of organic semiconductor materials

Pilotfertigung

Das Fraunhofer IPMS bietet seinen Kunden die Pilotfertigung von MEMS und MOEMS im Anschluss an Entwicklungsprojekte an. Nachfolgend finden Sie einige Anwendungsbeispiele:

Barcode-Scanner

Barcode-Scanner.
© Fraunhofer IPMS
Barcode-Scanner.

Mikroscannerspiegel zeichnen sich gegenüber herkömmlichen Systemen durch ihren geringen elektrischen Leistungsbedarf, ihre kompakte Bauweise und ihre hohe Funktionssicherheit aus. Mit der Entwicklung eines stabilen Fertigungsprozesses für Mikroscannerspiegel hat das Fraunhofer IPMS die Grundlage für die Herstellung einer neuen Generation von Strichcodelesegeräten geschaffen. Unsere Leistungen für unseren Kunden umfassen die Designanpassung, kostengünstige Herstellung erster serienreifer MEMS-Scanner, Vorbereitung des Prozess-Transfers zu einer geeigneten Foundry, Entwicklung des Ansteuerverfahrens und der Aufbau- und Verbindungstechnik sowie die Entwicklung und Durchführung von Zuverlässigkeitsuntersuchungen.

Die »Nagelprobe« für den komplexen Herstellungsprozess ist die Ausbeute der mechanisch schwingenden Komponenten (mechanical yield). Dazu wurden elektrisch-optische Testmethoden entwickelt, die eine 100% Prüfung der Scannerspiegel auf Waferniveau ermöglichen. Die Testmethode wurde in einem automatischen Testsystem realisiert.

Resonante Microscanner

Mikrospiegelarrays als programmierbare Maske

Spiegelarray mit 1 Mio. Einzelspiegeln
© Fraunhofer IPMS
Spiegelarray mit 1 Mio. Einzelspiegeln.

Die Entwicklung der Mikrospiegelarrays als programmierbare Maske für Maskenbelichtungsanlagen wird am Fraunhofer IPMS im Auftrag der Firma Micronic Mydata, Schweden durchgeführt. Neben der Weiterentwicklung der Produkte liegt der Fokus auf der Kleinserienlieferung von qualifizierten Bauelementen. Diese qualifizierten Bauelemente umfassen 1 Million Kippspiegel mit Einzelspiegelabmessungen von 16 µm × 16 µm, die Bildwiederholrate liegt bei 2 kHz. Die Bauelemente kommen in hochauflösenden Maskenschreibern der SIGMA-Serie der Firma Mycronic zum Einsatz.

Parallel zu den Lieferaktivitäten arbeitet das Fraunhofer IPMS an der Entwicklung von Spiegeltechnologien für zukünftige Anwendungen mit noch höheren Bauelementeanforderungen. Es wurden erfolgreich Waferbondtechnologien untersucht, die es ermöglichen, auch einkristallines Silizium als Aktormaterial zu verwenden. Die mechanischen Eigenschaften dieses Materials übertreffen die der derzeit verwendeten Aluminiumlegierungen signifikant. Erste mit Si-Spiegeln ausgestattete Demonstratorbauelemente zeigen darüber hinaus vielversprechende Spiegelplanaritäten. Eine der größten Herausforderungen dieser neuen Technologie wird liegt darin, die notwendigen technologischen Prozesse zur Produktionstauglichkeit zu bringen. Hierbei sind die beachtlichen Chipabmessungen von 15 mm × 38 mm in Kombination mit den komplexen Waferbondprozessen zu berücksichtigen.

Flächenlichtmodulatoren

Drucksensoren für Automobile

Wafer mit Drucksensoren
© Fraunhofer IPMS
Wafer mit Drucksensoren.

Mikrosysteme wie Drucksensoren für die Drucküberwachung von Luft- und Hydrauliksystemen und Beschleunigungssensoren für Airbags sind heute fester Bestandteil eines jeden Automobils. Denn sie verringern das Gewicht bei gleichzeitiger Erhöhung der Funktionalität und/oder Sicherheit.

Das Fraunhofer IPMS hat in Zusammenarbeit mit dem französischen Automobilzulieferer SAGEM einen Prozess zur Herstellung von piezoresistiven Drucksensoren für Hydrauliksysteme entwickelt, der hohe Ausfallsicherheit bei gleichzeitig geringen Kosten gewährleistet. Der Prozess konnte erfolgreich in die Fertigung überführt werden und wird bei Stückzahlen im Bereich von 300 - 500 Tausend Stück pro Jahr bei führenden französischen Automobilherstellern eingesetzt. Das Fraunhofer IPMS ist hierbei Single-Source Hersteller und wurde bereits mehrfach erfolgreich durch die Qualitätssicherung des Kunden auditiert.

Differenz-Drucksensor-Technologie

End-of-Line Standardsubstrate zur Charakterisierung von organischen Halbleitermaterialien

OFET Chips (Vergrößerung: Einzeltransistor)
© Fraunhofer IPMS
OFET Chips (Vergrößerung: Einzeltransistor).

Organische Elektronik gilt seit einigen Jahren als Schlüsselbegriff für einen neuen Typ von Anwendungen, die auf der Basis von organischen Halbleitern und weiteren einfach zu verarbeitenden Materialien realisiert werden. Typisch für diese neue Materialklasse sind Niedrigtemperaturprozesse und die großflächige Abscheidung und Strukturierung mittels verschiedenster Coating- und Druckverfahren. Die aktiven Halbleitermaterialien bestimmen dabei wesentlich die Performance des Gesamtsystems. Deshalb ist eine einfache und zuverlässige elektronische Charakterisierung dieser Halbleiter eine unabdingbare Voraussetzung nicht nur für die Materialentwicklung in den Laboratorien der organischen Chemiker, sondern auch für Prozessentwickler und Schaltungsdesigner.

Für die Materialanalyse im Bereich organischer Halbleiter stellt das Fraunhofer IPMS standardisierte Einzeltransistor-Strukturen in bottom-gate Architektur zur Verfügung. Diese Substrate für organische Feldeffekttransistoren (OFET) werden auf Silizium-Wafern mit thermischem Siliziumdioxid (SiO2) als ganzflächiges Dielektrikum und Goldelektroden in Lift-off-Technologie im Reinraum des Fraunhofer IPMS hergestellt.

End-of-Line-Standardsubstrate zur Charakterisierung von organischen Halbleitermaterialien