MEMS Competencies

MEMS Competencies

In addition to the conceptual design, development and fabrication of MEMS and MOEMS devices, Fraunhofer IPMS possesses the know-how for the fabrication of individualized BSOI wafers, the electrical characterization of devices and develops suitable packaging solutions following fabrication.

MEMS Technology Analysis - Electrical Characterization

Characterization at wafer level

To characterize the complex devices and technologies, Fraunhofer IPMS is able to perform the following measurements (in-/ex-situ) both at wafer level and on the individual device:

  • Mixed-signal testing
  • Parametric test system
  • Electro-optical test system for micro-displays and sensors
  • Sensor-actuator test system
  • Non-electrical test
  • Optical inspection
  • CV analysis
  • Insulator integrity and reliability characterization

Bonding

Pick and place of a SLM

Wafers can be thinned for the manufacturing of BSOI wafers by means of CMOS-compatible grinders. Furthermore, Fraunhofer IPMS recently enhances BSOI wafers with novel features, such as cavities, buried guideways or even multi-SOI structures.

Further bonding capabilities are:

  • Direct bonding (Si / SiO2 , Si / Si and plasma-assisted bonding).
  • Adhesive bonding (BCB bonding)
  • Thermocompression bonding
  • SOI-design and manufacturing

Intelligent BSOI wafers

BSOI wafers according to customer requirements

The increasing demand for BSOI wafers, coupled with the requirements for our sophisticated components, have led Fraunhofer IPMS to build up competencies in the field of BSOI manufacturing in recent years. In doing so, our approach addresses individualized solutions for our customers in BSOI wafer fabrication. The devicelayers are equipped with various features, such as an adapted layer thickness and adapted doping. Thanks to our many years of technological experience, add-ons such as cavities or buried conductor paths can also be integrated into the device layer. This enables our customers to make optimum use of resources and short process times in the development of sophisticated products. The necessary technology modules are available to us and are completed by the following capabilities:

  • Grinding tool for thinning
  • 5-zone CMP for planarization
  • Bonder for bonding top and bottom wafers

Microassembly & Microsystem Integration

Microassembly and microsystem integration at Fraunhofer IPMS

MEMS devices open up new possibilities in the miniaturization of systems. Fraunhofer IPMS offers corresponding development services to help our customers create innovative products. However, the system design using MEMS, electronics, optics and other photonic components and the processes for assembling the systems in the smallest volumes are mutually dependent. Fraunhofer IPMS therefore has the necessary expertise and equipment for microassembly and also offers small batch manufacturing as a service.

System development and small batch manufacturing

  • System development and system realization from one source
  • Realization of two- and multi-component superstructures
  • Realization of 2D and 3D superstructures

Fully automated assembly platform

  • Passive and active alignment
  • Placement accuracy passive up to ± 0.5 µm / ± 0.01° lateral
  • Powerful force control: (0.1 to 20) N @ ± 0.05 N resolution
  • Component dimensions: (0.07 × 0.07) mm² to (20 × 20) mm² 
  • Use of a wide range of joining methods
  • Dicing Capabilities
  • Pick & Place (Advanced-Sub-Micron-Bonder)
  • Fineplacer
  • Individual solutions

MEMS-Kompetenzen

MEMS-Kompetenzen

Neben der Konzeptionierung, Entwicklung und Fertigung von MEMS- und MOEMS-Bauelementen besitzt das Fraunhofer IPMS das Know-How zur Fertigung von individualisierten BSOI-Wafern, der elektrischen Charakterisierung von Bauelementen und entwickelt im Anschluss an die Fertigung geeignete Packaging-Lösungen.

