NED-based Micromechanical Ultrasonic Transducer (NEDMUT)

NED-based Micromechanical Ultrasonic Transducer (NEDMUT)

© Fraunhofer IPMS
NED based ultrasonic transducer (NEDMUT) glued on printed circuit board with wirebonds & bondlands.

Among sensors, ultrasonic transducers are the all-rounders that have established themselves for many detection tasks in technical applications. The use of sensor systems for the exchange of information in the near-distance and contact range is becoming increasingly important. For example, in gesture recognition or collision warning. The application area of gesture recognition in particular increasingly requires miniaturised sensors with low energy consumption in order to integrate them into mobile internet-enabled end devices.

The novel ultrasonic transducers in MEMS technology, which were developed in the business unit Monolithically Integrated Actuator and Sensor Systems of Fraunhofer IPMS, can close this gap. The technology makes it possible to dispense with the membrane used in conventional ultrasonic transducers. Instead, microscopically small bending bars are used, which are set into vibration by a signal and oscillate in the chip plane. In order to generate sound, these bending beams are arranged in sound chambers and the sound exits the sound chambers via inlet and outlet slits.

Advantages of MEMS ultrasonic transducers

  • Volume utilisation → by utilising the chip volume, transducers with very small dimensions can be realised.
  • Low control voltages → control voltages of less than 48 V enable the use of the transducers in compliance with the low-voltage directive.
  • All-silicon → reliable CMOS-compatible manufacturing processes enable production in almost any clean room. Similarly, the transducers comply with the RoHS directive.
  • Frequency range → the frequency of a transducer can be finished in a wide range specific to the application. Frequencies from 20 kHz to 500 kHz are possible. Frequencies are adjustable within a range
  • Combination → sensor and actuator elements can be integrated directly adjacent in one component. In particular, this can also be implemented for different frequencies.
  • Flexibility → the transducers can be adapted to customer requirements in many ways. This includes the form factor, the radiation characteristic and the frequency range.

Application areas and status of MEMS ultrasonic transducers

The silicon-based ultrasonic transducers can be used in a wide range of technical applications. Examples are distance measurement, gesture recognition and non-destructive material testing for predictive maintanance.

With the NED actuators, MEMS ultrasonic transducers can be manufactured entirely in silicon. The proof of suitability as ultrasonic transducers was carried out with internal research projects and resulted in a demonstrator. The demonstrator evaluates the propagation time of a radiated and reflected signal, which makes it possible to recognise different gestures and distances.

Nanoscopic Electrostatic Drives (NED) MEMS Ultraschallwandler

MEMS Ultraschallwandler

© Fraunhofer IPMS
MEMS-NED-Sound-Ultraschallwandler

Ultraschallwandler sind unter den Sensoren die Alleskönner, die sich für viele Detektionsaufgaben in technischen Anwendungen etabliert haben. Der Einsatz von Sensorsystemen für den Informationsaustausch im Nahdistanz- und Kontaktbereich wird dabei immer wichtiger. Beispielsweise in der Gestenerkennung oder in der Kollisionswarnung. Gerade das Anwendungsgebiet Gestenerkennung erfordert zunehmend miniaturisierte Sensoren mit einem geringen Energieumsatz um diese in mobile internetfähige Endgeräte zu integrieren.

Die neuartigen UItraschallwandler in MEMS-Technologie, die in dem Geschäftsfeld Monolithisch integrierte Aktor- und Sensorsysteme des Fraunhofer IPMS entwickelt wurden können diese Lücke schließen. Die Technologie erlaubt es auf die in herkömmlichen Ultraschallwandlern eingesetzte Membran zu verzichten. Vielmehr kommen mikroskopisch kleine Biegebalken, die durch ein Signal in Schwingung versetzt werden und in der Chipebene schwingen zum Einsatz. Um einen Schall zu erzeugen sind diese Biegebalken in Schallkammern angeordnet und der Schall tritt über Ein- und Auslassschlitze aus den Schallkammern aus.

Vorteile von MEMS Ultraschallwandlern

  • Volumennutzung → durch die Nutzung des Chipvolumens sind Schallwandler mit sehr kleinen Abmessungen realisierbar
  • Geringe Steuerspannungen → Steuerspannungen von weniger als 48 V ermöglichen den Einsatz der Schallwandler unter Beachtung der Niederspannungsrichtline
  • Komplett-Silizium → zuverlässige CMOS-kompatible Herstellungsprozesse ermöglichen die Fertigung in nahezu jedem Reinraum. Gleichermaßen genügen die Schallwandler der RoHS-Richtlinie
  • Frequenzbereich → die Frequenz eines Schallwandlers ist in einem breiten Bereich anwendungsspezifisch fertigbar. Frequenzen von 20 kHz bis 500 kHz sind möglich. In einem Bereich sind die Frequenzen einstellbar
  • Kombination → Sensor- und Aktorelemente können unmittelbar in einem Bauteil benachbart integriert werden. Dies kann insbesondere auch für verschiedene Frequenzen umgesetzt werden
  • Flexibilität → die Schallwandler sind vielfältig an Kundenwünsche anpassbar. Darunter zählen der Formfaktor, die Abstrahlcharakteristik, sowie der Frequenzbereich

Anwendungsgebiete und Status von MEMS Ultraschallwandlern

Die siliziumbasierten Ultraschallwandler können in einem breiten technischen Spektrum zum Einsatz kommen. Beispiele sind Abstandsmessung, Gestenerkennung und zerstörungsfreie Werkstoffprüfung für predictive maintanance.

Mit den NED-Aktoren sind MEMS-Ultraschallwandler komplett in Silizium herstellbar. Der Nachweis der Eignung als Ultralschallwandler erfolgte mit internen Forschungsvorhaben und resultierte in einem Demonstrator. Der Demonstrator wertet die Laufzeit eines abgestrahlten und wieder reflektierten Signals aus, wodurch verschiedene Gesten und Abstände erkannt werden können.