MEMS Scanners

Fraunhofer Institute for Photonic Microsystems

Wafer with MEMS scanners of various sizes.

Scanner mirrors, either resonantly or quasi-static operated, are the technology of choice to deflect light with extremely compact systems. At Fraunhofer IPMS you find technological expertise for device and systems development as well as application know-how from over 10 years of development work.

To date, more than 50 different resonant scanners have been designed and manufactured. They are made to deflect light either one-dimensionally or two-dimensionally or for high-speed optical path length modulation. Scan frequencies from 0.1 kHz to 50 kHz have been successfully executed. Applications range from reading barcode and data code, through 3D metrology, and right up to laser projection and spectroscopy. An example is a MEMS scanner with integrated diffraction grating for spectroscopic applications which HiperScan GmbH, a Fraunhofer IPMS spin-off, has been distributing since 2007 in a novel infrared wavelength micro spectrometer. Furthermore, the Fraunhofer IPMS is engaged in custom-designed scanning mirrors, e.g. for Fourier Transform spectrometers, confocal microscopy, highly miniaturized displays, ultra-compact laser projection systems, endoscopic image acquisition as well as triangulation.

In addition to resonant scanners, quasi-static micro-scanners are also under development. These activities are geared toward applications such as laser beam positioning and switching.

The internet platform www.micro-mirrors.com was introduced, allowing customers to define and order resonant micro-scanners that are suitable for their specific applications. Thanks to a building-block approach, we are able to offer reasonably-priced devices with a short lead time.

Watch our 1D and 2D scanner mirrors in action.

Social Bookmarks

MEMS-Scanner

Fraunhofer-Institut für Photonische Mikrosysteme

Wafer mit Scannerspiegeln unterschiedlicher Größe.

Scannerspiegel, entweder resonant oder quasi-statisch betrieben, sind die Technologie der Wahl, wenn es darum geht, Licht mit sehr kompakten Systemen gezielt abzulenken. Beim Fraunhofer IPMS finden Sie gleichermaßen technologische Kompetenz für die Bauteil- und Systementwicklung und Anwendungs-Know-how aus über 10 Jahren Entwicklungsarbeit.

In den vergangenen Jahren hat das Fraunhofer IPMS mehr als 50 verschiedene resonante MEMS-Scanner entwickelt, die als ein- oder zweidimensional ablenkende Elemente oder auch zur optischen Weglängenmodulation eingesetzt werden. Mögliche Scan-Frequenzen reichen von ca.
0,1 kHz bis zu 50 kHz. Die Anwendungsbreite erstreckt sich von Strichcode-Lesesystemen über die 3D-Messtechnik bis hin zur Laserprojektion, Spektroskopie und Fokuslagenmodulation. Ein praktisches Beispiel ist ein Scannerspiegel mit Beugungsgitter für spektroskopische Anwendungen. Dieser wird seit 2007 kommerziell von der HiperScan GmbH, einer Ausgründung des Fraunhofer IPMS, in einem neuartigen Nahinfrarot-Mikrospektrometer angeboten. Darüber hinaus beschäftigt sich das Fraunhofer IPMS mit anwendungsspezifischen Scannerspiegeln z. B. für Fourier-Transform-Spektrometer, die konfokale Mikroskopie, hochminiaturisierte Displays, ultrakompakte Laserprojektionssysteme, für die Bildaufnahme in Endoskopen sowie für die Abstandsmessung (Triangulation).

Neben den resonanten Scannern werden auch quasistatisch auslenkbare Mikroscanner für Anwendungen wie das Laserstrahlpositionieren oder vektorielles Scannen entwickelt.

Interessenten haben die Möglichkeit, über die Internetplattform www.micromirrors.com kundenspezifische resonante Scanner schnell und kostengünstig für ihre Evaluierung zu beziehen.

Sehen Sie unsere 1D- und 2D-Scannerspiegel in Aktion:

Social Bookmarks