End-of-Line Standard Substrates

Over the last few years, organic electronics have become a keyword for new types of applications based on organic semiconductors and other materials that can easily be processed. Typical for this new class of materials are low temperature processes and large area deposition and structuring with various coating and printing processes. The active semiconductor materials determine the performance of the entire system considerably. That is why a simple and reliable electronic characterization of these semiconductors is not only an essential prerequisite for material development in the labs of organic chemists but also for process developers and circuit designers.

For material analysis in the field of organic semiconductors, the Fraunhofer IPMS provides standardized single transistor structures in bottom gate architecture. These substrates for organic field effect transistors (OFETs) are produced in the clean room on silicon wafers with thermal silicon dioxide (SiO2) as full-area dielectrics and gold electrodes in lift-off technology. This is a significant advantage with respect to reliability and reproducibility that enables the application of these substrates for quality assurance in major chemical corporations.

The spectrum of possible customers is very large and ranges from universities, independent research institutions to industrial customers. The OFET substrates that are manufactured are used for research purposes in the field of materials testing or for quality control, respectively. They are essential for organic materials development. To date, the customer base of Fraunhofer IPMS in this sector has grown to 100 customers worldwide, including 15 key customers and two market-listed companies, both national and international.

The Fraunhofer IPMS offers different standard solutions and realizes customer-specific modifications by tailoring the samples with respect to chip size, design, and layer thickness of the thermal oxide. In order to simplify the measurement procedures of OFET substrates, the Fraunhofer IPMS has also developed a hand prober. This OFET miniprober allows faster and easier measurements by reliable pad contacting.

Substrates

 

Organic Field Effect Transistors (OFET)

 

Lateral Organic Field Effect Transistors (LOFET)

End-of-Line Standardsubstrate

Organische Elektronik gilt seit einigen Jahren als Schlüsselbegriff für einen neuen Typ von Anwendungen, die auf der Basis von organischen Halbleitern und weiteren einfach zu verarbeitenden Materialien realisiert werden. Typisch für diese neue Materialklasse sind Niedrigtemperaturprozesse und die großflächige Abscheidung und Strukturierung mittels verschiedenster Coating- und Druckverfahren. Die aktiven Halbleitermaterialien bestimmen dabei wesentlich die Performance des Gesamtsystems. Deshalb ist eine einfache und zuverlässige elektronische Charakterisierung dieser Halbleiter eine unabdingbare Voraussetzung, nicht nur für die Materialentwicklung in den Laboratorien der organischen Chemiker, sondern auch für Prozessentwickler und Schaltungsdesigner.

Für die Materialanalyse im Bereich organischer Halbleiter stellt das Fraunhofer IPMS standardisierte Einzeltransistor-Strukturen in bottom-gate Architektur zur Verfügung. Diese Substrate für organische Feldeffekttransistoren (OFETs) werden auf Siliziumwafern mit thermischem Siliziumdioxid (SiO2) als ganzflächiges Dielektrikum und Goldelektroden in Lift-off-Technologie im Reinraum des Fraunhofer IPMS hergestellt. Dies ist ein signifikanter Vorteil in Bezug auf die Zuverlässigkeit und Reproduzierbarkeit, die die Anwendung dieser Substrate für die Qualitätskontrolle in großen Chemiekonzernen ermöglicht.

Die Bandbreite der möglichen Kunden ist sehr groß und reicht von Universitäten, außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen bis hin zu Industriekunden. Unsere gefertigten OFET-Substrate werden beispielsweise zu Forschungszwecken im Bereich der Materialprüfung oder zur Qualitätsüberwachung genutzt. Gerade für die organische Materialentwicklung sind sie unerlässlich. Bis dato ist unser Kundenstamm auf 100 Kunden weltweit angewachsen, 15 davon spielen eine Schlüsselrolle.

Das Fraunhofer IPMS bietet verschiedene Standardlösungen an und ist in der Lage, kundenspezifische Modifikationen zu realisieren indem die Proben in Bezug auf die Chipgröße, das Design und die Schichtdicke des thermischen Oxids angepasst werden. Um die Messung von OFET-Testubstraten zu vereinfachen, hat das Fraunhofer IPMS darüber hinaus einen Handprober entwickelt, der es erlaubt, den Messvorgang schneller und vor allem leichter durchzuführen, da nun eine sichere Kontaktierung der Pads gewährleistet ist.

Substrate

 

Organische Feldeffekttransistoren (OFET)

 

Laterale Organische Feldeffekttransistoren (LOFET)