MEMS based headphones

Wireless headphones with MEMS speakers for the Internet of Voice

Open chip section of a MEMS microloudspeaker device with parallel pairs of actuators
© Fraunhofer IPMS
Open chip section of a MEMS microloudspeaker device with parallel pairs of actuators
MEMS chip with three micro loudspeaker components on a PCB for control
© Fraunhofer IPMS
MEMS chip with three micro loudspeaker components on a PCB for control

Many users are now increasingly accepting voice-based Internet services as a central component of future data processing. For instance, in the car, on the smartphone, and in the living room. Renowned hardware and content providers are similarly focusing their business on those products which are also to be used in Internet-enabled mobile terminals worn directly in the ear. There are numerous voice-based services available today. Examples include simultaneous translators, payment services and marketing solutions[1]. The vision of an Internet of Voice worn permanently in the ear is thus taking shape. The hearables which are predestined for this are increasingly laying claim to the legacy of smartphones and emancipating themselves from the less smart Bluetooth headsets.

In the future, hearables will contain not only audio technologies, but also powerful processors for data processing and will be directly connected to the Internet via wireless interfaces. Similar to the GPUs for smartphone displays, the processors (along with the wireless interfaces) will thus dominate the energy requirements of future hearables and, consequently, dominate their battery runtime. Since the space available in the ear and, therefore, the capacity of the battery is very limited, all other components will have to run on a very small energy budget in order to ensure sufficient battery life.

The Fraunhofer IPMS has developed a new, power-efficient acoustic transducer principle for a central core component of the hearables – the in-ear speaker – and has presented it in the Journal of Nature Microsystems and Nanoengineering. By publishing the scientific findings, reviewers agreed to the novelty and significance. This makes the innovative approach accessible to a broad expert audience.

Since submission of the results to the journal at the beginning of the year, the work has continued intensively. The improved next generation MEMS speaker is already in the laboratory. In addition to further improved linearity and higher sound pressure levels, the control voltage, and consequently the power consumption, has been further reduced in this speaker.

Apart from increasing the characteristic values further, the focus of work at IPMS is now moving increasingly towards integration, especially with control electronics.

You can look forward to further news on innovations of the future and are welcome to contact us!

MEMS technology for headphones

Privacy warning

With the click on the play button an external video from wwww.youtube.com is loaded and started. Your data is possible transferred and stored to third party. Do not start the video if you disagree. Find more about the youtube privacy statement under the following link: http://www.youtube.com/t/privacy_at_youtube

MEMS based headphones

Kaiser et al. in Nature Microsystems & Nanoengineering (2019)

Publication

Concept and proof for an all-silicon MEMS microspeaker utilizing air chambers

Patent

Mems transducer for interacting with a volume flow of a fluid.

Press Release

Fraunhofer and BTU Cottbus-Senftenberg Introduce Membrane-free MEMS Loudspeakers in "Nature Microsystems and Nanoengineering" scientific journal

Fraunhofer and BTU Cottbus-Senftenberg Introduce Membrane-free MEMS Loudspeakers in Nature Microsystems and Nanoengineering scientific journal

Press Release (19/10/09) - The vision to enhance the Internet of Voice with Hearables to be permanently worn in the ear is taking shape.

In the coming years, demand and market penetration for Internet of Voice services are expected to grow. Services are already available via Hearables, intelligent wireless headphones equipped with mini-speakers combined with numerous additional features that are inserted directly into the human ear. When the required hardware is sufficiently miniaturized to fit comfortably and permanently in the ear canal, these micro-headphones will have the potential to take over the entire Internet communication.

Together with the Brandenburg Technical Universtiy Cottbus-Senftenberg (BTU), scientists at the Fraunhofer Institutes for Photonic Microsystems (IPMS) located in Dresden and Cottbus have developed a new, power-efficient acoustic transducer principle for in-ear loudspeakers. This central core component has now been presented in detail for the first time in the Nature Microsystems and Nanoengineering scientific journal.

No longer using a conventional membrane, the new acoustic transducer principle takes form in a variety of bending actuators similar to the strings of a harp placed within the volume of a silicon chip. New types of electrostatic bending Nano-e-Drive (NED) actuators have been integrated into the only 20 μm thin transducers. The voltage of the audio signal causes the actuator to oscillate. To prevent any acoustic short circuit on either side, a team of scientists led by Bert Kaiser, Holger Conrad and Prof. Harald Schenk bonded two silicon wafer layers with input and output slots on both - the top and bottom of the bending NED actuators. The work presented results in a micro speaker completely manufactured via pure silicon technologies.

