Diagnostics and Sensors

Marker-free detection with photonic biosensors

Applications for medicine and health

Label-free detection methods - i.e. without additional reagents for molecular characterisation - have a high development potential as they can provide simpler diagnostic tools that can be used outside the laboratory and thus become accessible to non-specialist users. Fraunhofer IPMS is developing photonic label-free biosensors based on silicon nitride microring resonators in silicon technology. They are used for the selective detection of biomarkers or microbial substances and offer, for example, a suitable detection method for the early detection of diseases. 

For this purpose, Fraunhofer IPMS, Fraunhofer IZI and Fraunhofer IOF are developing a highly sensitive integrated photonic biosensor platform at the Fraunhofer Project Center for Microelectronic and Optical Systems for Biomedicine MEOS in Erfurt.

Decentralised monitoring of Covid-19 patients

Applications for medicine and health

The Corona pandemic poses a challenge for medical diagnostics: In addition to severe symptoms, the SARS-CoV-2 virus also causes mild symptoms that can worsen very quickly. However, continuous patient monitoring has so far only been available in intensive care units. As a result, sudden deterioration in health is often only recognised with a time delay and those affected are brought to hospital too late. This is exactly where the cluster project M3Infekt comes in. By mobile recording, analysis and fusion of relevant biosignals with the help of different technologies, valid diagnoses can be made about the condition and course of the disease.

In the long term, the system under development will address decentralised patient monitoring on normal wards and in non-clinical environments using multimodal parameters of the cardiovascular system (including heart rate, ECG, oxygen saturation, blood flow situation) and respiration (including respiratory rate/volume, respiratory air analysis). Machine learning methods will be used as the basis for evaluation, which facilitates diagnostics and ensures that the system can be easily integrated and deployed in various application scenarios.

Breath analysis

Applications for medicine and health

Diseases can be detected by analysing the air we breathe. For example, traces of specific gases in the breath are an early sign of various diseases, including cancer. Spectroscopic breath analysis can detect these gases and thus enable early diagnosis and thus prompt therapy. Corresponding chemical sensor systems that can be used in everyday life are based on a MEMS ion mobility spectrometer, which can be used to provide procedures for rapid tests.

Optical coherence tomography

Applications for medicine and health

© Fraunhofer IPMS
MEMS microscanner of the Fraunhofer IPMS.
Thanks to OCT, the surface and depth structure of objects can be analysed with a resolution in the micrometre range. The microscanning mirrors of Fraunhofer IPMS enable a new way of recording environmental parameters and thus the automated monitoring of the quality of productions and the increase in the safety of employees, plants and processes.

Diagnose & Sensorik

Diagnose und Sensorik

Markierungsfreie Detektion mit photonischen Biosensoren

Anwendungen für Medizin und Gesundheit

Markierungsfreie Nachweismethoden - also ohne zusätzliche Reagenzien zur molekularen Charakterisierung - haben ein hohes Entwicklungspotenzial, da sie einfachere Diagnosewerkzeuge bereitstellen können, die außerhalb des Labors eingesetzt werden können und damit auch für nicht spezialisierte Anwender zugänglich werden. Das Fraunhofer IPMS entwickelt photonische markierungsfreie Biosensoren auf der Basis von Siliziumnitrid-Mikroringresonatoren in Siliziumtechnologie. Sie werden zum selektiven Nachweis von Biomarkern oder mikrobiellen Substanzen eingesetzt und bieten beispielsweise eine geeignete Nachweismethode zur Früherkennung von Krankheiten. 

Zu diesem Zweck entwickeln das Fraunhofer IPMS, das Fraunhofer IZI und das Fraunhofer IOF am Fraunhofer-Projektzentrum für Mikroelektronische und Optische Systeme für die Biomedizin MEOS in Erfurt eine hochempfindliche integrierte photonische Biosensorik-Plattform.

Dezentrales Monitoring von Covid-19 Patienten

Anwendungen für Medizin und Gesundheit

Die Corona-Pandemie stellt eine Herausforderung für die medizinische Diagnostik dar: Neben schwerwiegenden Symptomen verursacht der SARS-CoV-2-Virus auch milde Verläufe, die sich akut verschlechtern können. Eine durchgängige Patientenüberwachung gibt es aber bisher nur auf Intensivstationen. Plötzliche Gesundheitsverschlechterungen werden dadurch oft erst zeitverzögert erkannt und Betroffene zu spät in ein Krankenhaus gebracht. Genau da setzt das Clusterprojekt M3Infekt an. Durch die mobile Erfassung, Analyse und Fusion relevanter Biosignale mithilfe unterschiedlicher Technologien können valide Diagnosen über Zustand und Krankheitsverlauf getroffen werden.

Das avisierte System adressiert langfristig die dezentrale Patientenüberwachung auf Normalstationen sowie in außerklinischen Umgebungen anhand multimodaler Parameter des Herz-Kreislaufsystems (u.a. Herzrate, EKG, Sauerstoffsättigung, Durchblutungssituation) und der Atmung (u.a. Atemfrequenz/-volumen, Atemluftanalyse). Als Basis zur Auswertung dienen Methoden des maschinellen Lernens, die die Diagnosestellung erleichtern und die ortsunabhängige Integration in verschiedene Einsatz- und Anwendungsszenarien gewährleisten.

Atemluftanalyse

Anwendungen für Medizin und Gesundheit

Krankheiten können durch die Analyse der Atemluft detektiert werden. So sind beispielsweise Spuren spezieller Gase in der Atemluft ein frühes Zeichen verschiedener Krankheiten, einschließlich Krebs. Eine spektroskopische Atemluftanalyse kann diese Gase erkennen und somit eine frühzeitige Diagnose und damit eine zeitnahe Therapie ermöglichen. Entsprechende, im Alltag einsetzbare Systeme der chemischen Sensorik basieren auf einem MEMS-Ionenmobilitätsspektrometer, mit dem Verfahren zum Schnelltest bereitgestellt werden können.

Optische Kohärenztomografie

Anwendungen für Medizin und Gesundheit

© Fraunhofer IPMS
MEMS Microscanner des Fraunhofer IPMS.
Dank OCT können die Oberflächen- und Tiefenstruktur von Gegenständen mit einer Auflösung im Mikrometerbereich analysiert werden. Die Mikroscannerspiegel des Fraunhofer IPMS ermöglichen somit eine neue Art der Erfassung von Umgebungsparametern und damit die automatisierte Überwachung der Qualität von Produktionen und die Erhöhung der Sicherheit von Mitarbeitenden, Anlagen und Prozessen.