Ferroelectric RAM

Next generation ferroelectric RAM for low power applications. Lead-free, scalable, non-volatile, fast and CMOS-compatible.

more info

300 mm Devices and Value Added Solutions

The Devices group focuses on energy-efficient storage solutions, non-volatile data storage and MEMS sensors based on 300 mm wafers for volume production. Some of the current research topics are listet below - for further cooperation possibilities please do not hesitate to contact us.

Non-Volatile Memories (NVM)

• 1T-1R (RRAM, STT-MRAM)

• 1T-1C (FRAM)

• 1T (FeFET, FLASH)

• Material development and integration

• Characterization (single cell/array)

Application example:

With the technical ability to implement the ferroelectricity in fully CMOS compatible HfO2 dielectrics, a consortium of GLOBALFOUNDRIES, NaMLab gGmbH and the Fraunhofer IPMS-CNT was able to close the scaling gap in a 28 nm technology node for the first time since the introduction of the FeFETs concept. Excellent results on 300 mm silicon wafers, circuits in nanosecond range and a 10 -year storage capability have been achieved and are at the current level of non-volatile memory (NVM).

Click here for more information.

Low Power CMOS

• High-k+metall-gate (HKMG) processes

• Random Telegraph Noise (RTN) / Reliability

• Negative capacitance field-effect transistor (NC-FET)

• Radio frequency (RF) characterization

Application example:

Improvements of the deposition processes, the material properties and the integration schemes are essential to meet the stringent requirements for future components. An important challenge is the reduction of processing times for the high-k ALD deposition. For the semiconductor industry, the material ZrO2 is most interesting as a high- k dielectric in DRAM , eDRAM or resistive RAM. At Fraunhofer IPMS - CNT several high-k materials such as HfO2 , ZrO2 or Ta2O5 - based systems are currently being investigated.

On-Chip Power Plant

• Integrated capacitors

• Lithium battery

• Energy harvester

• Passives

Application example:

Fraunhofer IPMS-CNT has developed an ultra-compact capacitor for direct integration, variable in electrical properties and with a wide range of capacitance values​​. Innovative high- k dielectrics and special patterning processes allow this specialized capacitor technology platform that can be used for both: System-in-Package (SiP) and System-on-chip integration solutions.

Click here for more information.

 

Sensor MEMS 300 mm

• Thermoelectric

• Resonant body transistor (RBT)

• Pyroelectrica

Ferroelektrischer RAM

Die nächte Generation ferroelekrischer RAM für nichtflüchtige Speicheranwendungen. Bleifrei, skalierbar, schnell und CMOS-kompatibel.

mehr Info

300 mm Devices and Value Added Solutions

Die Gruppe Devices forscht unter anderem an energieeffizienten Speicherlösungen, nicht flüchtigen Datenspeichern und MEMS-Sensoren auf Basis von 300 mm Wafern in der Volumenproduktion. Im Folgenden sind aktuelle Forschungsschwerpunkte aufgeführt - für weitere Kooperationsmöglichkeiten kontaktieren Sie uns einfach.

Non-Volatile Memories (NVM)

• 1T-1R (RRAM, STT-MRAM)

• 1T-1C (FRAM)

• 1T (FeFET, FLASH)

• Materialentwicklung und Integration

• Charakterisierung (single cell/array)

Anwendungsbeispiel:

Mit der technischen Möglichkeit die Ferroelektrizität in voll CMOS-kompatiblen HfO2 -Dielektrika zu implementieren, konnte ein Konsortium aus GLOBALFOUNDRIES, NaMLab gGmbH und dem Fraunhofer IPMS-CNT die Skalierungslücke, erstmals seit der Einführung des FeFETs-Konzepts, in einem 28 nm-Technologieknoten schließen. Ausgezeichnete Ergebnisse auf 300 mm Siliziumwafern, Schaltungen im Nanosekundenbereich sowie eine 10-Jahre-Speicherungsfähigkeit wurden erreicht und liegen auf dem gegenwärtigen Niveau von nichtflüchtigen Speichern (NVM).

Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier!

Low Power CMOS

• High-k+Metall-Gate (HKMG) Prozesse

• Random Telegraph Noise (RTN) / Reliability

• Negative-Capacitance Feldeffekttransistoren (NC-FET)

• Radio Frequency (RF) Charakterisierung

Anwendungsbeispiel:

Verbesserungen der Abscheidungsprozesse, der Materialeigenschaften sowie der Integrationsschemata sind unerlässlich, um die strengen Anforderungen für zukünftige Bauteile zu erfüllen. Eine wichtige Herausforderung ist die Verringerung der Prozesszeit für die High-k-ALD-Abscheidung. Das Material ZrO2 ist vor allem als High-k-Dielektrikum in DRAM, eDRAM oder auch resistiven RAM von hohem Interesse für die Halbleiterindustrie. Mehrere High-k-Materialien wie HfO2, ZrO2 oder Ta2O5-basierte Systeme werden derzeit am Fraunhofer IPMS-CNT untersucht.

On-Chip Power Plant

• Integrierte Kondensatoren

• Lithiumbatterien

• Energie-Harvester

• Passives

Anwendungsbeispiel:

Ein ultrakompakter Kondensator für die direkte Integration, der in seinen elektrischen Eigenschaften variabel ist und eine hohe Bandbreite an Kapazitätswerten aufweist. Innovative High-k-Dielektrika und spezielle Patterningprozesse ermöglichen diese spezialisierte Kondensatortechnologieplattform, die sich sowohl in für System-in-Package (SiP) als auch für die System-on-Chip-Integrationslösungen einsetzen lässt.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier!

 

Sensor MEMS 300 mm

• Thermoelektrik

• Resonant Body Transistor (RBT)

• Pyroelektrika