The first battery-operated demo system for in-ear playback was developed. For the first time, sound pressures greater than 100 dB and promising linearity has been presented. An amplifier drive circuit making it easier for commercial customers to access benefits in terms of both shape and energy efficiency is currently being developed.

From 2016-2018, the acoustic transducer technology based on MEMS processes was founded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) in the VIP+ “MEMSound” project as well as further developed and patented for the Hearables, Hearing Aid, and Smartphone markets.

MEMS basierte Kopfhörer

Drahtlose Kopfhörer mit MEMS Lautsprechern für das Internet of Voice

Ausschnitt geöffneter Chip eines MEMS Mikrolautsprecher Bauelementes mit parallel angeordneten Aktor-Paaren
© Fraunhofer IPMS
Ausschnitt geöffneter Chip eines MEMS Mikrolautsprecher Bauelementes mit parallel angeordneten Aktor-Paaren
MEMS Chip mit drei Mikrolautsprecher Bauelementen auf Trägerplatine zur Ansteuerung
© Fraunhofer IPMS
MEMS Chip mit drei Mikrolautsprecher Bauelementen auf Trägerplatine zur Ansteuerung

Sprachbasierte Internetdienstleistungen werden von vielen Nutzern immer öfter als zentraler Bestandteil künftiger Datenverarbeitung akzeptiert. Beispielsweise im Auto, im Smartphone und im Wohnzimmer. Gleichermaßen richten renommierte Hardware- und Content-Anbieter ihr Geschäft auf solche Produkte, die auch in internetfähigen mobilen Endgeräten direkt im Ohr getragen zum Einsatz kommen. Heute sind zahlreiche sprachbasierte Dienste verfügbar. Beispiele sind Simultanübersetzer, Bezahldienste und Marketinglösungen[1]. Die Vision eines dauerhaft im Ohr getragenen Internet-of-Voice nimmt somit Gestalt an. Die dafür prädestinierten Hearables beanspruchen immer mehr das Erbe der Smartphones anzutreten und emanzipieren sich vom weniger smarten Bluetooth Headsets.

Hearables enthalten zukünftig nicht nur Audiotechnologien, sondern darüber hinaus auch leistungsfähige Prozessoren zur Datenverarbeitung und sind über Funkschnittstellen direkt mit dem Internet verbunden. Ähnlich zu den GPU für Smartphone-Displays werden somit (neben den Funkschnittstellen) die Prozessoren den Energiebedarf der zukünftigen Hearables und somit deren Laufzeit dominieren. Da der Platz und somit die Kapazität des Akkus im Ohr sehr begrenzt ist, müssen dadurch alle anderen Komponenten mit sehr geringem Energiebudget auskommen um eine ausreichende Laufzeit zu ermöglichen.

Für eine zentrale Kernkomponente der Hearables - dem Im-Ohr-Lautsprecher – hat das Fraunhofer IPMS ein neues, leistungseffizientes Schallwandlerprinzip entwickelt und im Fachblatt Nature Microsystems and Nanoengineering vorgestellt. Durch die Veröffentlichung der wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnisse sind sich Fachleute über die Neuheit und Bedeutung einig. Damit wird der innovative Ansatz einem breiten Fachpublikum zugänglich.

Seit dem Einreichen der Arbeit beim Journal zu Beginn des Jahres sind die Arbeiten intensiv fortgesetzt worden. Die nachfolgende verbesserte Generation MEMS Lautsprecher befindet sich bereits im Labor. Neben weiter verbesserter Linearität und höherem Schalldruck konnte auch die Ansteuerspannung und somit die Leistungsaufnahme weiter abgesenkt werden.

Zusätzlich zur weiteren Steigerung der Kennwerte rückt nun auch die Integration insbesondere mit der Ansteuerungselektronik zunehmend in den Fokus der Arbeiten am IPMS.

Freuen Sie sich auf weitere Nachrichten für die Innovationen von morgen und kontaktieren sie uns gern!

