Management of the Institute

Prof. Hubert Karl Lakner

Executive Director

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dipl.-Phys. Hubert Karl Lakner

Hubert Lakner (born 1958) received his diploma-degree in physics at the Eberhard-Karls-Universität in Tübingen in 1986. After a year in industry he joined the Gerhard-Mercator-Universität in Duisburg working in the field of nanocharacterization of mesoscopic semiconductor structures. There he received his Dr.-Ing. in 1993.

Since January 2003 he is the executive director of the Fraunhofer Institute for Photonic Microsystems (IPMS). In parallel, Dr. Lakner has been appointed Professor for »Optoelectronic Devices and Systems« in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Information Technology at the Technical University Dresden.

Since January 2011 he is also chairman of the Board of Directors of the Fraunhofer Group Microelectronics.

Download CV here

Prof. Harald Schenk

Director

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr. rer. nat. habil. Harald Schenk

Harald Schenk received his Dr.-Ing. degree in electrical engineering at the Gerhard-Mercator-Universität Duisburg in 2000. Since 2000 he has been managing various groups and business areas at Fraunhofer IPMS focusing on the development of MEMS and their applications. In 2004 Harald Schenk was appointed deputy director of Fraunhofer IPMS. In 2008 he habilitated at Brandenburgische Technische Universität (BTU) Cottbus in physics. In May 2012 he became Professor for »Micro- and Nanosystems« at BTU Cottbus. In September 2013 he was appointed director of Fraunhofer IPMS.

Download CV here.

Institutsleitung

Prof. Hubert Karl Lakner

Geschäftsführender Institutsleiter

© Foto Fraunhofer IPMS

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dipl.-Phys. Hubert Karl Lakner

Prof. Dr.-Ing. H. Lakner (geboren 1958) studierte von 1979 bis 1986 Physik an der Eberhard-Karls-Universität zu Tübingen. Nach einjähriger Industrietätigkeit in der Entwicklung von Beschichtungsprozessen bei der Gesellschaft für Oberflächentechnik m.b.H. in Schwäbisch Gmünd wechselte er 1987 an die Gerhard-Mercator-Universität – GH – Duisburg, wo er an Forschungsprojekten im Bereich der Nanocharakterisierung von mesoskopischen Verbindungs-Halbleitersystemen mitarbeitete und 1993 promovierte.

Seit Januar 2003 ist Professor Lakner der geschäftsführende Institutsleiter des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Photonische Mikrosysteme (IPMS). Parallel dazu erhielt er einen Ruf auf eine Professur für »Optoelektronische Bauelemente und Systeme« an der Fakultät Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik der Technischen Universität Dresden.

Seit Januar 2011 ist er auch der Vorsitzende des Direktoriums des Fraunhofer Verbundes Mikroelektronik.

Download Vita

Prof. Harald Schenk

Institutsleiter

© Foto Fraunhofer IPMS

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr. rer. nat. habil. Harald Schenk

Harald Schenk erhielt seinen Dr.-Ing. in Elektrotechnik an der Gerhard-Mercator-Universität Duisburg im Jahr 2000. Seit 2000 leitete er verschiedene Gruppen und Geschäftsfelder am Fraunhofer IPMS mit dem Schwerpunkt der Entwicklung von MEMS und deren Anwendung. Im Jahr 2004 wurde Harald Schenk zum stellvertretenden Institutsleiter des Fraunhofer IPMS ernannt. Im Jahr 2008 habilitierte er an der Brandenburgischen Technischen Universität (BTU) Cottbus auf dem Gebiet der Physik. Im Mai 2012 wurde er zum Professor für »Mikro- und Nanosysteme« an der BTU Cottbus ernannt. Im September 2013 wurde er zum Institutsleiter berufen.

Download Vita