Spatial Light Modulators

Fraunhofer Institute for Photonic Microsystems

One-Dimensional Spatial Light Modulators on Wafer

The spatial light modulators developed at Fraunhofer IPMS consist of arrays of micromirrors on semiconductor chips, whereby the number of mirrors varies depending on the application, from a few hundred to several millions. In most cases this demands a highly integrated application specific electronic circuit (ASIC) as basis for the component architecture in order to enable an individual analog deflection of each micromirror. In addition, Fraunhofer IPMS develops electronics and software for mirror array control.

The individual mirrors that vary in number and size per chip depending on the application can be tilted or vertically deflected depending on the application, so that a surface pattern is created, for example to project defined structures. High resolution tilting mirror arrays with up to 2.2 million individual mirrors are used by our customers as highly dynamic programmable masks for optical micro-lithography in the ultraviolet spectral range. The mirror dimensions are 10 μm or larger. By tilting the micromirrors, structural information is transferred to a high resolution photo resist at high frame rates. Further fields of application are semiconductor inspection and measurement technology, microscopy and prospectively laser printing, marking and material processing.

Piston micromirror arrays based on 240 × 200 individual mirrors (40 × 40 μm²) can for example be used for wavefront control in adaptive optical systems. These systems can correct wavefront disturbances in broad spectrum ranges and thereby improve image quality. The component capabilities attract special interest in the fields of ophthalmology, astronomy and microscopy, as well as in spatial and temporal laser beam and pulse shaping.

Social Bookmarks

Flächenlichtmodulatoren

Fraunhofer-Institut für Photonische Mikrosysteme

Siliziumwafer mit 1D Flächenlichtmodulatoren.

Flächenlichtmodulatoren des Fraunhofer IPMS bestehen aus einer Anordnung von Mikrospiegeln auf einem Halbleiterchip, wobei die Spiegelanzahl anwendungsspezifisch aktuell von einigen hundert bis zu mehreren Millionen Spiegeln variiert. Hierbei kommt in den meisten Fällen ein hochintegrierter anwendungsspezifischer elektronischer Schaltkreis (ASIC) als Basis der Bauelementearchitektur zum Einsatz, um eine individuelle analoge Auslenkung jedes Mikrospiegels zu ermöglichen. Darüber hinaus entwickelt das Fraunhofer IPMS auch Ansteuerelektroniken für Spiegelarrays inklusive Software.

Die Einzelspiegel, die anwendungsspezifisch in Zahl und Größe pro Chip variieren, können je nach Anwendung individuell gekippt oder abgesenkt werden, so dass ein flächiges Muster entsteht, mit dessen Hilfe z. B. definierte Strukturen projiziert werden. Hochauflösende Kippspiegelarrays mit bis zu 2,2 Millionen Einzelspiegeln werden von unseren Kunden als hochdynamische programmierbare Masken für die optische Mikrolithographie im Ultraviolett-Bereich eingesetzt. Spiegelabmessungen liegen hier bei 10 μm oder größer. Durch das Auslenken der Mikrospiegel werden die Strukturinformationen mit hoher Bildrate in den Fotolack übertragen. Weitere Anwendungsfelder liegen in der Halbleiterinspektion und -messtechnik, in der Mikroskopie sowie in der Laserbeschriftung, -markierung und -materialbearbeitung.

Senkspiegelarrays, die auf 240 × 200 Einzelspiegeln (40 × 40 μm²) basieren, finden u. a. Anwendung in der Wellenfrontformung in adaptiv-optischen Systemen. Diese Systeme können Wellenfrontstörungen in weiten Spektralbereichen korrigieren und so die Wiedergabequalität von Bildern verbessern. Weitere Anwendungsbereiche sind die Augenheilkunde, Astronomie und Mikroskopie sowie die räumliche und zeitliche Laserstrahl- und Pulsformung.

Social Bookmarks