MEMS Technologie für Kopfhörer

Datenschutz und Datenverarbeitung

Wir setzen zum Einbinden von Videos den Anbieter YouTube ein. Wie die meisten Websites verwendet YouTube Cookies, um Informationen über die Besucher ihrer Internetseite zu sammeln. Wenn Sie das Video starten, könnte dies Datenverarbeitungsvorgänge auslösen. Darauf haben wir keinen Einfluss. Weitere Informationen über Datenschutz bei YouTube finden Sie in deren Datenschutzerklärung unter: http://www.youtube.com/t/privacy_at_youtube

MEMS based headphones

Kaiser et al. in Nature Microsystems & Nanoengineering (2019)

Veröffentlichung

Concept and proof for an all-silicon MEMS microspeaker utilizing air chambers

Patent

Mems transducer for interacting with a volume flow of a fluid.

Pressemitteilung

Fraunhofer und BTU Cottbus Senftenberg präsentieren erstmals MEMS Lautsprecher ohne Membran im Fachblatt Nature Microsystems and Nanoengineering

Fraunhofer und BTU Cottbus Senftenberg präsentieren erstmals MEMS Lautsprecher ohne Membran im Fachblatt Nature Microsystems and Nanoengineering

Presseinformation (9.10.2019) - Die Vision eines dauerhaft im Ohr getragenen Internet-of-Voice nimmt Gestalt an.

Für Internet-of-Voice-Dienste wird in den kommenden Jahren eine große Nachfrage und Marktdurchdringung erwartet. Diese Dienste können schon heute direkt mittels Hearables direkt im Ohr der Menschen eingesetzt werden. Hearables sind intelligente drahtlose Kopfhörer, die mit Minilautsprechern ausgerüstet sind und viele zusätzliche Funktionen in sich vereinen. Derartige Mikrokopfhörer könnten dabei die komplette Internetkommunikation übernehmen, wenn es gelingt, die dafür benötigte Hardware soweit zu miniaturisieren, dass sie bequem und dauerhaft im Gehörgang getragen werden kann.

Für eine zentrale Kernkomponente - dem Im-Ohr-Lautsprecher - haben Wissenschaftler des Fraunhofer Instituts für Photonische Mikrosysteme (IPMS) in Dresden und Cottbus zusammen mit der Brandenburgisch Technischen Universität Cottbus-Senftenberg (BTU) ein neues, leistungseffizientes Schallwandlerprinzip entwickelt und erstmals im Wissenschaftsmagazin Nature Microsystems and Nanoengineeringdetailliert vorgestellt.

Das neue Schallwandlerprinzip besitzt keine herkömmliche Membran mehr. Vielmehr wurde diese in Form einer Vielzahl von Biegelbalken – ähnlich der Saiten einer Harfe – in das Volumen eines Siliziumchips verlegt. Innerhalb der nur 20 µm dünnen Biegebalken sind neuartige elektrostatische Biegeaktoren, so genannte Nano -E- Drive-Aktoren integriert, welche durch die Audiosignalspannung zum Schwingen angeregt werden. Um den akustischen Kurzschluss beidseitig der Balken zu verhindern hat das Wissenschaftlerteam um Bert Kaiser, Holger Conrad und Prof. Harald Schenk zwei Silizium-Waferschichten mit Aus- und Einlassschlitzen auf Ober- und Unterseite der Biegebalken gebondet. Dadurch kann ein komplett in Silizium-Technologie hergestellter Mikrolautsprecher realisiert werden.

Auf den Laborergebnissen aufbauend wurde ein erstes akku-betriebenes Demosystem für die Im-Ohr Wiedergabe realisiert. Damit ließen sich Schalldrücke größer 100 dB und vielversprechende Linearitäten erstmals darstellen. Derzeit wird eine Ansteuerung mit Verstärker entwickelt, die es erlauben soll die Vorteile hinsichtlich der Energieeffizienz und dem Formfaktor für Verwertungskunden in einfacher Weise zugänglich zu machen.

Die auf MEMS-Prozessen beruhende Herstellungstechnologie wurde über das vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) geförderte VIP+ Projekt „MEMSound“ zwischen 2016 und 2018 erforscht und wesentlich für die Märkte Hearables, Hörgeräte und Smartphones weiterentwickelt sowie patentrechtlich abgesichert.