MEMS Technologieanalyse - Elektrische Charakterisierung

Charakterisierung auf Wafer-Level

Zur Charakterisierung der komplexen Bauteile und Technologien ist das Fraunhofer IPMS in der Lage, folgende Messungen (in-/ex-situ) sowohl auf Wafer-Level sowie am einzelnen Bauteil durchzuführen:

  • Mixed-Signal-Testing
  • Parametrisches Testsystem
  • Elektro-optisches Testsystem für Mikro-Displays und Sensoren
  • Sensor-Aktor-Testsystem
  • Nicht-elektrischer Test
  • Optische Inspektion
  • CV-Analyse
  • Charakterisierung der Integrität und Zuverlässigkeit von Isolatoren

Bonding

Pick and Place eines SLM

Inzwischen können mittels CMOS-kompatiblen Grinder, Wafer für die Fertigung von BSOI-Wafern abgedünnt werden. Weiterhin stattet das Fraunhofer IPMS neuerdings BSOI-Wafer mit neuartigen Funktionen, wie z. B. Kavitäten, vergrabenen Leitbahnen oder auch Multi- SOI-Strukturen, aus.

Weitere Bondingfähigkeiten sind:

  • Direkt Bonden (Si / SiO2 , Si / Si und Plasma-unterstütztes Bonden)
  • Adhesive Bonding (BCB-Bonding)
  • Thermo-Compression Bonding
  • SOI-Design und Fertigung

Intelligente BSOI-Wafer

BSOI-Wafer nach Kundenwunsch

Die steigende Nachfrage an BSOI Wafern, gepaart mit den Anforderungen an unsere anspruchsvollen Bauelemente haben dazu geführt, dass das Fraunhofer IPMS in den letzten Jahren Kompetenzen im Bereich der BSOI-Fertigung aufgebaut hat. Dabei adressieren wir mit unserem Ansatz individualisierte Lösungen für unsere Kunden bei der BSOI-Wafer-Fertigung. Die Devicelayer werden hierbei mit verschiedenen Features ausgestattet, wie einer angepassten Schichtdicke und angepassten Dotierungen. Durch die langjährige Technologieerfahrung können hierbei außerdem AddOn’s wie Kavitäten oder vergrabene Leiterbahnen in den Device-Layer integriert werden. Das eröffnet unseren Kunden einen optimalen Ressourceneinsatz und kurze Prozesszeiten bei der Entwicklung anspruchsvoller Produkte. Die dafür notwendigen Technologiemodule stehen uns zur Verfügung und werden durch folgende Fähigkeiten komplettiert:

  • Grindingtool zum Abdünnen
  • 5-Zonen-CMP zur Planarisierung
  • Bonder für das Bonden von Top- und Bottom-Wafer

Mikromontage & Mikrosystemintegration

Mikromontage und Mikrosystemintegration am Fraunhofer IPMS

MEMS Bauelemente eröffnen neue Möglichkeiten bei der Miniaturisierung von Systemen. Das Fraunhofer IPMS bietet entsprechende Entwicklungsleistungen an, um unseren Kunden zu innovativen Produkten zu verhelfen. Der Systementwurf unter Verwendung von MEMS, Elektronik, Optik und sonstigen photonischen Komponenten und die Verfahren zur Montage der Systeme in kleinsten Volumina bedingen aber einander. Das Fraunhofer IPMS weist daher die notwendige Kompetenz und die erforderlichen Geräte für die Mikromontage auf und bietet als Dienstleistung auch der Herstellung von Kleinserien an.

Entwicklung und Kleinserienfertigung von Systemen

  • Systementwicklung und Systemrealisierung aus einer Hand
  • Realisierung von zwei- und mehrkomponentigen Aufbauten
  • Realisierung von 2D- und 3D-Aufbauten

Vollautomatische Montageplattform

  • Passive und aktive Justage
  • Platziergenauigkeit passiv bis ± 0,5 µm / ± 0,01° lateral
  • Leistungsfähige Kraftregelung: (0,1 bis 20) N @ ± 0,05 N Auflösung
  • Bauteilabmessungen: (0,07 × 0,07) mm² bis (20 × 20) mm² 
  • Einsatz unterschiedlichster Fügeverfahren
  • Dicing Capabilities
  • Pick & Place (Advanced-Sub-Micron-Bonder)
  • Fineplacer
  • Individuelle Lösungen