Programmable Sensor Transponders

Fraunhofer Institute for Photonic Microsystems

Development kit for UHF transponder with reader, antenna and tag.

This working group focuses on the research and development of systems with wireless signal and energy transmission. To this end, the group develops innovative transponder circuits. They use ISO standard protocols for communication, and can thus be operated with a variety of readers. Solutions are available for all established frequencies. Applications in liquids are also possible for magnetically coupled systems in the range of 125 kHz and 13.56 MHz. The distance between the sensor and the reader can be up to half a meter. Electromagnetic coupled systems in the UHF range (850 to 950 MHz) and the microwave range at 2.45 GHz feature a range of coverage of several meters. Sensors are integrated or can be connected via analog and digital interfaces. The option of adapting the program to the relevant application is a special feature of all systems. It means that the systems can be used for a variety of applications. Semi-active systems are available for applications with data logger function.

The scope of work also includes the establishment of transponder systems with antenna adaptations for various ambient conditions, and the development of firmware on the transponder and the application software of the reader. The RFID systems of Fraunhofer IPMS are also used in transport logistics, micro implants and for monitoring equipment and for long-term monitoring purposes. 

For more information on our RFID activities and current reader software, please visit www.rfid-sensor-plattform.de.

Current Research Topics

UHF Transponder

The UHF transponder circuit from Fraunhofer IPMS can be used to build wireless, passive RFID systems with sensors. It is possible to connect batteries for systems with the data logger function. Ranges of coverage of several meters are possible depending on the transmission power, size of the antenna and the energy requirements of the connected sensors. As one example, the company Köhl uses this transponder system in switch boxes (current of 3000 A, many metal parts) for monitoring temperatures.


Intelligent Implants

The development of microsystems engineering has made it possible to equip medical implants with measurement and monitoring functions. Transponder technology can be used for the required energy supply within the body. Using the transponder circuit ST1 from Fraunhofer IPMS on the basis of the carrier circuit of 125 KHz, a microsystem was integrated into the ceramic ball of a hip prosthesis in order to record the loosening of the prosthesis. The prosthesis swings in the bone on the basis of an external mechanical stimulus. The microsystem determines the resonance frequency of the system and hence the state of loosening.

Social Bookmarks

Programmierbare Sensortransponder

Fraunhofer-Institut für Photonische Mikrosysteme

Entwicklungskit für UHF-Transponder mit Antenne, Lesegerät und Tag.

Die Forschung und Entwicklung von Systemen mit drahtloser Signal- und Energieübertragung steht im Mittelpunkt dieser Arbeitsgruppe. Dazu werden innovative Transponder-Schaltkreise entwickelt. Sie nutzen für die Kommunikation die ISO-Standardprotokolle und können somit mit verschiedenen Readern betrieben werden. Lösungen gibt es für alle etablierten Frequenzen. Bei den magnetisch gekoppelten Systemen im Bereich von 125 kHz und 13,56 MHz sind auch Anwendungen in Flüssigkeiten möglich. Die Entfernung des Sensors zum Reader beträgt bis zu einem halben Meter. Die elektromagnetisch gekoppelten Systeme im UHF-Bereich (850 bis 950 MHz) und im Mikrowellenbereich bei 2,45 GHz zeichnen sich durch Reichweiten von mehreren Metern aus. Die Sensoren werden integriert oder können über analoge und digitale Schnittstellen angeschlossen werden. Ein besonderes Merkmal aller Systeme ist die Möglichkeit der Programmanpassung für die entsprechende Anwendung. Somit sind die Systeme sehr flexibel einsetzbar. Semiaktive Systeme stehen für Anwendung mit Datenlogger-Funktion zur Verfügung.

Zum Umfang der Arbeiten gehört auch der Aufbau der Transpondersysteme mit der Antennenanpassung für verschiedene Umgebungsbedingungen sowie die Entwicklung der Firmware auf dem Transponder und die Applikationssoftware des Readers. Die RFID-Systeme des Fraunhofer IPMS werden unter anderem in der Transportlogistik, in Mikroimplantaten und zur Geräteüberwachung und zum Langzeitmonitoring eingesetzt.

Weitere Informationen zu unseren RFID-Aktivitäten und die aktuelle Readersoftware finden Sie unter www.rfid-sensor-plattform.de.

Aktuelle Forschungsthemen

UHF Transponder

Mit dem UHF-Transponderschaltkreis des Fraunhofer IPMS lassen sich drahtlose, passive RFIDSysteme mit Sensoren aufbauen. Der Anschluss einer Batterie für Systeme mit Datenlogger-Funktion ist möglich. In Abhängigkeit von Sendeleistung, Antennengröße und Energiebedarf der angeschlossenen Sensoren sind Reichweiten von einigen Metern möglich. Die Firma Köhl setzt beispielhaft dieses Transpondersystem in Schaltschränken (Stromstärken von 3000 A, viele Metallteile) zur Temperaturüberwachung ein.


Intelligente Implantate

Durch die Entwicklung der Mikrosystemtechnik ist es heute möglich, medizinische Implantate mit Mess- und Überwachungsfunktionen auszustatten. Für die notwendige Energieversorgung im Körper kann die Transponder-Technik eingesetzt werden. Mit dem Transponderschaltkreis ST1 des Fraunhofer IPMS auf Basis der Trägerfrequenz von 125 KHz wurde ein Mikrosystem zur Erfassung der Lockerung der Prothese in die Keramikkugel einer Hüftprothese integriert. Über eine externe mechanische Anregung schwingt die Prothese im Knochen. Das Mikrosystem bestimmt die Resonanzfrequenz des Systems und damit den Lockerungszustand.

Social Bookmarks