Optical Wireless Communication

Fraunhofer Institute for Photonic Microsystems

Optical wireless data transmission between mobile device and PC/laptop.

The ability to use light in the visible or infrared range as a wireless transmission medium forms an alternative to established cable-bound solutions such as USB, Gigabit Ethernet, HDMI or Thunderbolt. Optical wireless communication uses bandwidths of several Gigabit per second, and has the potential of transmitting data more than hundred times faster than available wireless solutions, and with minimal bit error rates (10-9 per second).

Fraunhofer IPMS has been developing communication components, prototypes, and reference designs in the area of optical wireless communication for several years. It provides standardized and proprietary solutions for infrared and visible light communication (VLC) as well as Li-Fi. These can be used in a variety of usage scenarios from very short range to mid-range and from some kilobit per second to multi-gigabit per second speed. The R&D spectrum comprises simulations, optics, discrete and integrated electronics as well as software design for future wireless docking, beaming, HotSpot and broadcasting applications. Fraunhofer IPMS is a member of the Infrared Data Association (IrDA®) as well as head of 10 Giga-IR special interest group. In addition, Fraunhofer IPMS is a founding member of the Li-Fi consortium – a non-profit interest group for optical wireless communication technologies and solutions.

Current Research Topics

Plugless Docking Station

The driver-less sending/receiving module combines an optical transceiver and a protocol controller with a high-speed USB interface (USB 3.1). Now users can use a GigaIR adapter to connect all USB-ready devices without additional apps or drivers, and can exchange data wirelessly at high speeds. In addition, the GigaIR adapter also contains a module for wireless energy transmissions.


Wireless Data Links

Customer-specific solutions allow for the adapted integration of efficient wireless data links in various systems. Fraunhofer IPMS develops adapted optical wireless communication modules. They support data rates of a few kilobit per second up to several Gigabit per second at short to medium ranges of coverage. This means that virtually any cable-bound interface can now be replaced with a robust optical-wireless data link.

Solutions for wireless infrared and visible light communication, Li-Fi and VLC

Hardware

  • Data rates: 9.6kbps – 10Gbps, half/full duplex
  • Range: up to 30m
  • Application-specific transceiver
  • PHY, Framer solutions (FPGA and silicon proven)
  • IrDA Controllers (SIR, MIR, FIR, VFIR, UFIR, Giga-IR)

Software

  • Software stacks for 8-, 16-, 32-bit processors (8051, MSP430, ARM, XScale, …)
  • Device driver development

Systems

  • Cable replacement for e.g. USB, HDMI, Ethernet
  • Evaluation Kits for GigaIR and several wired interfaces

Social Bookmarks

Optische drahtlose Kommunikation

Fraunhofer-Institut für Photonische Mikrosysteme

Optische drahtlose Datenübertragung zwischen Mobilgerät und PC/Laptop.

Eine Alternative zu etablierten kabelgebundenen Lösungen wie USB, Gigabit-Ethernet, HDMI oder Thunderbolt besteht darin, Licht im sichtbaren oder infraroten Bereich als drahtloses Übertragungsmedium einzusetzen. Die optische drahtlose Kommunikation nutzt Bandbreiten von mehreren Gigabit pro Sekunde und hat das Potenzial, gegenüber verfügbaren drahtlosen Lösungen bis zu hundertmal schneller und mit vernachlässigbaren Bitfehlerraten (10-9 pro Sekunde) Daten zu übertragen. 

Das Fraunhofer IPMS entwickelt seit vielen Jahren Kommunikationskomponenten, Prototypen und Referenzdesigns für die optische drahtlose Kommunikation. Es bietet standardisierte und proprietäre Lösungen für drahtlose Infrarotkommunikation, Visible Light Communication (VLC) und Li-Fi. Diese können in den verschiedensten Anwendungsszenarien eingesetzt werden. Die Eigenschaften reichen von sehr kurzen bis mittleren Reichweiten und Geschwindigkeiten von wenigen Kilobit pro Sekunde bis zu mehreren Gigabit pro Sekunde. Das R&D Spektrum umfasst Simulationen, Optiken, diskrete und integrierte Elektronik sowie Software um so Lösungen für zukunftsfähige drahtlose Lösungen wie Docking, Beaming, HotSpots und Broadcasting anbieten zu können. Das Fraunhofer IPMS ist Mitglied der Infrared Data Association (IrDA) und leitet die 10 Giga-IR Special Interest Group. Zusätzlich hat das Fraunhofer IPMS das Li-Fi Consortium zusammen mit weiteren internationalen Industriepartnern gegründet.

Aktuelle Forschungsthemen

Steckerlose Dockingstation

Das treiberlose Sende-/Empfangsmodul vereint einen optischen Transceiver und einen Protokoll-Controller mit einer High-Speed USB-Schnittstelle (z.B. USB 3.1). Der Nutzer kann so ohne zusätzliche App alle USB-fähigen Geräte über einen GigaIR-Adapter miteinander verbinden und Daten drahtlos mit hoher Geschwindigkeit austauschen. Zusätzlich ist im GigaIR-Adapter ein Modul
zur drahtlosen Energieübertragung integriert.


Drahtlose Datenlinks

Kundenspezifische Lösungen erlauben eine angepasste Integration von effizienten drahtlosen Datenlinks in verschiedenartige Systeme. Das Fraunhofer IPMS entwickelt angepasste optisch drahtlose Kommunikationsmodule. Diese unterstützen Datenraten von wenigen Kilobit pro Sekunde bis zu mehreren Gigabit pro Sekunde bei kurzen bis mittleren Reichweiten. Dadurch kann praktisch jedes kabelgebundene Interface durch einen robusten optisch-drahtlosen Datenlink ersetzt werden.

Lösungen für drahtlose Infrarotkommunikation, LiFi und VLC

Hardware

  • Datenraten: 9.6kbps – 10Gbps, halb/vollduplex
  • Reichweite: bis 30m
  • Applikationsspezifische Transceiver
  • PHY, Framer  Lösungen (für FPGA und ASIC)
  • IrDA Controller (SIR, MIR, FIR, VFIR, UFIR, Giga-IR)

Software

  • Software Stacks für 8-, 16-, 32-bit Prozessoren (8051, MSP430, ARM, XScale, …)
  • Device-Driver Entwicklung

Systeme

  • Kabelersatz für z. B. USB, HDMI, Ethernet
  • Evaluation-Kits für GigaIR und verschiedene kabelgebundene Schnittstellen

Social Bookmarks