Project AkteMUS

Development of a highly efficient method for active acoustic testing of miniaturized ultrasonic structures in substrate and carrier composites (AkteMUS).

Project duration: 06/2020-05/2022

© Fraunhofer IPMS
CMUTs with different designs on a processed wafer.
© Fraunhofer IPMS
Setup for automatic acoustic testing of CMUTs on a frame prober.

Ultrasonic sensors are used in a variety of applications today, from diagnostics to 3D imaging in medical technology and industrial measurement technology. Miniaturized ultrasonic transducers based on MEMS structures, such as the capacitive micromachined ultrasonic transducers (CMUT) from Fraunhofer IPMS, enable an innovative leap to new applications (e.g. more reliable detection of middle ear infections and reactive gripping in robotics) due to their reduced sensor size. The use of these silicon-based capacitive ultrasonic transducers opens up the potential to manufacture ultrasonic sensors in high volumes at very low cost.

For quality assurance purposes, ultrasonic sensors must be carefully tested for functionality before they are used. The currently applied electrical test is the main cost driver during the whole manufacturing process due to the time required, causing up to half of the manufacturing costs.

The aim of the project is to develop a new acoustic test method to test miniaturized ultrasonic elements for their properties and functional parameters after they have been separated from the silicon substrate composite. The innovative acoustic functional testing as well as the measurements on miniaturized and diced devices ("frame probing") will result in new powerful and flexible test systems. The test procedure researched in the AkteMUS project comes very close to the operating conditions of a device and reduces the measurement time of devices with a high number of channels. The research and development project addresses active test procedures, which can also be used for other MEMS devices and active principles in the future. In addition, the influence of handling, packaging and environmental influences will be evaluated in close cooperation with the joint venture partner aSpect Systems GmbH. This opens up new possibilities and markets for the testing of MEMS devices in addition to the currently established test scenarios. The continuous further development of MEMS sensors and actuators at Fraunhofer IPMS thus benefits in the long term in a very broad overall context from the provision of efficient test procedures for miniaturized components in substrate composites by the AkteMUS project.

Project partners:

  • aSpect Systems GmbH

Funded by:

Projekt AkteMUS

Entwicklung eines hocheffizienten Verfahrens zum aktiven akustischen Test von miniaturisierten Ultraschallstrukturen im Substrat- und Trägerverbund (AkteMUS)

Projektdauer: 06/2020-05/2022

© Fraunhofer IPMS
CMUTs mit verschiedenen Designs auf einem prozessierten Wafer.
© Fraunhofer IPMS
Aufbau für den automatischen akustischen Test von vereinzelten CMUTs auf einem Frame-Prober.

Ultraschallsensoren werden heutzutage von der Diagnostik bis zur 3D-Bilderstellung in der Medizintechnik und industriellen Messtechnik vielseitig eingesetzt. Miniaturisierte Ultraschallwandler auf Basis von MEMS-Strukturen, wie beispielsweise die kapazitiven Ultraschallwandler (capacitive micromachined ultrasonic transducers, »CMUT«) des Fraunhofer IPMS ermöglichen durch ihre reduzierte Sensorgröße einen Innovationssprung zu neuen Anwendungen (z. B. zuverlässigere Detektion von Mittelohrentzündungen und reaktives Greifen in der Robotik). Die Verwendung dieser kapazitiven Ultraschallwandler auf Siliziumbasis eröffnet das Potential Ultraschallsensoren in hohen Stückzahlen sehr kostengünstig zu fertigen.

Zur Qualitätssicherung müssen Ultraschallsensoren vor ihrem Einsatz sorgfältig auf ihre Funktionsfähigkeit überprüft werden. Dieser bis jetzt rein elektrische Funktionstest ist durch den Zeitaufwand der wesentliche Kostentreiber während des gesamten Herstellprozesses und verursacht bis zur Hälfte der Herstellungskosten.

Ziel des Projekts ist die Entwicklung eines neuen akustischen Testverfahrens, um miniaturisierte Ultraschallelemente nach der Vereinzelung aus dem Siliziumsubstratverbund auf deren Eigenschaften und Funktionsparameter zu testen. Durch die innovative akustische Funktionsprüfung sowie der Messungen an miniaturisierten und bereits vereinzelten Bauelementen (»Frameprobing«) werden neue leistungsfähige und flexible Testsysteme entstehen. Das im Projekt AkteMUS erforschte Testverfahren kommt den Einsatzbedingungen eines Bauelements sehr nahe und reduziert die Messzeit von Bauelementen mit einer hohen Anzahl an Kanälen. Das Forschungs- und Entwicklungsvorhaben adressiert aktive Testverfahren, welche perspektivisch auch für andere MEMS-Bauelemente und Wirkprinzipien zum Einsatz kommen können. Zudem wird der Einfluss von Handling, Gehäuse (»Packaging«) und Umwelteinflüssen in enger Zusammenarbeit mit dem Verbundpartner aSpect Systems GmbH bewertet. Hiermit eröffnen sich neben den aktuell etablierten Testszenarien neue Möglichkeiten und Märkte für den Test von MEMS-Bauelementen. Die stetige Weiterentwicklung von MEMS Sensoren und Aktoren am Fraunhofer IPMS profitiert somit langfristig in einem sehr weiten Gesamtkontext von der Bereitstellung effizienter Testverfahren für miniaturisierte Bauelemente im Substratverbund durch das Vorhaben AkteMUS.

Projektpartner:

  • aSpect Systems GmbH

Unterstützt durch: