Microelectronic and Optical Systems for Biomedicine

Optical microsystems enable fast diagnosis of diseases

 

Fraunhofer IPMS

Webinar

"Smart Systems for Medical and Health"

Dr. Michael Scholles

May 28, 2020 (2 pm CET)

Optical microsystems enable fast diagnosis of diseases

If a patient goes to the doctor with non-specific symptoms, the doctor requires a very high degree of diagnostic skill. Technical solutions based on microsystems can support doctors in searching for the cause of the illness using visual imaging as well as optical and chemical sensor technology. Fraunhofer IPMS is working at the MEOS “Microelectronic and Optical Systems for Biomedicine” Project Hub in Erfurt in an interdisciplinary collaboration with Fraunhofer IOF and Fraunhofer IZI on innovative systems enabling early disease detection.

© Fraunhofer IPMS
MEMS microscanner mirror.

Key components of the systems produced at the Project Hub are often the biosensors developed at Fraunhofer IPMS, which enable diseases to be detected using fluid analysis. For example, traces of special gases in exhaled breath are an early indication of different diseases, including cancer. Spectroscopic breath analysis can detect these gases, enabling timely diagnosis and therefore prompt treatment. Corresponding systems for chemical sensor technology that can be used in our daily lives using a MEMS ion mobility spectrometer can be made available as part of the rapid testing procedure. Miniaturized optical sensor technology is ideal for point-of-care diagnosis. This means that instead of a more time-consuming laboratory test, an analysis can take place directly on the spot. For this purpose, the sensor technology uses optimized components, such as micro-ring resonators with functionalized surfaces. The optical properties of these components are changed by docking antibodies on the surfaces, so that these can be detected with a high degree of sensitivity and a high throughput.

Optical microsystems from Fraunhofer IPMS can also help to differentiate between different types of cells easily and quickly. In this way, cancer cells, for example, are identified in a targeted manner using fluorescent markers. An optical system can differentiate between tumor tissue and healthy areas in real time and support doctors with surgical interventions across the entire tumor resection. In collaboration with the Helios-Kliniken Erfurt, Fraunhofer IPMS and Fraunhofer IZI are developing a fluorescence laser-scanning confocal microscope, for which a MEMS microscanner mirror is used to record images.

Furthermore, Fraunhofer IPMS is developing optical modules for high-resolution microscopy with significantly reduced phototoxicity together with partners in Erfurt. At the same time, optimized MEMS micromirror arrays from Fraunhofer IPMS that work as Spatial Light Modulators (SLM) operate in combination with special optics. By using two micromirror arrays in an extra engineered optical assembly, control of the light falling on the space as well as the angle and/or projection of defined patterns can be achieved. In this way, tissue samples can be examined as part of a very careful, high-resolution procedure.

 

Fraunhofer IPMS

Webinar

"Smart Systems for Medical and Health"

Dr. Michael Scholles

May 28, 2020 (2 pm CET)

Project Hub MEOS

Website

»Microelectronic and Optical Systems for Biomedicine«

Mikroelektronische und Optische Systeme für die Biomedizin

Schnelle Diagnose von Krankheiten mit optischen Mikrosystemen

 

Fraunhofer IPMS

Webinar

"Smart Systems for Medical and Health"

Dr. Michael Scholles

28. Mai 2020 (14 Uhr)

Optische Mikrosysteme ermöglichen schnelle Diagnose von Krankheiten

Wenn ein Patient mit unspezifischen Symptomen zum Arzt geht, dann braucht dieser eine sehr gute diagnostische Kompetenz. Technische Lösungen basierend auf Mikrosystemen können Mediziner bei der Suche nach der Krankheitsursache unterstützen, mithilfe visueller Bildgebung sowie optischer und chemischer Sensorik. Das Fraunhofer IPMS arbeitet im Projektzentrum MEOS „Mikroelektronische und Optische Systeme für die Biomedizin“ in Erfurt interdisziplinär mit dem Fraunhofer IOF und dem Fraunhofer IZI an innovativen Systemen, die es ermöglichen, Krankheiten frühzeitig zu erkennen.

© Fraunhofer IPMS
Mikroscannerspiegel des Fraunhofer IPMS.

Kernkomponenten der im Projektzentrum realisierten Systeme sind oftmals die am Fraunhofer IPMS entwickelten Biosensoren, die es ermöglichen, Krankheiten durch die Analyse von Fluiden zu detektieren. So sind beispielsweise Spuren spezieller Gase in der Atemluft ein frühes Zeichen verschiedener Krankheiten, einschließlich Krebs. Eine spektroskopische Atemluftanalyse kann diese Gase erkennen und eine rechtzeitige Diagnose und damit eine zeitnahe Therapie ermöglichen. Entsprechende, im Alltag einsetzbare Systeme der chemischen Sensorik basieren auf einem MEMS-Ionenmobilitätsspektrometer, mit dem Verfahren zum Schnelltest bereitgestellt werden können. Die miniaturisierte optische Sensorik eignet sich für die Point-of- Care-Diagnostik. Das bedeutet, dass anstelle einer zeitaufwändigeren Laboruntersuchung eine Analyse unmittelbar vor Ort erfolgen kann. Die Sensorik nutzt dafür optimierte Bauelemente wie Mikroringresonatoren mit funktionalisierter Oberfläche. Durch das Andocken von Antikörpern an der Oberfläche ändern sich die optischen Eigenschaften dieser Bauelemente, sodass diese mit einer hohen Sensitivität und hohem Durchsatz detektierbar sind.

Optische Mikrosysteme des IPMS können zudem helfen, unterschiedliche Zellarten einfach und schnell voneinander zu unterscheiden. So können z.B. Krebszellen gezielt mit Fluoreszenzmarkern gekennzeichnet werden. Ein optisches System kann Tumorgewebe dann in Echtzeit von gesunden Bereichen unterscheiden und die Mediziner so während eines chirurgischen Eingriffs in der vollständigen Tumorresektion unterstützen. Das Fraunhofer IPMS und das Fraunhofer IZI entwickeln in Kooperation mit den Helios-Kliniken Erfurt zu diesem Zweck ein Fluoreszenz-Laser-Scanning-Konfokalmikroskop, für dessen Bildaufnahme MEMS-Mikroscannerspiegel verwendet werden.

Darüber hinaus entwickelt das Fraunhofer IPMS gemeinsam mit den Partnern in Erfurt optische Module für die hochaufgelöste Mikroskopie mit deutlich reduzierter Phototoxizität. Optimierte MEMS-Mikrospiegelarrays des Fraunhofer IPMS, die als Flächenlichtmodulatoren wirken, arbeiten dabei in Kombination mit speziellen Optiken. Durch den Einsatz von zwei Mikrospiegelarrays in einem extra konstruierten optischen Aufbau lässt sich eine Kontrolle des einfallenden Lichts in Raum und Winkel bzw. die Projektion definierter Muster erreichen. Auf diese Weise können Gewebeproben in einem sehr schonenden Verfahren hochauflösend untersucht werden.

 

Fraunhofer IPMS

Webinar

"Smart Systems for Medical and Health"

Dr. Michael Scholles

28. Mai 2020 (14 Uhr)

Projektzentrum MEOS

Webseite

»Mikroelektronische und Optische Systeme für die Biomedizin«