Objectives

Fraunhofer Institute for Photonic Microsystems

In accordance with the overall concept of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, the Fraunhofer Institute for Photonic Microsystems focuses on applied research and development on behalf of industry and society. In doing so, the emphasis is placed on micro-opto-electro-mechanical systems (MOEMS) and advancements in the quality of life by means of microsystems and photonic system solutions. As suggested by its name, the »Fraunhofer Institute for Photonic Microsystems« stands for a focus on optical sensors and actuators, electronics and microsystem technology as well as the close interaction of these fields with regard to the application of intelligent photonic and electronic systems. The competencies of the Fraunhofer IPMS extend far beyond specific components towards the development of complete systems.

Research for the industry

The Fraunhofer IPMS set itself the target of extending these core competencies. The central points of this mission are therefore:

  • gaining the status of a Center of Excellency in research, development and pilot fabrication in the field of innovative photonic microsystems;
  • creation of integrated solutions for information technologies, industrial applications (e. g. automotive) as well as medical and environmental technologies;
  • outstanding performance in science as well as application and licensing of »intellectual property« (IP);
  • strengthening the competitiveness of the research institutions and companies in the fields of microsystem technologies and micro electronics in the region of Dresden / Saxony.

The Fraunhofer IPMS is in particular prospect of promoting its competence and experience in the growth markets of photonic micro actuators, system applications of sensors and actuators and medical technology and of exploiting this expertise in industrial applications.

As a result, over the next years, the Fraunhofer IPMS is to:

  • consolidate its position at the forefront of research and development of micro-opto-electro-mechanical devices and systems;
  • extend its competencies in the field of photonic microsystems from concept design to pilot fabrication of devices up to the implementation of device and system prototypes for public and industrial partners;
  • advance to the leading position in the field of photonic micro and nano systems, with regional spin-offs and worldwide recognition and clientele.

Social Bookmarks

Mission

Fraunhofer-Institut für Photonische Mikrosysteme

Dem Leitbild der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft folgend sieht das Fraunhofer-Institut für Photonische Mikrosysteme seine Aufgabe in angewandter Forschung und Entwicklung zum Nutzen und im Auftrag von Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft. Dabei richten sich die Inhalte auf das Gebiet der Mikro-Opto-Elektro-Mechanischen Systeme (MOEMS) und die Förderung der Lebensqualität durch Mikrosystemtechnik und photonische Systemlösungen in praktisch allen Bereichen des Lebens. Der Institutsname »Fraunhofer-Institut für Photonische Mikrosysteme« beschreibt die fachliche Fokussierung auf optische Sensoren und Aktoren, Elektronik und Mikrosystemtechnologie sowie die enge, teilweise nicht auflösbare Verbindung dieser Gebiete bei der Applikation intelligenter photonischer und elektronischer Systeme. Die Kompetenzen des Fraunhofer IPMS gehen damit weit über die einzelnen Bauelemente hinaus und reichen bis zur Entwicklung kompletter Systeme.

Forschen für die Wirtschaft

Das Fraunhofer IPMS hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, diese Kernkompetenzen ausbauen. Kernpunkte der Mission sind:

  • Entwicklung zum Exzellenzzentrum für Forschung, Entwicklung und Pilotfertigung auf dem Gebiet innovativer photonischer Mikrosysteme
  • Schaffung integrierter Lösungen für industrielle Anwendung in der Informationstechnologie, in der Medizintechnik und bei Umwelttechnologien
  • Erzeugung wissenschaftlicher Spitzenleistungen, Anwendung und Lizenzierung von »intellectual property« (IP)
  • Stärkung der Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der Forschungseinrichtungen und Unternehmen auf dem Gebiet Mikrosystemtechnik und Mikroelektronik in der Region Dresden / Sachsen

Besonders in den Wachstumsmärkten der photonischen Mikroaktoren, der Systemanwendungen von Sensoren und Aktoren sowie der Medizintechnik sieht das Fraunhofer IPMS die Chance, Kompetenzen und Erfahrungen erfolgreich weiter zu entwickeln und für industrielle Anwendungen zu nutzen.

Im Ergebnis soll das Fraunhofer IPMS in den nächsten Jahren

  • zu einer weltweit führenden Adresse auf dem Gebiet der Forschung und Entwicklung mikro-opto-elektro-mechanischer Bauelemente und Systeme (MOEMS) ausgebaut werden,
  • seine Kompetenz auf dem Gebiet der photonischen Mikrosysteme von der Entwicklung und Pilotfertigung von Bauelementen bis hin zur Realisierung von Geräte- und Systemprototypen für öffentliche und industrielle Partner erweitern und
  • zum führenden Institut für Photonische Mikro- und Nanosysteme mit regionalen Ausgründungen und weltweiter Ausstrahlung und weltweitem Kundenstamm avancieren.

Social Bookmarks