Micropositioning platforms

MEMS based electrostatic bending actuators

MEMS based Micropositioning Platforms

Micropositioning platforms

© Fraunhofer IPMS
The image shows the basic concept of NED inchworm drive. Blocks of actuators on the left and right side of a so-called shuttle, can push the shuttle in-plane upwards or downwards.
© Fraunhofer IPMS
The image shows two levels of NED inchworm drive (Actuators and blocks) on top of each other to decouple X and Y movement. The optics lie on the upper level.

Micropositioning platforms are systems in which a defined, usually centrally arranged surface can perform lateral, rotational, tilting or lifting movements as well as combinations of them.The drive mechanism is brought about by microactuators which are connected to the platform through coupling elements, typically spring structures. The microactuators can be realized in particular by bending transducers.

MEMS based electrostatic bending actuators were developed at IPMS. They are applied in the micropositioning platforms as direct drives. An alternative drive mechanism is the so-called indirect drive, for example, in the form of an "inchworm" principle. The inchworm principle describes the stepwise displacement of the rotor. In this case, the feed actuator is formed by the bending transducers themselves. In contrast, the clamping function can be performed electrostatically or by additional bending actuators. With such a MEMS inchworm drive system, precise movement and in total long travel ranges are possible.

Microactuators and micropositioning platforms belong to the field of micro- and nanosystems. They are transducers and structures of microelectromechanical systems (MEMS). The structure of the systems, consisting of the two components mentioned above and other components such as sensors, is closely linked to the concepts of monolithic and hybrid integration. Main research focuses on dynamics, damping, reliability, tribology, electrostatics, control as well as assembly and packaging technology.

Applications of the micropositioning platforms can be found in a broad context, for example, in the field of analytics for specimen positioning and micromanipulation or in optical analytics, particularly for flat and mobile microscopy systems.

Video

Privacy warning

With the click on the play button an external video from wwww.youtube.com is loaded and started. Your data is possible transferred and stored to third party. Do not start the video if you disagree. Find more about the youtube privacy statement under the following link: http://www.youtube.com/t/privacy_at_youtube

Fraunhofer IPMS

Monolithically Integrated Actuator and Sensor Systems

Photonics West

Visit us!

The Moscone Center San Francisco, California, United States 

Booth 4361

Mikropositionierplattformen

MEMS basierte elektrostatische Biegewandler

MEMS basierte Mikropositionierplattformen

Mikropositionierplattformen

© Fraunhofer IPMS
Das Bild zeigt das Grundkonzept des NED-Inchworm-Laufwerks. Blöcke von Aktuatoren auf der linken und rechten Seite eines so genannten Shuttles, können das Shuttle in der Ebene nach oben oder unten schieben - das ist der Grundgedanke des NED-Antriebs
© Fraunhofer IPMS
Das Bild zeigt zwei übereinanderliegende Ebenen des NED-Inchworm-Antriebs (Aktuatoren und Blöcke) zur Entkopplung der X- und Y-Bewegung. Die Optik liegt auf der oberen Ebene.

Mikropositionierplattformen sind Systeme, bei denen einen definierte, meist zentral angeordnete Fläche Lateral-, Dreh-, Kipp- oder Hubbewegungen sowie Kombinationen dieser ausführen kann. Der Antrieb gelingt über Mikroaktoren die mit Koppelelementen, typischerweise Federstrukturen, mit der Plattform verbunden sind. Die Mikroaktorik kann insbesondere durch Biegewandler bewerkstelligt werden.

MEMS basierter elektrostatische Biegewandler wurden am IPMS entwickelt. Sie kommen in den Mikropositionierplattformen als Direktantrieb zum Einsatz. Ein alternativer indirekter Antrieb erfolgt beispielsweise in Form eines „Inchworm“- Prinzipes. Dieses beschreibt die schrittweise Verschiebung des Rotors. Dabei wird die Vorschubaktorik durch die Biegewandler selbst gebildet. Hingegen kann die Klemmfunktion elektrostatisch oder durch weitere Biegewandler erfolgen. Mit einem solchen MEMS-Inchworm-Motor sind präzise und in Summe große Stellwege möglich.

Mikroaktoren und Mikropositionierplattformen gehören zur Disziplin der Mikro- und Nanosysteme. Sie sind Wandler und Strukturen der Mikroelektromechanik (MEMS). Der Aufbau der Systeme, aus den beiden genannten und weiteren Komponenten wie beispielsweise Sensoren, ist eng verknüpft mit den Begriffen der monolithischen und hybriden Integration. Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen im Bereich der Dynamik, Dämpfung, Zuverlässigkeit, Tribologie, Elektrostatik, Ansteuerung sowie Aufbau- und Verbindungstechnik.

Anwendungen der Mikropositionierplattformen im weiteren Sinne finden sich beispielsweise in der Analytik zur Probenplatzierung und Mikromanipulation oder auch in der optischen Analytik für besonders flach bauende und mobile Mikroskopiersysteme.

Video

Fraunhofer IPMS

Weitere Anwendungen

Nanoscopic Electrostatic Drives (NED) - Mikromechanische Systeme als neuartige elektrostatische Antriebe