Environmentally friendly cleaning technologies in microchip production

Environmentally friendly cleaning technologies in microchip production#

© Intelligent Fluids GmbH
Individual steps of metal lift-off.

Many individual process steps are necessary before a chip is produced in microelectronics. It is often necessary to clean wafers or to remove existing layers completely or partially. Usually, this is done using aggressive chemical cleaning processes. Together with partners, Fraunhofer IPMS is developing an alternative technology that is more efficient, more cost-effective and, above all, more environmentally friendly.

The phase fluid-based technology sets new standards in terms of environmental friendliness, occupational safety and equipment compatibility and represents a major step towards green fab in semiconductor production. In addition, process flows can be simplified, resulting in savings in production time and consumables, and enabling new application scenarios in process integration. In contrast to conventional processes, in which photoresists, for example, are dissolved using aggressive solvents and sometimes toxic chemicals and then disposed of at great expense, phase fluids infiltrate the corresponding layers, fragment them and "lift" them off the wafer surface without defects. The phase fluid and the dissolved photoresist are then rinsed with DI water and removed without leaving any residue.

intelligent fluids#

Andreas Bartzsch (Intelligent Fluids GmbH)

"intelligent fluids" take cleaning processes to a new level in performance and environmental compatibility and drastically reduce the use of critical chemicals. This new generation of fluids is gentle on the environment, people and has been awarded the Global Green Product Award 2021 for Circular Materials.

Fraunhofer IPMS has been our top development partner for years. Together, we develop highly effective and sustainable fluids for the latest technologies in microelectronics, which can be integrated into next-generation semiconductor manufacturing." - Andreas Bartzsch – Sales Director Microelectronics at Intelligent Fluids GmbH.

Umweltschonende Reinigungstechnologien in der Mikrochipfertigung

Umweltschonende Reinigungstechnologien in der Mikrochipfertigung#

© Intelligent Fluids GmbH
Einzelschritte des „metal lift off“.

Viele Einzelprozessschritte sind nötig, bevor in der Mikroelektronik ein Chip entsteht. Dabei ist es immer wieder notwendig, Wafer zu reinigen oder bestehende Schichten ganz oder teilweise zu entfernen. Üblicherweise geschieht dies unter Nutzung von aggressiven chemischen Reinigungsverfahren. Am Fraunhofer IPMS wird zusammen mit Partnern eine alternative Technologie entwickelt, die leistungsfähiger, kostengünstiger und vor allem umweltfreundlicher ist.

Die auf Phasenfluiden basierende Technologie setzt neue Standards in Sachen Umweltfreundlichkeit, Arbeitssicherheit und Anlagenverträglichkeit und stellt einen großen Schritt in Richtung Green Fab bei der Halbleiterproduktion dar. Zudem können Prozessabläufe vereinfacht werden, was Einsparungen bei der Produktionszeit und den Verbrauchsmitteln mit sich bringt und neue Anwendungsszenarien bei der Prozessintegration ermöglicht. Im Gegensatz zu herkömmlichen Verfahren, bei denen z.B. Fotolacke mittels aggressiven Lösungsmitteln und zum Teil toxischen Chemikalien aufgelöst und im Anschluss aufwendig entsorgt werden, unterwandern Phasenfluide die entsprechenden Schichten, fragmentieren sie und „heben“ diese defektfrei von der Waferoberfläche ab. Im Anschluss werden das Phasenfluid und der abgelöste Fotolack mit DI-Wasser abgespült und rückstandsfrei entfernt.

intelligent fluids#

Andreas Bartzsch (Intelligent Fluids GmbH)

„intelligent fluids" heben die Reinigungsprozesse auf ein neues Niveau in Performance und Umweltverträglichkeit und reduzieren den Einsatz von kritischen Chemikalien drastisch. Diese neue Generation von Fluiden ist schonend für Umwelt, Mensch und ist nicht umsonst mit dem Global Green Product Award 2021 for Circular Materials ausgezeichnet worden.

Fraunhofer – IPMS ist seit Jahren unser Top-Entwicklungspartner. Gemeinsam entwickeln wir für neueste Technologien in der Mikroelektronik hochwirksame und nachhaltige Fluide, die in den Halbleiterfertigungen der nächsten Generation mit integriert werden können.“ - Andreas Bartzsch – Sales Director Microelectronics bei Intelligent Fluids GmbH.